Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Editors' Page: 2014 Pickup Trucks
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2009 Ford F450 Super Duty Crew Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.3
Out of 10

Based on 32 Ratings for the 2008 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    6.4/10
    Quality
    6.8/10
  • Reliability
    6.8/10
    Performance
    6.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25

So far, a great truck

By on Tuesday, February 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In January 2013, I flew from Alaska to Phoenix to get a 2010 Lariat SD with 22,000 miles and drive it back up to Alaska. While passing through Las Vegas I purchased a 24' enclosed car hauler and while in Washington, purchase an Audi All-Wheel that fit nicely in inside the trailer and about 2,000 lbs of sand bags to put in the 8' bed. The 450 had no problem pulling the load, the handling was like driving a car, the interior was quite comfortable with no mechanical or electrical issues all the way to my home in Eagle River, AK. Since then, I have pulled my 28' Trophy to and from Prince William Sound, Resurrection and Kachemak Bays and have seen as much as 17.2 MPG on one return from PWS with my boat in tow. The Seward Hwy into and south of Turnagain Pass if full of long steep grades and frost heaves. On one weekend fishing trip to PWS, I had 4 other men that rode along (I am 215 lbs and the smallest of all 5) even though it was snug for the 3 in the back seat, they all commented on the roominess as not being overly cramped. The weekend resulted in taking home shrimp, octopus, halibut, cod, rockfish and salmon. I have owned a 1967 F250 Custom 2x with a 10' Cab over camper, 1992 F350 4x with a 9' fisher plow and sand spreader and a 2006 F250 SD 4x4. I have been please with the reliability and performance on all of them."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY THIS TRUCK!

By on Saturday, December 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Looks awsome, gets attention, pleanty of power whe"

Cons: "too many to list in 50 characters"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Worst truck I have ever owned, and I have owned all of fords heavy trucks since 1996. This one id the abs. worst, in shop more than out(NO I am not exaggerating) I have turned it over to my lawyers to go after the dealership and ford trucks. Funny how lemon law does not apply to this truck because it is concidered commercial. I am going Dodge from now on."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love it, absolutely love it.

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, reliability, roomy comfort."

Cons: "Tight suspension when not hauling or towing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Picked up a new 2012 F-450 fall of 2011 to tow travel trailer and toy hauler. It is a dream pulling with this beast. We have been from one end of the country to the other and even way up North in Canada. The gas mileage varies from 10 mpg to 17 mpg depending on what I am towing and how "green" my driving is that day. The instant feedback full economy display really helps temper my desire to exercise the engine. The ride is much better when towing but is still tolerable when not towing (just don't have full cans of soda or full cups of coffee in the drink holders if you don't have some weight in back). I would highly recommend the towing package. My kids have lots of room in the back seat and enjoy the after factory ceiling mounted DVD player. My wife rides shotgun and enjoys the roomy front seats and being able to play her iPod through the sound system. I regret not upgrading the electronics package and getting an in the dash GPS - however the Sync turn by turn system does work very well. Lesson learned. Normally I replace my truck every two years or so, right around the 60K mile mark. I might hang on to this one a little longer than usual. We'll see if it remains trouble free."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This is tough

By on Thursday, June 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior very good and it will tow anything!"

Cons: "Price, durability, fuel economy, maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This truck will pull anything but the pricetag makes it unaffordable for most, the engine has some features that make it less than reliable. Ford has managed to take it's best engine ever (the venerable 7.3)and make it a pedestrian engine (6.4l) that needs constant maintenance and high dollar repairs. The particulate trap plugs up and has a burn cycle built into it. Many take it out and tune it which is about a $1500 add. 19.5 inch tires are very expensive, fuel economy is as bad as it gets at about 13 - 14 empty and under 10 when towing. Expect engine repairs or replacement before 150k. Why would put a 5.4 in an F-450? The interior is very roomy and can accomodate a family easily enough but for the pricetag you could buy 2 SUVs and use about the same amount of fuel. Then there's the issue of insurance. Try finding an insurance agent that knows how or is willing to write a non-commercial policy for one of these. It's hard to find"

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Bad Bad Bad truck cannot be said loud enough

By on Tuesday, June 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Absolutely NONE"

Cons: "Broke down every 2 months minimum"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought the 2011 F450 new. It is used as a commercial truck and now has close to 200k miles. Engine has been replaced twice. Turbo has been replaced 5 times. I also have same year 1 tons of other brands that have had zero issues doing the same commercial job."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this big obnoxious truck!

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power"

Cons: "Fuel Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Big Obnoxoius"

"Pulls anything you want to pull! I pull a 40' fifth wheel RV with no problems. The emmissions system is terrible resulting in terrible fuel mileage. Depending on where you live, if you can, remove it, get a programmer, exhaust, and air intake and you should be quite happy with the Ford 6.4. If not, you probably won't! I love this thing! I call it "Big Obnoxious" because that's what it is. Comfortable on long rides, tons of power (with the add ons), and it looks great while doing it!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

"Big Obnoxoius"

Great truck, awesome power!

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great power, luxury inside!"

Cons: "Fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have this truck as a work/farm truck. It has awesome power, great turn radius, luxury inside, but sure takes the fuel. We have the 5 speed automatic. When cruising on the interstate, it could use another gear. 2011 and up do have 6 speed automatics."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Tows ANYTHING!!

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great tow vehicle, solid strong truck, rides well"

Cons: "diesel mpg not great due to smog stuff"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best tow vehicle ever - pulls a 20,000lb toyhauler easily"

great truck

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is definitely a mission built vehicle. I pull a 5th wheel that weighs in at 17,000 lbs and this is an ideal vehicle for the task. The cabin is very comfortable and well designed. The truck has plenty of power and has been very reliable. If you're looking for something that rides like a luxury car, this is not for you. If you're looking for something that gets 25 mpg,again, this is not for you. If you're looking for a powerful, dependable tow/haul vehicle, this is your truck."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love it

By on Thursday, November 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "One bad Truck"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Don't get to use it enough"

Not a reliable truck

By on Thursday, November 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Good looking truck"

Cons: "Not reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This truck spent more time in the shop then it did on the road. it would always break down at the most inconvenient time."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A brute, but thirsty

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Pulling/Hauling capabilities. Turing radius"

Cons: "Thirsty without modifications."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my F450 dually for two years. Does everything I ask of it except pass a fuel stop. I didn't get it for its economy. I have a 14000# fifth-wheel trailer and a 4000# truck camper. It movers either of these with ease. I would say though that a larger exhaust system, cold air intake, and a programmer have made this truck a little more economical. These upgrades paid for themselves in less than a year. The biggest suprize that I had was the handling. Rides nice and turns in a significantly shorter radius than my previous F350 dually."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

08'-10' F450 BIG DOG DADDY

By on Sunday, September 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everyone acknowledges this truck, even 2011 F450's!"

Cons: "Ride is a little harsh with only a bag of groceries in back, mpg less than an F150"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My gosh I don't get the complaints about ride and fuel economy! This truck was made to do one thing...handle extreme payloads like no other non cab"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Should have kept my 99

By on Monday, August 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "??"

Cons: "gas mileage, repairs, warranty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Short and sweet, had a 99 F350 and loved it, have an 08 F450 and hate it! Threee radiators, 4 thermostats, 1 transmission, still leaking from radiator, at best 10 mpg if I am careful. Save your money, I have owned a Ford for 12 years and as soon as I get rid of this truck I won't own one again."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

worst truck ever

By on Tuesday, April 19, 2011

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"no power and even less fuel econ"

Will tow anything in comfort

By on Sunday, April 10, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Towed 16,000 lb fifth wheel through the mountains and desert, never blinked, but alos never missed a fuel stop. 'A real workhorse."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

2011 f450 is awesome

By on Thursday, February 17, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have the new 6.7 engine i get 14around town and 17 hwy. Havn't towed anything super heavy yet. Mine iskingranch loaded with ac in seats sun roof microsoft sync system, I driveit when i dont need to because it is so comfortable. Much better ride than my 08 f450 i traded for this one. Turn signals weird wontstayon when you want them to and stay on after lane change and come on when u dim the lights"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, February 05, 2011

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Comfortable but Drinks Fuel!

By on Thursday, January 20, 2011

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"First Ford I've ever owned, far superior interior and ride to Chevy, but the 6.4 was a BIG mistake. Three DPF's in the first 15,000 miles, cab removed for exhaust leak, #5 injector replaced five times before they figured out the harness was bad, rear differential replaced at 600 miles. Bugs are gone now, but only gets 7mpg towing and 10 empty. Had to add a 90 gallon auxillary tank to go more than 200 miles between fill ups towing."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, December 01, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

DONT BUY THIS TRUCK!

By on Wednesday, October 13, 2010

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"BEAUTIFUL TRUCK BUT NEVER HAD A WORSE TRUCK IN MY LIFE! ENGINE HAS BEEN REPLACED TWICE, IT CANT TOW, OVERHEATS, ETC. ETC."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, September 07, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"great truck most relieable and longest lasting.dont buy a silvardo hd buy a ford superduty."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, August 22, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, August 20, 2010

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

"to many mechanic problem,spend fuel like a semitruck"

Toy Hauler

By on Saturday, August 14, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"Over all truck is great..when you buy a 450 you know your not getting any fuel mileage..when I bought mine the dealer told me straight up..7mpg hauling and 10 open and he was right..its made to haul not to cruise in. It's everything I knew I was getting!!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford F450 Super Duty Crew Cab near Honolulu. See local deals