Go

2009 Ford Focus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 456 Ratings for the 2008 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next

Loved it! I'm a happy camper =)

By on Thursday, November 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Gas Milage, Easy to Drive, SYNC"

Cons: "No interior trunk button, tires?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 09' Ford Focus Sedan SES. I got this car used with around 20,000 miles. The build quality is pretty good. The driving dynamics for a small car like this are so good. Very good turn-in, predictable lift-off oversteer, and independent rear suspension that keeps you planted over bumps. Bottom line, handles well. I get great gas milage,average around 26-27 in the city, easily 30+ on the highway, I do get 35+ at times, the ideal speed isn't 70 but more like between the 50-60 range. It's fairly comfortable for the two people in the front. The only downside that is doesn't give a lot of leg room for the back, but hey it's a compact car, what do you expect? The interior is well-appointed at this price and it has neat features like ambient lighting and SYNC that make my friend's BMW look redundant. Premium Entertainment System, I love SYNC, it's nice being able to hook up a phone via Bluetooth. Voice Activated Commands, Phone,etc. It has two AUX ports(or whatever it's called), headphone jack for music in case you can't set up Bluetooth, and even a USB port for charging. Seriously, this car comes with all the bells and whistles, even compared to cars today, as of 2013. From what I've seen, this car is also very safe. There are more airbags in this car than most others at this price point, coupled with Ford's personal safety system my passengers and I feel very safe. The only things I don't like about the car, the tires. I replaced them already at around 24,xxx miles.. The Kumho Solus tire, which are the ones Ford included on the 17" package is absolutely awful in every weather condition and should be replaced IMMEDIATELY with a higher quality tire. Second thing is the fact that there is no bottom inside the car to pop the trunk. I believe they fixed that problem in the newer Focuses. Bottom Line, had this car for 3 years+ and other than the regular maintenance, it has never had any problems, never had to fix anything really. It has been a reliable car over the years throughout College and I will probably drive it until the day it dies. Which probably will never come as I might trade it in for one of the newer Focuses. Anyways definitely recommend it for a college kid."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

BUY YOURSELF 1!

By on Wednesday, June 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Love this little car. First off only 2 complaints & they are very minor. No trunk release in the car & no dome light in the back seat. It may look like a small car but there is a ton of room for the driver & passenger. A lot of people get in & are surprised by how comfortable they are. Not so much in the back seat buy hey, it's a compact. Drives great SYNC system is incredible! I have 2 other friends that after riding in my car are considering getting one themselves. You get much more than you pay for."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Amazing value in a compact size

By on Wednesday, March 30, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Mileage, style, handling, value"

Cons: "Slight delay hard accelerating, trunk opening"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car with 25,000 miles and have had it for two years. I have driven on gravel, grass, mud, snow, ice, slush, you name it and have less to complain about than some people with 4x4s. Being able to turn off the traction control is huge. Love the style/design and fuel efficiency. Good neutral color seating to minimize seeing messes. Zippy, nimble little ride. Very good visibility out the windows. All controls/buttons are sensible designed and located. Interior fits a normal person and is not overly wide like some newer vehicles. Only real flaw is the trunk design. In winter water can pool and free where you put your hand to lift and open the trunk making it a little bothersome. Also, access to the trunk from the backseat is a little small but just being able to fold down the seats to access the trunk is nice."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Awesome Mileage!

By on Monday, August 6, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Took a cross-country trip & made 40mpg...averages 25-35, with alot of city driving. Great value, very happy with my Focus."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very sporty and alot of pick up and go!

By on Monday, July 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,256

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "sporty and fun"

Cons: "seats are not too comfy on long drives."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Driving in San Antonio traffic, I have had to speed up quickly to get around another car or just get out of a bad spot. My Focus has never stumbled or fell on its face when I put the pedal down! It's a five speed coupe and very fun to drive! With all this driving and zooming around town, I still get 27-28 mpg! On the highway I get 36 mpg."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This has been the most reliable car I have owned.

By on Wednesday, July 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car new and drive it 106 miles a day to work. I have had to do practically nothing to it other than routine maintanance. I had to replace drivers door latch due to the dome light staying on and one engine mount."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Value For Your Dollars

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cheap to buy, even cheaper to own. Fun to drive!"

Cons: "No rear disc brakes, Original tires are AWFUL!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded my Mustang for this Focus SES and even though I miss having my muscle car, I could not be happier with my Focus. The build quality is so much better than my Mustang so I know I won't have to think so much about reliability issues. It is also much more comfortable than my Mustang which makes it much better for long trips. The gas mileage is WAY underrated by the EPA, so I get more than 35mpg on a regular basis. The sound system is VERY nice for a value car like this. The interior is well-appointed at this price and it has neat features like ambient lighting and SYNC that make some luxury cars look redundant. The driving dynamics for a small car like this are so great. Very good turn-in, predictable lift-off oversteer, and independent rear suspension that keeps you planted over bumps. Not something you see on every car in this class. I am disappointed at the lack of rear disc brakes. Many cars in this class have rear disc brakes which are more efficient and easier to service than drum brakes. From what I've seen, this car is also very safe. There are more airbags in this car than most others at this price point, coupled with Ford's personal safety system my passengers and I feel very safe. My only major complaint are the tires that Ford chose to include on the 17" wheel package. The Kumho Solus tire is absolutely awful in every weather condition and should be replaced IMMEDIATELY with a higher quality tire."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best gas mileage

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great fuel saver"

Cons: "tight interior for use big guys, over 6 feet tall."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No major problems since I bought it. Great car for the money. Getting 35-38 MPG still at 99000 miles."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent car. We'll buy another.

By on Thursday, November 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, comfort, gas mileage, quality"

Cons: "Have nothing but praise for this car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We typically get 36-37 mpg in our rural area. With steady driving on long trips, we'll see 38 and 39 mpg. The car is very comfortable. We prefer this one for our longer trips over our Lincoln LS...not only for gas mileage, but for comfort as well. Had no mechanical problems with this car. Replaced the tires at about 50,000 miles. We'll buy another."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

GREAT VALUE

By on Thursday, September 2, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Ive have really enjoyed this vehicle! The interior is as nice as a lexus and it zips around as well as a jetta or civic, but without the guilt of buying a foreign made vehicle. This car hugs the road and handles like a far more expensive vehicle and the design always gets a few "THATS a focus?" comments. My only problem is that the 2010 has caught my eye so I will probably end up buying a new one just for the look of it. My Mother loves mine so much I think I will let her just take over the payments so I can get my new one. The gas mileage is great (35-40 in an automatic) especially considering how hard I am on a vehicle driving in New England."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Focus near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement