Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1997 Ford Mustang

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1860 Ratings for the 1994 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 75 | Next

Worst car waste of money

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "is a car i guess"

Cons: "everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"looks like a streched pre puberty mustand. only thing that it has that is mustangish is the tail lights. At 60 - 65 mph it shakes and is hard to steer. shifting is horrible and drives like a light tank. do not like the seating or styling. doesnt like to start or stop. worst thing ever"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car for driving in So. Cal with the top down

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price and fun to drive!"

Cons: "Getting up there in age, but everything works!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I'm moving to Utah and can't take my GT convertible with me, so must say goodbye, but will offer it to the next lucky person who loves a GT convertible that has been well cared for.... 90% of the 178K mileage have been freeway miles, still got a great kick and loves to go fast. Body and finish are excellent, starting to burn a little oil, but all in all a great value and a lot of fun to drive!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

my 1987 ford mustang

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I want this car

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"all around grate car"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Weekend Car

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I am an original owner of this car. It is my 2nd car an has been great. Replaced a few minor things throughout the years. It has been garage kept so the original paint is in great shape and so is the top. Great weekend car with the top down. It's a little rough ride but it is a 20yrs old."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Original owner, have had zero problems.

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, execellent value for money"

Cons: "wide turning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent value used car for daily transit for seven years. Have made multiple road trips.Very comfortable and responsive driving. Only quirk is the design of vehicle make for a wide turning radius, not really a problem just a mention."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

runs very good and fast with no issues

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"good running condition"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great car"

Cons: "too small for family or tall drivers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Has 2000 Cobra R wheels and 275/18 rubber

"Runs perfectly in all climates, great performance and power, great A/c, great mileage [25-27 hwy] looks and sounds great ."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Has 2000 Cobra R wheels and 275/18 rubber

Nice car for cruising,not for an everyday car.

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This car was bought knew in 2003,and has never seen snow. It has had a life of ease.IT has ben very well maintained and not misused.IT has had a few glitches, but nothing serious. We enjoy taking it for Sunday drives but it does not ride like a caddie."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This Mustang has never seen rain or snow

By on Tuesday, September 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "You can't beat it for performance"

Cons: "Two cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Mustang is like brand new , with Boss Graphics , Wood trim, a Supercharger never been race just gives a nice driving car. You couldn't replace it for less than 45,000 it has the regional wheels with new tires and Cobra wheel and tires with less than 6 thousand on them."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

real review for a great car

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great look great handle alot of power cheap price"

Cons: "simple inside not much trunk or back seat space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is my 3rd car and by far the best car i have had..the fact that its a 2002 and its now 2014 this car still stands out and makes heads turn..alot of power under the hood so im able to keep up and most of the time pass the newer cars on the road...the handle on this car is great plus its easy to add on with your own style without spending to much..a true sports car..also its very easy to get parts for this car and easy to add your own custom style.....But the downside is the inside of the car is pretty simple plus the gas burns faster then most cars the back seat and trunk space really isnt that good...but i give this car a 10 out of 10 because for me the biggest downside is the inside style is simple but i can always add on parts to make it much better so its not really a big deal"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fun, Reliable car

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "reliable, sporty, fun, good quality"

Cons: "small gas tank, lower gas mileage, small cab"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Fun to drive, stylish and sporty, and very reliable. No major repairs have been needed since owning this car. I have been very happy with it. Though, it's basically a two seat car with some back seat storage area. Good luck trying to fit people back there. And I have to fill up on gas often, since it's a small gas tank and gets not-great gas mileage relative to other small cars. I would recommend this car for younger singles or couples without kids, as it's fun to drive. But don't expect your friends to be happy if you shove them in the back seat. It's not an ideal car if you're going on road trips often."

one of a kind Saleen S281

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Totally Saleen inside/out"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"SALEEN one of a kind (paint,decals) #384 of 900 original,one owner, garage kept, showroom condition, never raced Lipstic Red, with gold accents Leather interior, Steve Saleen autographed"

Hot sports car is fun to drive

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,650

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Dependable, Hugs the road"

Cons: "Little room in the back seat, Small trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a sweet little number that will not disappoint. It has classic Mustang Cobra styling and an engine that will move the car ahead quickly. It is easy to control. The seat fits like a glove. The car hugs the highway and moves easily through changes in road elelevation. Heads turn when this car drives by. The Mustang Cobra is impressive, fun, and dependable."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Like new

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,250

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Nothing else to say."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never seen snow and only seen rain a couple of times.Gets put away in an attached garage every winter."

salvage titled still nice

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"good"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my mustang.

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price and fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love how the car looks. I love how it drove in the last snow storm. I feel very save in this car. I would not trade for anything in the world. I love my mustang."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

40th Anniversary Convertable Mustang

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is very fun! It is also very reliable. I have never had any big issues with this car. The handling of this car makes you feel like you're in a race at all times. The overdrive is useful, and you can turn it off, if you ever feel the need to. All around love this car. But, convertibles are not very practical for every day use."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent collector car but not good for daily use

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car with a lot of steering response at the track and easy to increase horsepower..."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Love it!!!!

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned my 2001 Mustang for 13 years now and love driving it every day!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good time fun car always gets me in a good mood.

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,860

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Decebt affordable price and always a fun car."

Cons: "Only 1 cup holder."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a total hoot to own people always remark about it. Engine and tranny flawless a rocket."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Soon to be a classic. One of the best cars ever.

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cars are out there to purchase at a good price"

Cons: "None, this car just gets better with age."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A fun car to drive. Easy to maintain."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My First Car, 2001 Mustang GT

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looks, Sound, 4.6L V8, Fast, Low Price"

Cons: "Steering, Stereo/Speaker System, Common Tick"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Dat Green Tho....

"I got this as my first car as a bargain because it didn't run, the alternator wire just needed soldered back on, ran pretty good with only a minor tick, notorious in the 4.6L V8 I am going to adjust the valves soon so it doesn't tick anymore. Overall a very good car. Fast, Reliable, the turning kind of sucks, but if you buy an older muscle car that is a given. Really love it, factory electric green with aftermarket tires and exhaust. Pretty fun car. I am always asked whether I like mustangs or Camaros and my response is always: "depends on the generation" and 99-04 I like the mustangs better. better sound, better price, better look and an overall better muscle car. The only complaints I have are the turning obviously, and the speaker quality, if you get one of these I highly recommend an aftermarket sub woofer or speakers."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My video 

Dat Green Tho....

MMMM.....V8

LOVE THIS VEHICLE!!

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle brand new and has been worth my money i alrraldy have 213,000 miles without replacing a single part other than maintance. i love this car it runs great and has lots of power still."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I LOVE MY MUSTANG!

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my 2001 mustang for over 8 years now and it has been an amazing ride! It has been so good to me over the years. I have had so few mechanical repairs besides normal wear and tear of a vehicle."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fun to drive convertible

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun ,dry weather car."

Cons: "not a 4 season car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is fun, it puts a smile on your face. it's not really comfortable, or rattle free.It's kind of primitive compared to other cars. The 5 speed gearbox is hard to slap into reverse. It's not driven in rain if I can help it because the rear wheels just spin.One thing with a ragtop is there is no drip edge over the window,crack it open and rain pours in.I never use it in the snow,only nice weather, and I love it for what it is."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 75 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Mustang near Honolulu. See local deals