Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

1999 Ford F350 Super Duty Crew Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 612 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

'01 super duty crewcab shortbox srw 7.3-good truck

By on Monday, January 14, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Had a few issues-I've had were ball-joints at about 130,000 and the steering stabilizer shock disintigrated at about 150,000. The plastic fan cracked somewhere around 140,000 and caused the water pump to go. Changed it myself-not the easiest truck to work on, but all in all it's been good. Starts without being plugged in down to about 0 degrees...anything lower than that you better have some form of heater. Great ride-headlights could be a little better. I've put a grill guard and two sets of aftermarket driving/fog light on to compensate for a bit of a grey spot in the high beams...they throw light out a long ways but don't light up the road directly in front of you as much as I'd like. I've hit 5 deer with mine, and extent of the damage has been that I've had to replace the plastic bumper cover on the front, and re-attach the fog lights. Pulls a 10,000 lb skid steer and 5,000lbs worth of attachments on a trailer respectably. It's GREAT in snow. It's heavy enough to hold the road nice, but it's a little squirrelly on black ice, but not the worst I've driven. The sulfur in the exhaust has done bad things to the paint(discolored/made it fall off) where the factory exhaust pipe exits- I put a slightly longer tip on it and seems to have ended the abuse. Very comfortable and predictable handling. Easy to perform maintenance on(oil/grease/fluids). The only other issue is that the rear doors on the crew cab really like to freeze shut in the winter if you don't use them for a day or two and you leave it outside-not sure what that's about. The last issue I have is that it's near impossible to reach something out of the box from the ground unless it's right on the outside edge. I'm 6'4 and can't reach in much past the wheelwell. One other recommended upgrade is to install a 2" front levelling kit- A simple 'add-a-leaf' is what I went with and it makes a world of difference on the handling in the corners and curvy roads and stiffens the front end a little so it doesn't seem to want to wander as bad. It was less than $100 and not too hard to install. I've put on nearly 90,000 on this truck, and the maintenance issues I mentioned earlier were an expected thing since this truck is used as a truck. Bottom line- if I had the decision to buy this truck over again, I would."

26 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Best trucks ever made

By on Sunday, April 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We have owned these trucks for about 4.5 years. We have a 2000 Ford F-350 crew/longbed & a 2003 Ford F-350 crew/long bed dually and they both have the 7.3L. These trucks both have over 150xxxmiles & run like a top. Never had problems. When we moved to Missouri from Montana we towed 22,000Lbs back with us in a 36ft trailer & it's like it wasn't even back there. They are both chipped with Bullydog exuast system on them which emproves the diesel milage by about 2-3 mpg. Plus it adds 100hp which really comes in handy. We have a freind that went and bought a new 2006 Ford F-350 with the 6.0L & it got 9mpg and at 5,000mi it started having top end problems. Then we went to test drive a new 2008 Ford with the 6.4 and we went 5mi and we used 1gallon of diesel. 5MPG!!! It was the worst truck ever. Stay away from the 6.0 & 6.4L Powerstrokes."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Excellent 6.0L

By on Sunday, February 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, fun to drive, beautiful truck"

Cons: "others are scared of the 6.0L (great engine)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchase this vehicle new. This truck has never let us down. Wish the 6.0 didnt have a bad rap because this has been the best truck for our family. Everyone (family & friends) enjoys the truck for comfort, looks, reliability. Down fall the KBB value has it valued at about $4k more than what i am unable to sell for."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Most Longest Lasting Truck EVER!!!

By on Sunday, September 14, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I own a 2003 F-350 with the 7.3L Powerstroke Diesel and we have a pressure lock on the transmission and the engine SUPERCHIPED and it is the best truck ever. It's quiet and has more power than it could ever want. 20MPG towing or not. If you buy a Ford SuperDuty I Strongly Suggest that you put a Pressure Lock on the Torqshift auto transmission beacuse Ford designs them to slip a little for comfort and it eventually ruends the trans. because I had to rebuild my 2000 with the same set up. The lock eliminates the slipping and Gits-R-Done. Thats all I have to say. Other than that it a GREAT TRUCK."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Good truck

By on Sunday, October 28, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2002 F350, 7.3L Diesel, Automatic, 4x4 off road, 3.73 ratio axle, single wheel, extended cab. Purchased used with 80,000 miles, cam sensor and injection driver module went out at 95,000 but the Ford warranty coverd the repairs. Otherwise I have had no problems with it. I do all the maintenance myself (oil change, lube, transmission/transfer case service, filters, etc.). The truck has pulled anything I hook it up to, hauls it all, goes anywhere I need to go, has never left me stranded even in the coldest weather(I seldom plug it in and i never park it inside and it can get a little cold here in northern Missouri). I get 18mpg empty and with most loads, it drops to 16 with a 24' goosneck loaded with hay. I drive it like it was meant to be driven, the truck is meant to work, not race(although it will get up and go) I trust this ruck to get me around. It now has 170,000 on it and still running strong, I expect at least 350,000 from my truck."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford F350 Super Duty Crew Cab near Honolulu. See local deals