Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2006 Ford Focus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 1961 Ratings for the 2000 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next

Good runinnig vehicle

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,501

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"good condition body"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great vehicle! Engine and mechanics great.

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Grandsons moved. Need smaller car. Few cosmetic needs. Dependable. Good gas mileage. Comfortable. Quiet. New tires, brakes, and oil. Burns no oil. Wonderful car. Great vehicle. Engine and mechanics great."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Utility Vehicle

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Economical, dependable."

Cons: "Engine is loud."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

In driveway when new, looks the same today.

"For 100,000 this has been a very reliable vehicle. The 4 cylinder is adequate, however is sluggish when running AC. Have had no major repairs other than getting the suspension system stabilized early on. Tires were wearing out too quickly and I had rear stabilization installed by dealer. Mileage continues to be very good, (25 mpg in town and over 30 highway). Hot weather is about 3 MPG less when operating AC continually. The body and interior have held up very well. Car is always garaged at night so that helps with exterior."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

In driveway when new, looks the same today.

sterdy feel 33-36mpg on trips 28-31to work

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,650

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "basic terrific daily driver"

Cons: "eats tires bad!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Doesn't burn oil goes and stops fine doesn't cost much to fill gas tank"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

good condition,good vehicle。

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: go another place

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive it to portland,seattle,yellow stone from May this year.It very good"

Love it

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great car to drive very fuel effecient"

Cons: "neds to be a little roomier"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love my car but when I first got it I did not know how to drive it as never had driven manual, but after I learned how to drive it I love it, also when I bought it the car dealership did not inform me there was a leak in power steering and so for the first 3 months it was slowly leaking until the pump broke and by then warranty was up and they refused to fix it. But otherwise I love it a lot like my Ford Escort I had."

12 people out of 16 found this review helpful

2001 Ford Focus ZTS Sedan-271,000 Miles

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 271,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Steady, reliable car."

Cons: "Difficult for DIY mechanic to work on."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife and I have had this car since 2001. No mechanical issues with the car other than replacing components that normally wear with age (brakes, water pump, belts, brake lines, etc.). Nice design inside and out. Ergonomics are good. Seats are comfortable on long drives."

13 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Decent vehicle, poor longevity

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good value, good interior"

Cons: "Poor longevity, cramped cabin"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"The 2006 Ford Focus was made right around when Ford made huge adjustments to their cars in the right direction. It was the beginning of a transition into an era of quality Ford automobiles. As such, the 2006 Ford Focus has many of the pros of a new generation Ford with some of the quirks and cons that they hadn't quite shaken off yet. It's a mixture of "bad Ford," "good Ford." With low milage and good maintenance, this is a terrific car. The interior isn't incredibly comfortable and the room is cramped, but it's still well designed and fun to drive. The improvements over the 2005 Focus are numerous and needed. The reliability and longevity of the car, however, reflect the old Ford style. It will get louder, run worse, and break more often than other cars of the same year. Its saving grace is that it is cheaper to repair. However, approaching 200,000 miles on my Ford Focus, I am beginning to realize I'm actually approaching the end of the car's life. This saddens me, because I genuinely enjoy my 2006 Ford Focus, despite its flaws. Since I've owned it, I've taken good care of it, but it's unclear how the original owner treated it. I would say "fair," which leads me to believe the car would probably run better had it been babied its whole life. Honestly, though, what percentage of people deliver optimum maintenance on a timely basis to their cars? This is definitely a car that requires it, as the quality of the build just can't withstand time as well as others. All in all, it's a good, cheap car. If you can find one that has been taken care of and has less than 120,000 miles on it, snatch it up! You'll love it. Just realize that this will not be a car that you can drive years and years into the future."

19 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Hands down best car I owned

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great on Gas, Handlles well, Hatch very convenient"

Cons: "None at all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car in '05 with 24000 miles for $8000. Have owned several other similar Ford Focuses also very good. It is a hatchback so I sold my truck. Car has been very reliable and easy to drive, easy to park, and gets 33 to 34 miles per gallon. If you buy one, do as I have done and stick with the Zetec Dual Overhead Cam (DOHC) and avoid the SOHC Split Port Motor as they had some major engine issues. Great little car and lots of fun to drive too. Highly Recommended !"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

very happy with this car!

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great gas mileage!"

Cons: "seats could be more comfortable, miss cruise contr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Really good car, like the way it drives, looks great, and I am so happy with my gas mileage vs my old car."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Fun to drive, 25mpg,

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hatchback very functional"

Cons: "Replace the master/slave cylinders and ignition sw"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car for commuting"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

one of the best cars I have ever owned

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,306

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, bough in 2010 no problems, 38mpg hw"

Cons: "not very good in snow too lite"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I give this about A 9.0"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

cheap car

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "turns on a dime. good on gas."

Cons: "wiring problems,bad cup placement."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"the car has wiring problem, i guess is very common on hatchbacks. cant find the problem but idiot lights come on and car cracks through the speakers. it is very nibble and is fun to drive."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great all around car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been a joy to own. No issues, runs and drives great. 30+ mpg. Best Value!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Nimble daily driver

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Quick, nimble, fun"

Cons: "not comfortable for really long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Quick nimble car that reliably gets you from point A to point B. It is a joy to throw around the curvy roads and makes a 30 minute commute bearable. I believe the car handles better than 85% of other vehicles on the road. I usually give up long before the handling does. Easy to park and maneuver and the hatch is the best thing ever."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

best car so far

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"its very reliable, easy on gas, not hard to drive, very comfirtable"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Has been and still is an excellent auto!

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great car...not for sale!"

Cons: "Maybe could use a tilt wheel."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Focus, which I bought new, has been a great car! Almost 200M and still doesn't use oil. I have been very religous about oil and filter changes. Have had a few minor issues...fuel pump; motor mounts; electric windows on 2 rear doors gave me problems. A/C still will freeze you out. Usually get 40-50M out of front disc brakes. Never any transmission issues (but I serviced it on time!). No car is ever trouble-free, including this one...but it's over 13 years old and still going strong! (you're right, I'm a Ford person!)"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2005 Ford Focus Hatchback SES

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very reliable, great gas mileage, moon roof"

Cons: "low profile tires terrible in winter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this car for 7 years. I bought it when it had 10,000 miles on it and it now has 200,000 miles on it. It runs like a top. It has never failed me. Has always started even at 25 below zero. I love the moon roof. The only thing I've had go on it is the alternator and it warned me about 5 miles ahead of time on my radio display. So I was able to get to a garage before it stalled. My only complaint about this particular car is the tires. It has low profile tires on it, which look cool, but do not last as long as I would like and the rims have become bent up after this many miles, which causes my car to shimmy a bit. New tires help for a while, but as soon as they get some wear on them, it shimmys again. Apparently regular tires cannot be put on the rims I have and I don't want to spend the money for new rims at this point. So I will live with it a couple more years. Otherwise, this car gets close to 40 mpg. The older it gets the better gas mileage I seem to get. I commute every day over 100 miles. It runs great."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

2003 ford focus SE

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "small back seat, little leg room in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Overall a good car. Had trouble with alternator and battery at 48,000 miles and it sat for a little while. it has 52,000 miles on it now. no rebuilt title. I am the second owner, Elderly woman bought in 2003 brand new, she passed away and her niece received it and then sold it to me in 2011 and I've had it ever since. it is my daily driver, only drive 40 miles a day, gets good gas mileage. handles well."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Left doors creased Back bumper cracked

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Driver's side doors creased, Back right bumper cracked Replacing Antenna for Radio"

3 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Good shape, low miles, runs excellent

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "low miles, good condition"

Cons: "Rear bumber has clear coat flaking."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Nice car. Good paint and interior, no major dents or dings low miles"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

One of the best Fords out there

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, great gas mileage, easy to maintain"

Cons: "Small trunk, back seats snug if you're tall"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great gas milage, I get 36hwy easily and sometimes more if I'm doing long distance driving. Driver seat is pretty comfortable and easy to find a sweet spot for comfortable driving. Back is a little snug if you're tall and the front seats are pushed all the way back. Cons: if you have large packages it's either difficult to get into back seat or trunk or they won't go in at all. Not fond of the trunk opening, it should be longer by about 6". Back seats don't fold perfectly flat. Maintenance: easy to maintain, good on gas, easy to find parts. Turns like a champ. Would keep this car but having to trade it in because new job requires I use a small SUV (Jeep Liberty is my new one)."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love my Focus, except..

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Mileage, interior space, ease of entry/exit"

Cons: "Poor handling on slick/snow covered roads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Great little car, perfect for my needs. Reliable with great gas mileage. The only time I don't like it is when the roads are snow covered, icy, or even very wet. The rear end is so light, it swerves all over when I try to accelerate. Driving normal road speed under these conditions is not possible for me."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

One of my favorites!

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,501

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive, very reliable, good MPG"

Cons: "Needs more power, not a lot of tech"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

My 2001 Ford Focus ZTS

"I bought my 2001 Ford Focus ZTS brand new in late 2000. I test drove one a few months before and I really liked the way it handled and drove overall. I was worried about the few recalls the first model year (2000) had, but I bought a new 2001 anyway. I guess they worked everything out by the time I bought it because I have had zero (0!) recalls on my car. I only had one warranty issue that was resolved a long time ago and that was for warped front brake rotors. The car has been extremely reliable and very fun to drive. I only wish it had more power but the gas mileage has been great. I still love my Focus and the way the handling still makes me smile. It was a top of the line Focus back then but it doesn't have a lot of cool tech like today's cars, but I like its simplicity (less to go wrong)."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My 2001 Ford Focus ZTS

Car Show Quality

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, Quick, Not a boat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So far I have done custom paint, rims, low profile tires, hood scoop, bra, ram air intake, exhaust, DVD player, and I'm looking at a spoiler this Saturday (Aug. 2nd)... This is quick little 4cyl. and handles corners like a champion!!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Focus near Honolulu. See local deals