Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2009 Ford F450 Super Duty Crew Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.5
Out of 10

Based on 34 Ratings for the 2008 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    6.6/10
    Quality
    6.9/10
  • Reliability
    6.9/10
    Performance
    7.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

This is tough

By on Thursday, June 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior very good and it will tow anything!"

Cons: "Price, durability, fuel economy, maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This truck will pull anything but the pricetag makes it unaffordable for most, the engine has some features that make it less than reliable. Ford has managed to take it's best engine ever (the venerable 7.3)and make it a pedestrian engine (6.4l) that needs constant maintenance and high dollar repairs. The particulate trap plugs up and has a burn cycle built into it. Many take it out and tune it which is about a $1500 add. 19.5 inch tires are very expensive, fuel economy is as bad as it gets at about 13 - 14 empty and under 10 when towing. Expect engine repairs or replacement before 150k. Why would put a 5.4 in an F-450? The interior is very roomy and can accomodate a family easily enough but for the pricetag you could buy 2 SUVs and use about the same amount of fuel. Then there's the issue of insurance. Try finding an insurance agent that knows how or is willing to write a non-commercial policy for one of these. It's hard to find"

12 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Bad Bad Bad truck cannot be said loud enough

By on Tuesday, June 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Absolutely NONE"

Cons: "Broke down every 2 months minimum"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought the 2011 F450 new. It is used as a commercial truck and now has close to 200k miles. Engine has been replaced twice. Turbo has been replaced 5 times. I also have same year 1 tons of other brands that have had zero issues doing the same commercial job."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this big obnoxious truck!

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power"

Cons: "Fuel Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Big Obnoxoius"

"Pulls anything you want to pull! I pull a 40' fifth wheel RV with no problems. The emmissions system is terrible resulting in terrible fuel mileage. Depending on where you live, if you can, remove it, get a programmer, exhaust, and air intake and you should be quite happy with the Ford 6.4. If not, you probably won't! I love this thing! I call it "Big Obnoxious" because that's what it is. Comfortable on long rides, tons of power (with the add ons), and it looks great while doing it!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

"Big Obnoxoius"

Great truck, awesome power!

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great power, luxury inside!"

Cons: "Fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have this truck as a work/farm truck. It has awesome power, great turn radius, luxury inside, but sure takes the fuel. We have the 5 speed automatic. When cruising on the interstate, it could use another gear. 2011 and up do have 6 speed automatics."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Tows ANYTHING!!

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great tow vehicle, solid strong truck, rides well"

Cons: "diesel mpg not great due to smog stuff"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best tow vehicle ever - pulls a 20,000lb toyhauler easily"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford F450 Super Duty Crew Cab near Honolulu. See local deals