Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2008 Ford Focus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 443 Ratings for the 2008 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

extremely reliable, excellent gas mileage

By on Monday, September 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "price, reliabliity, gas mileage"

Cons: ""just a car" from a performance point of view"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Although occasionally feels small and engine 'pep' is not it's strong point, it has proved to be an excellent value. Have had no problems, am just looking at new tires with almost 39,000 miles on factory ones. Get 28 mpg city and 38 mpg hwy. Because you can put the back seat down (split if desired), holds almost everything I've tried"

17 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Loved it! I'm a happy camper =)

By on Thursday, November 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Gas Milage, Easy to Drive, SYNC"

Cons: "No interior trunk button, tires?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 09' Ford Focus Sedan SES. I got this car used with around 20,000 miles. The build quality is pretty good. The driving dynamics for a small car like this are so good. Very good turn-in, predictable lift-off oversteer, and independent rear suspension that keeps you planted over bumps. Bottom line, handles well. I get great gas milage,average around 26-27 in the city, easily 30+ on the highway, I do get 35+ at times, the ideal speed isn't 70 but more like between the 50-60 range. It's fairly comfortable for the two people in the front. The only downside that is doesn't give a lot of leg room for the back, but hey it's a compact car, what do you expect? The interior is well-appointed at this price and it has neat features like ambient lighting and SYNC that make my friend's BMW look redundant. Premium Entertainment System, I love SYNC, it's nice being able to hook up a phone via Bluetooth. Voice Activated Commands, Phone,etc. It has two AUX ports(or whatever it's called), headphone jack for music in case you can't set up Bluetooth, and even a USB port for charging. Seriously, this car comes with all the bells and whistles, even compared to cars today, as of 2013. From what I've seen, this car is also very safe. There are more airbags in this car than most others at this price point, coupled with Ford's personal safety system my passengers and I feel very safe. The only things I don't like about the car, the tires. I replaced them already at around 24,xxx miles.. The Kumho Solus tire, which are the ones Ford included on the 17" package is absolutely awful in every weather condition and should be replaced IMMEDIATELY with a higher quality tire. Second thing is the fact that there is no bottom inside the car to pop the trunk. I believe they fixed that problem in the newer Focuses. Bottom Line, had this car for 3 years+ and other than the regular maintenance, it has never had any problems, never had to fix anything really. It has been a reliable car over the years throughout College and I will probably drive it until the day it dies. Which probably will never come as I might trade it in for one of the newer Focuses. Anyways definitely recommend it for a college kid."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great Little Car for the Money

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"5-speed manual is quick and economical. Lots of headroom and visibility. I like the height of the passenger cabin -- you're not hugging the pavement, you're sitting high up enough to really see what's going on around you. Fantastic fuel economy, good styling and responsive performance. Headrests weren't very comfortably positioned for a recent long road trip. What were they thinking when they designed the look of the back end? Still, the trunkspace is extremely generous. The sound system rocks. This car is lots of fun to drive, despite my minor complaints. I'm finding excuses to run errands just so I can have a reason to get in and drive it. Question: This is 2008, already. Is it really so impossible or expensive for Ford to include power windows and door locks on their base model?!?"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

BUY YOURSELF 1!

By on Wednesday, June 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Love this little car. First off only 2 complaints & they are very minor. No trunk release in the car & no dome light in the back seat. It may look like a small car but there is a ton of room for the driver & passenger. A lot of people get in & are surprised by how comfortable they are. Not so much in the back seat buy hey, it's a compact. Drives great SYNC system is incredible! I have 2 other friends that after riding in my car are considering getting one themselves. You get much more than you pay for."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Quite Stylish, Great Price

By on Tuesday, June 09, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my focas in Januray of '08. walked in to the Ford dealer looking to buy a mustang or a fusion. we were talking about feul economy when i saw it. from the back of the lot. i asked my salesman "What is THAT!?" he politly replyed "oh that? thats the all new ford focus". i was stunned with my mouth hanging open. after about a minute he said "um. would you like to test drive it?" "YES!". this is after testing a fusion and a mustang. peppy, fast, stylish, 5 cup holders, ambiant lighting. who needs a mustang? i drove it home, and have loved it ever since. i still get people asking "what is that?" to them i reply "oh that? ford focus". and i LOVE the reactions i get. ive never had a mechanical problem. and i drive alot. i put 22,000 on it in the first year. its a champ. always ready to go. sound system is impressive too. cons are few: back seat is a little cramped (but i'm never back there. lol) and the plastic hub caps are fading, also everytihng is made of plastic. but i guess thats how they make cars today."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Focus near Honolulu. See local deals