Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1997 Ford Mustang

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1874 Ratings for the 1994 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Great car, runs and drives flawless. Very reliable

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Hard to get in and out of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the car with 70,000 miles on it. First I changed the oil and installed synthetic oil and have run synthetic in it since then. I change the oil at 3000 miles. Have replaced Intake, alternator, clutch, pressure plate, throw out brg., idle control solenoid, head lights, (the old ones turned yellow),. All with stock replacements. Love the car but I found a classic that I want."

love my gt

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fast"

Cons: "ruff"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"fun factor i give a 10"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

fun to drive.lots of driving power, ideal vehicle

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "put the top down and ready to drive in sunny Calif"

Cons: "V8 engine ..use a little more on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"To drive in always sunny California weather."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Runs great, no mechanical problems,

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Exactly what it looks like, top in new condition

"no squeaks or rattles, never took it back to dealership never driven in the rain, garage kept. new batteries and tires (tires after 8 years)"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Exactly what it looks like, top in new condition

Fun High School car! 3.8 V6 Auto

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Inexpensive to run+maintain, quick, looks great."

Cons: "Only 1 cup holder,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '97 V-6 with 165,000 miles. It was a heavy smoker's car, and she clearly didn't take care of the car while she owned it. But, with a little cleaning and an oil change, this car has been a great companion for my High school years. It now has 172,000 miles, and has never left me stranded. My Mustang has proven to be a great car for long trips, the seats are comfortable, and the heater works great. I've gotten 20mpg in town and 26 on interstate (partly due to my right foot being made from lead) and with a set of studded Firestone Winterforce tires (P205/65/R15) and a couple of 60lb sandbags in the surprisingly large trunk, I haven't had too many issues in winter driving. Overall, if you want reliable, fun, cheap transportation that looks good, a Mustang is an excellent choice!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Fun and bulletproof

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Classic American iron......for a reason."

Cons: "Back seat not so good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought six years ago with 45k on the clock. I've had it well maintained. Dependable, solid, good handling, fun to drive especially with top down. Not the most practical ride out there but cargo room is not that bad. Five round trips Seattle to Tucson with no problems. The six cyl is fine for adults. The tranny is strong. Will probably need to replace the orig clutch in a year or two. 31 mpg on long trips but I'm not an aggressive driver. Not a sophisticated car but that's not why I bought it."

14 people out of 25 found this review helpful

best vehicle I Owned. Super reliable

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: given to nephew

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "super fun to drive. keep oil square."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"As long as the car is properly maintained,it was reliable. Great car."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

LOVE this car!

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "HOT look fun to drive,great for 2 people, reliable"

Cons: "Getting into back seat, tight fit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new and have loved it the entire time. It was my second Mustang, I am keeping it as a backup / 2nd car, it's been very reliable over the years. Reasonably good gas mileage considering it's an 8 cylinder. POWER, love it. You barely tap the gas and you're gone."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Very good and reliable Mustang

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,101

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "fun and easy to drive"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, 18 mph, dependable and in great shape."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This is Dearborn production number 4841 of 7496

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,863

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a Mystic Clearcoat Metallic paint #655 of 2000 vehicles produced worldwide with this option."

13 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Mustang near Honolulu. See local deals