Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2005 Ford Focus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 1956 Ratings for the 2000 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 392 | Next

Love it

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great car to drive very fuel effecient"

Cons: "neds to be a little roomier"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love my car but when I first got it I did not know how to drive it as never had driven manual, but after I learned how to drive it I love it, also when I bought it the car dealership did not inform me there was a leak in power steering and so for the first 3 months it was slowly leaking until the pump broke and by then warranty was up and they refused to fix it. But otherwise I love it a lot like my Ford Escort I had."

2001 Ford Focus ZTS Sedan-271,000 Miles

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 271,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Steady, reliable car."

Cons: "Difficult for DIY mechanic to work on."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife and I have had this car since 2001. No mechanical issues with the car other than replacing components that normally wear with age (brakes, water pump, belts, brake lines, etc.). Nice design inside and out. Ergonomics are good. Seats are comfortable on long drives."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Decent vehicle, poor longevity

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good value, good interior"

Cons: "Poor longevity, cramped cabin"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"The 2006 Ford Focus was made right around when Ford made huge adjustments to their cars in the right direction. It was the beginning of a transition into an era of quality Ford automobiles. As such, the 2006 Ford Focus has many of the pros of a new generation Ford with some of the quirks and cons that they hadn't quite shaken off yet. It's a mixture of "bad Ford," "good Ford." With low milage and good maintenance, this is a terrific car. The interior isn't incredibly comfortable and the room is cramped, but it's still well designed and fun to drive. The improvements over the 2005 Focus are numerous and needed. The reliability and longevity of the car, however, reflect the old Ford style. It will get louder, run worse, and break more often than other cars of the same year. Its saving grace is that it is cheaper to repair. However, approaching 200,000 miles on my Ford Focus, I am beginning to realize I'm actually approaching the end of the car's life. This saddens me, because I genuinely enjoy my 2006 Ford Focus, despite its flaws. Since I've owned it, I've taken good care of it, but it's unclear how the original owner treated it. I would say "fair," which leads me to believe the car would probably run better had it been babied its whole life. Honestly, though, what percentage of people deliver optimum maintenance on a timely basis to their cars? This is definitely a car that requires it, as the quality of the build just can't withstand time as well as others. All in all, it's a good, cheap car. If you can find one that has been taken care of and has less than 120,000 miles on it, snatch it up! You'll love it. Just realize that this will not be a car that you can drive years and years into the future."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Hands down best car I owned

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great on Gas, Handlles well, Hatch very convenient"

Cons: "None at all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car in '05 with 24000 miles for $8000. Have owned several other similar Ford Focuses also very good. It is a hatchback so I sold my truck. Car has been very reliable and easy to drive, easy to park, and gets 33 to 34 miles per gallon. If you buy one, do as I have done and stick with the Zetec Dual Overhead Cam (DOHC) and avoid the SOHC Split Port Motor as they had some major engine issues. Great little car and lots of fun to drive too. Highly Recommended !"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

very happy with this car!

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great gas mileage!"

Cons: "seats could be more comfortable, miss cruise contr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Really good car, like the way it drives, looks great, and I am so happy with my gas mileage vs my old car."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 392 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Focus near Honolulu. See local deals