Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2005 Ford Focus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 1971 Ratings for the 2000 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next

Been driving this car for 11 years!

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Longevity"

Cons: "window mechanism broke during a cold snap."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought the car used for 10400 in Jan, 2004 and I'm still driving it. It has had some electrical problems over the years. Probably spent 5k fixing and maintaining this and that over the eleven years. Fan quit working, two automatic windows quit working, something electrical that made the battery light come on needed repairing. Actually, everything that's been fixed was electrical. --Oops--actually replaced motor mounts. Replaced tires twice. Replaced brakes twice. Replaced battery once. But--overall--I've been happy. Great mileage, easy to drive and park. I usually keep a car about 5 years."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Compact Car Ever!

By on Saturday, February 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Compact and fun to drive"

Cons: "Small, not for larger persons :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car! We bought this car 5 years ago with over 100K miles on it. We've added another 100K to it and it's still going strong! My husband took it out of state for 2+ years for long commutes but just got it back. Boy did I miss her! I loved driving our Dodge charger, and now a Dodge Ram, but this little beauty beats them both in parking convenience,$$$ at the pump, and garage space!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Amazing Vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Price, Convenient, fun to drive"

Cons: "very little rear leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I first bought this car when I was 16 for $3500 and it has proven to be a great car. So far I haven't had any problems and the overall design and feel of the car is great. This car is very convenient and would make a great first car."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car for it's value

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "economical, serve a young person a good value."

Cons: "not many bells and wistles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car as a back up when my primary vehicles engine died on me. I was able to drive this car from Wisconsin to N.H and back plus many trips to MN where I live now. For a 2003 it got me my moneys worth. It averaged over 34 MPG's. I hate to sell it but just don't need 3 vehicles. Granted this vehicle is the bare bones minimum for comfort, It definately served it's purpose."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Simple and cheap

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun, Cheap, reliable"

Cons: "No Luxury, no feature creature baubles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"If you are a JD Power feature creature who only looks at a vehicle as the equivalent of a living room sofa on wheels, you will hate this car. However, if you value a car as a car, you will LOVE the Focus as much as most auto critics do. It is simple yet delivers fun, crisp driving ideal for driving in town and with the MPG to obliterate commutes. You will not find endless baubles and sofa leather iPhone screens here whatsoever. This car is about a simple chassis, an engine, good suspension and MPG."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Good 1st timer car

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good looking. Good handling. Easy to park"

Cons: "electronics, engine noise is loud."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Bought an 04 focus ZTS for my son who is learning to drive. Safety and reliability were tops on my list. I figured he could burn out the clutch on this instead of learning on my Audi (the clutch costs more than we paid for the focus) Im pretty happy with our choice. Understated, but a car he can be happy to be seen in, easy to drive, good on gas. Electronics issues are plaguing us, but I figure he can drive it into the ground and not waste a fortune."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

56000 is on the motor, 2 years on new transmisson

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great to drive"

Cons: "has new battery, break pads, new lower ball jonts,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i have 3,500 in the car i would like get that."

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliiable"

Cons: "a bit noisy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I have ever owned in my 45 years of driving. one repair in 9 years and the cost was about $100"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Cheap throw away car

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Price is affordable, handling"

Cons: "Mechanical issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"These cars are okay for going from point a to b. I've owned many cars in my life and I've never had the issues I've had with my focus with any of them. I've had problems with the ignition, airflow, cat converter, ac, and electrical problems all within the past two years."

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

Car runs very well

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to drive. Handles well. good acceleration"

Cons: "Use a rust retardent on underbody"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car was parked in a damp location for much of it's life, so it has rusted underneath. I would have put a rust retardant like fluid film on it, had I owned the car at that time. Also the heat shield is aluminum fastened to a steel body. Add some moisture and salt with two dissimilar metals and you have galvanic corrosion. Simple dielectric plastic spacers would have prevented this. Other than that the Focus is a good car for the money."

7 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Great car for the money.

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great value for the money."

Cons: "Not a long distance road machine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"After about 14 years of driving this Focus, for the type of driving it is designed for it has proven to be a great car for the value. It is comfortable, drives well and gets good gas mileage. With routine maintainance and upkeep it has been reliable and trouble free, requiring seldom mechanical engine repair. The paint finish, body and glass have held up well. It has held up well. Great car for the money."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Good runinnig vehicle

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,501

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"good condition body"

4 people out of 14 found this review helpful

great vehicle! Engine and mechanics great.

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Grandsons moved. Need smaller car. Few cosmetic needs. Dependable. Good gas mileage. Comfortable. Quiet. New tires, brakes, and oil. Burns no oil. Wonderful car. Great vehicle. Engine and mechanics great."

9 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Excellent Utility Vehicle

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Economical, dependable."

Cons: "Engine is loud."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

In driveway when new, looks the same today.

"For 100,000 this has been a very reliable vehicle. The 4 cylinder is adequate, however is sluggish when running AC. Have had no major repairs other than getting the suspension system stabilized early on. Tires were wearing out too quickly and I had rear stabilization installed by dealer. Mileage continues to be very good, (25 mpg in town and over 30 highway). Hot weather is about 3 MPG less when operating AC continually. The body and interior have held up very well. Car is always garaged at night so that helps with exterior."

12 people out of 23 found this review helpful

In driveway when new, looks the same today.

sterdy feel 33-36mpg on trips 28-31to work

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,650

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "basic terrific daily driver"

Cons: "eats tires bad!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Doesn't burn oil goes and stops fine doesn't cost much to fill gas tank"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

good condition,good vehicle。

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: go another place

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive it to portland,seattle,yellow stone from May this year.It very good"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

2001 Ford Focus ZTS Sedan-271,000 Miles

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 271,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Steady, reliable car."

Cons: "Difficult for DIY mechanic to work on."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife and I have had this car since 2001. No mechanical issues with the car other than replacing components that normally wear with age (brakes, water pump, belts, brake lines, etc.). Nice design inside and out. Ergonomics are good. Seats are comfortable on long drives."

17 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Decent vehicle, poor longevity

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good value, good interior"

Cons: "Poor longevity, cramped cabin"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"The 2006 Ford Focus was made right around when Ford made huge adjustments to their cars in the right direction. It was the beginning of a transition into an era of quality Ford automobiles. As such, the 2006 Ford Focus has many of the pros of a new generation Ford with some of the quirks and cons that they hadn't quite shaken off yet. It's a mixture of "bad Ford," "good Ford." With low milage and good maintenance, this is a terrific car. The interior isn't incredibly comfortable and the room is cramped, but it's still well designed and fun to drive. The improvements over the 2005 Focus are numerous and needed. The reliability and longevity of the car, however, reflect the old Ford style. It will get louder, run worse, and break more often than other cars of the same year. Its saving grace is that it is cheaper to repair. However, approaching 200,000 miles on my Ford Focus, I am beginning to realize I'm actually approaching the end of the car's life. This saddens me, because I genuinely enjoy my 2006 Ford Focus, despite its flaws. Since I've owned it, I've taken good care of it, but it's unclear how the original owner treated it. I would say "fair," which leads me to believe the car would probably run better had it been babied its whole life. Honestly, though, what percentage of people deliver optimum maintenance on a timely basis to their cars? This is definitely a car that requires it, as the quality of the build just can't withstand time as well as others. All in all, it's a good, cheap car. If you can find one that has been taken care of and has less than 120,000 miles on it, snatch it up! You'll love it. Just realize that this will not be a car that you can drive years and years into the future."

26 people out of 32 found this review helpful

Hands down best car I owned

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great on Gas, Handlles well, Hatch very convenient"

Cons: "None at all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car in '05 with 24000 miles for $8000. Have owned several other similar Ford Focuses also very good. It is a hatchback so I sold my truck. Car has been very reliable and easy to drive, easy to park, and gets 33 to 34 miles per gallon. If you buy one, do as I have done and stick with the Zetec Dual Overhead Cam (DOHC) and avoid the SOHC Split Port Motor as they had some major engine issues. Great little car and lots of fun to drive too. Highly Recommended !"

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

very happy with this car!

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great gas mileage!"

Cons: "seats could be more comfortable, miss cruise contr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Really good car, like the way it drives, looks great, and I am so happy with my gas mileage vs my old car."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Fun to drive, 25mpg,

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hatchback very functional"

Cons: "Replace the master/slave cylinders and ignition sw"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car for commuting"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

one of the best cars I have ever owned

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,306

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, bough in 2010 no problems, 38mpg hw"

Cons: "not very good in snow too lite"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I give this about A 9.0"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

cheap car

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "turns on a dime. good on gas."

Cons: "wiring problems,bad cup placement."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"the car has wiring problem, i guess is very common on hatchbacks. cant find the problem but idiot lights come on and car cracks through the speakers. it is very nibble and is fun to drive."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great all around car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been a joy to own. No issues, runs and drives great. 30+ mpg. Best Value!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Nimble daily driver

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Quick, nimble, fun"

Cons: "not comfortable for really long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Quick nimble car that reliably gets you from point A to point B. It is a joy to throw around the curvy roads and makes a 30 minute commute bearable. I believe the car handles better than 85% of other vehicles on the road. I usually give up long before the handling does. Easy to park and maneuver and the hatch is the best thing ever."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Focus near Honolulu. See local deals