Go

2011 Ford Focus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 458 Ratings for the 2008 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

Loved it! I'm a happy camper =)

By on Thursday, November 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Gas Milage, Easy to Drive, SYNC"

Cons: "No interior trunk button, tires?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 09' Ford Focus Sedan SES. I got this car used with around 20,000 miles. The build quality is pretty good. The driving dynamics for a small car like this are so good. Very good turn-in, predictable lift-off oversteer, and independent rear suspension that keeps you planted over bumps. Bottom line, handles well. I get great gas milage,average around 26-27 in the city, easily 30+ on the highway, I do get 35+ at times, the ideal speed isn't 70 but more like between the 50-60 range. It's fairly comfortable for the two people in the front. The only downside that is doesn't give a lot of leg room for the back, but hey it's a compact car, what do you expect? The interior is well-appointed at this price and it has neat features like ambient lighting and SYNC that make my friend's BMW look redundant. Premium Entertainment System, I love SYNC, it's nice being able to hook up a phone via Bluetooth. Voice Activated Commands, Phone,etc. It has two AUX ports(or whatever it's called), headphone jack for music in case you can't set up Bluetooth, and even a USB port for charging. Seriously, this car comes with all the bells and whistles, even compared to cars today, as of 2013. From what I've seen, this car is also very safe. There are more airbags in this car than most others at this price point, coupled with Ford's personal safety system my passengers and I feel very safe. The only things I don't like about the car, the tires. I replaced them already at around 24,xxx miles.. The Kumho Solus tire, which are the ones Ford included on the 17" package is absolutely awful in every weather condition and should be replaced IMMEDIATELY with a higher quality tire. Second thing is the fact that there is no bottom inside the car to pop the trunk. I believe they fixed that problem in the newer Focuses. Bottom Line, had this car for 3 years+ and other than the regular maintenance, it has never had any problems, never had to fix anything really. It has been a reliable car over the years throughout College and I will probably drive it until the day it dies. Which probably will never come as I might trade it in for one of the newer Focuses. Anyways definitely recommend it for a college kid."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

BUY YOURSELF 1!

By on Wednesday, June 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Love this little car. First off only 2 complaints & they are very minor. No trunk release in the car & no dome light in the back seat. It may look like a small car but there is a ton of room for the driver & passenger. A lot of people get in & are surprised by how comfortable they are. Not so much in the back seat buy hey, it's a compact. Drives great SYNC system is incredible! I have 2 other friends that after riding in my car are considering getting one themselves. You get much more than you pay for."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Awesome Mileage!

By on Monday, August 6, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Took a cross-country trip & made 40mpg...averages 25-35, with alot of city driving. Great value, very happy with my Focus."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very sporty and alot of pick up and go!

By on Monday, July 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,256

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "sporty and fun"

Cons: "seats are not too comfy on long drives."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Driving in San Antonio traffic, I have had to speed up quickly to get around another car or just get out of a bad spot. My Focus has never stumbled or fell on its face when I put the pedal down! It's a five speed coupe and very fun to drive! With all this driving and zooming around town, I still get 27-28 mpg! On the highway I get 36 mpg."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This has been the most reliable car I have owned.

By on Wednesday, July 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car new and drive it 106 miles a day to work. I have had to do practically nothing to it other than routine maintanance. I had to replace drivers door latch due to the dome light staying on and one engine mount."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Value For Your Dollars

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cheap to buy, even cheaper to own. Fun to drive!"

Cons: "No rear disc brakes, Original tires are AWFUL!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded my Mustang for this Focus SES and even though I miss having my muscle car, I could not be happier with my Focus. The build quality is so much better than my Mustang so I know I won't have to think so much about reliability issues. It is also much more comfortable than my Mustang which makes it much better for long trips. The gas mileage is WAY underrated by the EPA, so I get more than 35mpg on a regular basis. The sound system is VERY nice for a value car like this. The interior is well-appointed at this price and it has neat features like ambient lighting and SYNC that make some luxury cars look redundant. The driving dynamics for a small car like this are so great. Very good turn-in, predictable lift-off oversteer, and independent rear suspension that keeps you planted over bumps. Not something you see on every car in this class. I am disappointed at the lack of rear disc brakes. Many cars in this class have rear disc brakes which are more efficient and easier to service than drum brakes. From what I've seen, this car is also very safe. There are more airbags in this car than most others at this price point, coupled with Ford's personal safety system my passengers and I feel very safe. My only major complaint are the tires that Ford chose to include on the 17" wheel package. The Kumho Solus tire is absolutely awful in every weather condition and should be replaced IMMEDIATELY with a higher quality tire."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best gas mileage

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great fuel saver"

Cons: "tight interior for use big guys, over 6 feet tall."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No major problems since I bought it. Great car for the money. Getting 35-38 MPG still at 99000 miles."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent car. We'll buy another.

By on Thursday, November 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, comfort, gas mileage, quality"

Cons: "Have nothing but praise for this car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We typically get 36-37 mpg in our rural area. With steady driving on long trips, we'll see 38 and 39 mpg. The car is very comfortable. We prefer this one for our longer trips over our Lincoln LS...not only for gas mileage, but for comfort as well. Had no mechanical problems with this car. Replaced the tires at about 50,000 miles. We'll buy another."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

GREAT VALUE

By on Thursday, September 2, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Ive have really enjoyed this vehicle! The interior is as nice as a lexus and it zips around as well as a jetta or civic, but without the guilt of buying a foreign made vehicle. This car hugs the road and handles like a far more expensive vehicle and the design always gets a few "THATS a focus?" comments. My only problem is that the 2010 has caught my eye so I will probably end up buying a new one just for the look of it. My Mother loves mine so much I think I will let her just take over the payments so I can get my new one. The gas mileage is great (35-40 in an automatic) especially considering how hard I am on a vehicle driving in New England."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fantastic Vehicle

By on Friday, July 31, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased my 08 Focus SES 15 months ago. Previously have driven Toyotas, both Corollas and Camrys. I found the quality of the Focus exceeds the Toyotas. I currently have 17,000 miles on my Focus and have not spent anything to keep it in top shape other than general maintenance. Gas mileage is great. Highway mileage as high as 40 MPG. Performance is much better than I ever imagined. I pull a trailer with a commercial zero turn mower and the Focus tows it without problem, rarely having to down shift from its top gear. I recommend the Focus to anyone who wants a dependable vehicle with low maintenance cost, great gas mileage and attractive styling."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Would buy again

By on Sunday, July 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I just love driving my Ford Focus SE. It handled great in the snow and ice. I dread the winter every year because of the bad weather. I usually have someone come and pick me up for work. That hasnt happened since I bought my focus. Also there is no blind spots when I am driving in traffic. I have recommended this vehicle to numerous people and so far I have convinced 5 people to buy one, they come back and thank me for referring the focus to them."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Awesome Car!!

By on Friday, May 29, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i had a wreck 2 months ago with my 2007 focus but when it got paid off, i decided to get an 2008 ford focus SES with 14,000 miles. this car is awesome. i love the color(blue), the sync feature, the sirius sateliite radio, everything. the only thing i dont like about the car is it doesnt have the 6 disc cd- changer like the 07 focus. it also doesnt tell you the current tire pressures on the instrument panel like the 2008 and 2009 chevy malibu does. but overall, it's good on gas and i'll recommend to anyone who wants to buy a car"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Carpet problem

By on Saturday, July 5, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought the car three weeks ago. Great mileage performance is what was expected but the carpet on each side is coming loose from under the door trim pieces exposing the edge of the carpet. Other than that a great car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best in Class

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"We looked at & researched the Civic, Corolla, Mazda3, and Elantra. For us, Focus was the best overall. Especially for the price. Getting 26mph around town and got 37mph hwy. Drives nice, and looks good compared to others."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fun and Classy

By on Sunday, March 30, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had 3 focus vehicles since 2002 and have had good luck with my current two I have a 2007 SES coupe and as of last week am the proud owner of a 2008 SES Sedan. The 2008 brings elegance and economy to the table. The ride in the 2008 is far superior to any other I have driven. We got rid of a 2007 Freestyle because of the looming gas price hike and the 08 Focus rides smoother than my Freestyle did. Buy this car, you wont be sorry!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Fuel Efficiency and Nice Styling

By on Sunday, February 17, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I traded in my truck for a fuel efficient commuter car. The newly styled Focus has really pleased me. I'm averaging 34 mpg and have cut my fuel costs in half! Saving the money at the fuel pump has helped me get over not having a truck anymore. I have the base model 5 speed manual transmission which makes it fun to drive and is pretty responsive for a small engine. The styling is nice and pleasing to the eye. For a economical car, it feels more sophisticated than rival cars in its class. I highly recommend this if you are looking for an efficient and economical choice with styling that makes it feel more expensive than it really is."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great, reliable vehicle

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, economical on gas, dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Well maintained

"This car has been reliable and the gas mileage is wonderful. It does great on distance traveling and in traffic. Has lots of extras on it. Enjoy driving it. It is a very dependable car. Maintenance not costly and was well maintained."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Well maintained

GREAT mpg and Nice ride

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Too small

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "mpg, comfortable ride, good design"

Cons: "small backseat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We owned this car for a few years and LOVED IT! The only reason we had to sell it was we need something bigger in the back for a car seat. We really didn't want to sell it but had to because of it's smaller size. The car was purchased for my wife as a commuter car but we ended up driving it more than our other vehicles when we went places anyway due to it's GREAT mpg! We would get about 30mpg in town and could hit 40mpg on the highway when we had it set on cruise when it was just her and I. If you're looking for a great small car that rides nice and has amazing mpg this is the car for you. The only downfall we found was due to it's small size and light weight it wasn't the best in snow up here in WI but that's expected with any small car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great gas mileage, reliable and cheap to maintain.

By on Friday, April 5, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Price, gas mileage, stylish"

Cons: "Suspension noise from time to time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Ford Focus. I have owned my 2010 Ford Focus for 4 months now and there is not much I can complain about. I get WONDERFUL gas mileage, its very reliable and cheap to maintain. I switched from a V6 gas guzzling car to this 4 cylinder Ford Focus and I am very impressed. I looked at many other 4 cylinder compact cars similar to the Ford Focus but nothing seemed to match up to the value of this car. I see me driving this car until it falls apart."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

practical and fun to drive

By on Sunday, March 3, 2013

I own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "with a 5spd..very fun to drive"

Cons: "shift linkage is vague when cold...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has got to be THE quietest small car I've ever owned...my previous vehicle was a 2000 ZX2 which sounded somewhat like a lumber wagon @75+ mph. Gas mileage Is wonderful for a vehicle of this stature. I've managed b'twn 28-35 mpg on a daily basis. Maintainence has been very minimal.This is a great little car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my Ford Focus

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "mpg, handles well, SYNC is a great feature!"

Cons: "Too low to the ground, weather stripping failed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Pros: 29mpg City 35mpg Highway Handles great. SYNC is the best! Reliable, economical. Cons: Too low to the ground. Scrapes the front undercarriage on most driveway inclines. Door weather stripping and window seals wore out in 1 year's time."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

loaded with options,great price and gas milage

By on Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "loaded with features,great price and gas milage"

Cons: "a little hard to drive in snowy conditions"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car comes loaded with options and for the money you can't beat the value. i also average about 37mpg driving 50 miles round trip to work and only costs about $40 to fill up(13 gal tank). the only drawback is that the car is a little hard to drive on snow and ice and the defroster seems to not work very well on the large windshield. it only defrosts certain areas and this can be very annoying when driving in a snow storm or fog and rain."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Thursday, September 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "MPG, sleek look, cheap"

Cons: "No cruise control, manual transmission and windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own this car. I bought it used with 11,000 miles on it last November. Mine is a manual transmission and has manual windows but power doors and no cruise control. I drive 80 miles to work round trip and I get 36mpg. At 26,000 miles I had to take it in the get the fly wheel replaced but it was under warranty. I don't know the significance of that as I didn't buy this new. The backseat is fine for kids but any larger than a teenager and it is quite uncomfortable. Otherwise, I love this little car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The focus does just that.

By on Friday, January 28, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Ford really nailed this on the head. The fuel economoy is great, better than great. I have been getting well over 30mpg and I am driving half city and highway through a lot of 90 degree turns and many hills. On a purely highway trip I got 39.1 mpg. The sync works wonderfully and so does the bluetooth system. My phone book syncs with the car and can hold up to 3 phones. Overall it's just a wonderful machine with enough pep to pass vehicles when necessary as well. Great job Ford."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Mini Mustang

By on Friday, July 2, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned four Focuses and three Mustangs in the past six years. Why so many you ask? I want both economy and performance. They don't make a Mocus or a Fustang! So, in the end, the 2010 Mustang was getting me into trouble it was so much fun to drive, made 70 MPH feel like a crawl. Had to give it up and make the streets a lil safer. So, on July 1 I capitulated and given the option of the 2011 Mustang and the 2010 Focus with zero down and a much lower payment, I had to take the economy route. The Focus is like a 137-HP go-cart, and really it is so much fun to drive, so much more with the 5-speed manual transmission. You hardly need any extra thrust on city streets. Every turn is handled with obedience, like a slot car with a solid center rail. The stock Kuhmo Solus 16" tires track very well on dry and wet roads. The visibility is double over the Mustang, and it is truly the closest thing we can get to flying on the ground. Only so many words can be said. One test drive of the solid 5-speed and I was sold yet again. This time, it's time to grow up and stop waffling between the sheer power of the Mustang and go for the tempered, humble performance of the Focus without sacrificing on quality. I saved about $140 a month right off the top with the Focus on the payment, insurance and gas, yet I didn't give up the fun factor. And that's pretty hard to beat."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Focus near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement