Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2005 Ford F350 Super Duty Super Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 329 Ratings for the 2005 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 66 | Next

buyer beware

By on Saturday, November 27, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"The only problem is the 6.0l diesel. The cooling system is a poor design at best. I did not find this out until I purchased the truck. The oil cooler passages are too small and plug very easily. The oil then gets too hot and cracks the EGR and you get turbo failure. Every single 6.0 will have this problem. The ONLY fix is a coolant filter, a aftermarket EGR, and a aftermarket oil cooler. If you thinking of buying one with a 6.0L, take it to your mechanic and have the oil temp checked. It should be within 10 to 15deg of the water temp. Also use only Motorcraft oil filters. They are a way better filter. I am writing this because I got screwed buying my truck from a dealer, they know the problems"

17 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Know what you've got

By on Sunday, August 31, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned 2 of these trucks, the first was an '05 and the second is an '06. I had the first truck for nearly a year and several problems with the engine, I blame that on the fact that it was an early '05 model truck and hadn't had all the bug worked out of it yet. I put 105,000 miles on that one and traded it for an '06. I've had this one for nearly 3 years now with nearly 200,000 rough miles, and haven't had it in the shop for anything other than oil changes. The main thing is to keep up with the maintainence and know how to use these trucks the way they are intended."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

6.0 Diesel not reliable

By on Saturday, July 07, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I like the way my truck looks and handles loads (suspension wise anyways). I like the interior aswell. I believe that the 6 liter diesel does not accomodate the size of my vehicle or the payload possibilities. Turbos do not make up for cubic inches. I buy 350's to work and tow and so far I have had trouble with all three of my diesel trucks. My troubles range from blown headgaskets to turbo trouble and guess what when you have to put your heavyduty truck into the shop for weeks at a time they want to loan you a F150 or a car."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

trouble free and heavy duty

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"drive and pull trailers all the time. have replace one rear caliper in all those miles nothing else but tires and the rear brakes every 70000, never has needed the fronts. It's lifted and programmed wouldn't trade it for another. My truck is loaded and have no troubles or even replaced a bulb. It did need batteries but it I've had it since 05 maintenance is the key"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

After 100000 miles...

By on Saturday, July 19, 2008

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Up to 100,000 miles great. After that, not so good. Between 105,000 and 145,000, I have put $6,000 into major mecanical repairs, injector control pump, colloing system, and AC system. This truck is no longer reliable enough for me."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 66 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford F350 Super Duty Super Cab near Honolulu. See local deals