Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1999 Ford F150 Super Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 1047 Ratings for the 1997 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 42 | Next

Best Truck Ever!

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My father bought this truck brand new in 1998 and the ONLY major problem was the manifold bolts rotting off, which is a very common problem. I have always loved the truck so he gave it to me when he got his next truck (the only reason for this being he needed more seating). This truck has never broken down on the side of the road even while it has been used hard by an avid outdoors man and contractor for 14 years. It has great off road capabilities and towing power, yet still handles well. The engine never fails to start and the transmission never slips or grinds even on fast take offs with a boat trailer and a bed filled to the cap with hunting and fishing supplies. The only downfall of this great vehicle is obviously the gas mileage of the 5.4 liter V8. But all in all this is a REAL truck and not for people who are overly concerned with gas mileage."

18 people out of 18 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Friday, January 08, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"260000 miles and still running great, heater core is only major repair $800 at dealer,,back window leaked for last 10 yrs"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, February 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have almost 180,000 miles on my truck and I haven't had to do any major repairs. It's comfortable enough for long highway trips and the four wheel drive can take me almost anywhere. I've never had any problems with it starting and Iv'e gotten 18+ m.p.g. a few times. I've had it for over four years and will probably have it for four more. And it was used when I got it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Tuesday, February 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought the 1998 F-150 new almost 12 years ago and have put 258,000 miles on the truck with very few repairs. I just bought a new 2010 Ford F-150. Awesome truck. Take care of them and they take care of you. Engine and transmission are still strong."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Monday, January 04, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"mine has over 330000 and still running like new"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

"Built Ford Tough" is right

By on Wednesday, November 14, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought the truck brand new. Fell in love with it ever since then. I have worked it hard and maiteained it well. Driven over 182,000 miles on it so far without any major mechanical failure. The engine (4.6 litre) hasn't missed a beat. I've hauled 2000 ilbs over 500 miles with no noticeable damage to the truck. The engine doesn't burn any oil. The power of the engine is exactly the same when I bought it new. The gas mielage for a V-8 truck is the best in its class. Can't go wrong with this vehicle. I get it now, the reason the F150 has been the best selling truck model now for over 40 years."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Hate, hate selling this truck..loved it.

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Maintained, garaged, looks good, great price"

Cons: "A scrape of passenger side wheel, gas mileage high"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

Beloved 1998 F 150 Super Cab

"This has been a very reliable handy truck(and attractive) We have hauled lumber, plants, kids, animals, furniture, moved homes and offices. You always have friends, when you own a truck. This F150 super cab, has been garaged the whole time and maintained pretty well."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Beloved 1998 F 150 Super Cab

Good vehicle

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, fun to drive"

Cons: "gas prices are a little high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought vehicle and was very happy with it. I am unable to get in any longer. Forced to change vehicles and want to recommend this one for anyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable Truck

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 263,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cheap to own for a truck, Great offroad, Reliable"

Cons: "Gas tank is too small. JK"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My truck is 2 owner with 263000 miles on the motor and has been reliable for me everyday and I don't drive her easy. Aftermarket exhaust and big tires are an easy way for this truck to impress you."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

wont be surprised if it makes it to 300k

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 237,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable and strong"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck for 5k in 2005 with 175k but it already had a new transmission. I replaced the ball joints, #4 coil and a new intake thats it and this truck just won't quit. You can load a scoop of sand on it one day and take it from So Cal to Vegas the next, no problem. And it is such a comfortable ride. Has never let me down."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

An Amazing Truck

By on Friday, April 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 290,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "When you need speed you got it! Power to spare."

Cons: "gas mileage not so great, but never a concern"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck new in 1998 in Decatur, Al at a dealer that is no longer there. I traded in a Chevy Scottsdale pickup due to excessive mechanical difficulties and not really knowing much about Ford trucks. I have now been driving my F-150 back and forth from Birmingham to Huntsville on a regular basis for many years and it has never broken down. It has been the best and most reliable truck one could ever imagine and i would not hesitate to recommend a Ford pickup to anyone. I hate to give it up but am going to by a new F-150 within the next month."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

1999 Ford F150 XLT Triton V8 5.4

By on Tuesday, March 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Honestly i love this truck! it has been very dependable no major problems. When i first bought the truck i was iffy so to speak due to my past experience with Ford vehicles. The truck turned out to be great it had the check engine light on and was fixed within days just some minor air leaks. overall the parts i have added are CAI, Dual 15 Electric fans, 33 MT tires, alpine deck with all new alpine speakers with 2 Kicker CVR and 3000 watt mono. also had fuel economy tune with a DSC chip so instead of the 11 MPG i get about 17 in town which is fantastic for a full size truck with a v8 and 4x4"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best value and reliability vehicle I ever bought

By on Tuesday, November 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, fuel consumption, comfort"

Cons: "A little clumsy in the parking lot."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"A reliable vehicle that seldom needs anything. My v6 5-speed is great on gas for its size and has plenty of power to do any normal task. My first set of tires lasted 160,000 miles. It didn't need spark plugs until after 150,000 miles, and the factory battery lasted 12 years (!). It's not like I never asked the truck to do anything, either. I've hauled loads of furniture, firewood, and other things sometimes hundreds of miles. Among the things that I've never had to service are: clutch/transmission exhaust system rear end Ford might equal the overall value of this truck, but they will never surpass it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best vehicle I ever owned

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "just keeps going and going"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this truck is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned, just keeps going"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I can depend on it leaving me stranded

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Comfortable to sit in while waiting for a tow"

Cons: "Not reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've been a long loyal ford man but this truck changed my mind! I bought the truck with 7,000 miles on it and got a great deal, $10,000 in 2001. at 10,000 miles the transmission went out. At 28,000 miles the front end needed totally rebuilt. At 30,000 miles the transmission went out again, and I bought an extended warranty. at 40,000 miles the oil pump went out and the front end needed rebuilt again. At 49,000 miles the shift solenoid went out in the transmission. Then at 94,000 miles the engine went out. Now at 114,000 miles it needs a new injector and the front end rebuilt again. I guess I was spoiled by my Rainger i owned before the F-150. it gave me 285,000 miles needing little more than oil changes, brakes, and a coupple of clutches."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

AWESOME

By on Sunday, December 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very Dependable"

Cons: "Gas Cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only had to do regular maintenance. After owning a chevy before this Ford , I will always be a FORD GIRL"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very Reliable

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this truck 14 years. Never left me stranded. Runs well with normal maintenance. Would buy another. Plan on getting a new one when this hits 200k."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

After 14 years running good - showing age.

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, tough, wears well."

Cons: "Rear window is terrible and seats are poor."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Over all has been a good truck. Front wheel bearings replaced, should have done earlier. Affected tire wear. Wear on buttons and interior good. Negatives: Rear sliding window has leaked for years due to poor Ford design - should have been recalled. I hate the seats. Can never get comfortable - back of seat is the issue. I would buy another Ford - Car or Truck."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this truck!

By on Monday, October 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "needs latchdowns for carseats in the backseat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We got this truck in 09 and have never looked back. This truck is so wonderful, comfortable to ride in and performs great. The only thing I find a pain is that although it fits 6 people comfortably, it is a tight squeeze when 2 are in carseats. Overall this truck is very dependable and we love it!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

F150 1998 Best Vehicle I have owned

By on Saturday, May 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have 1998 F150 with 154,000 miles I have owned since it had 3,700. Best vehicle I have ever owned. AC still works great, no leaks of any kind. I have kept up with all the routine maintennce including every 25,000 to 30,000 transmission flush. It is better than the Mazda 626 and Nissan Maxima I have owned."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

my ford

By on Sunday, May 23, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 98 f-150 with 16400 miles on it in 06 my first truck. its 2wd long bed. i had to put a starter, idle pulley, gas tank strap, and cab corners on it. i got 222,000 miles on it now( hard miles). those years the rust is bad but i did body work and put acceseries on it and took a plain jane truck to a stylie sharp looking truck. the motor does not use oil and great porformance had good luck and no complaints."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very Reliable

By on Friday, February 26, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"This vehicle I bought new in 2000. I have only had to do the normal oil changes, a coupld of headlights, and 2 sets of tires. That is it! Very reliable!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Friday, February 26, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I really liked my truck. Its had some exhaust issues. Ford used studs instead of bolts and they tend to break off along with some rusting. (living in high salt rust belt area doesnt help) Been a dependable truck for what i've paid and put into it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

97 ford f-150

By on Sunday, January 31, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"reliable, v-6 engine plenty of power, big interior,quiet,great ai conditioning,rate a a+ .also it gets 21 m.p. gallon which is great for a full size truck.106,000 miles and many more to go.WHY PAY TOYOTA PRICE FOR PARTS .STICK WITH REAL QUALITY.FORD CHEVY OR DODGE."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Built Ford Tough is True!

By on Thursday, January 21, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have a 2000 Ford f-150 XLT 4.6. Best vehicle ever owned! All original parts with the exception of 1 spark plug and normal maintenance (brake pads, oil/trans change). 144,000 miles on this vehicle and still runs strong. Has never broke down on the side of the road and it sure has towed alot. You can take your chance on another auto company or stick with the built ford tough. I'll match my good old Ford truck to a another any day of the week! P.S. This vehicle is driven at the Ford Testing Grounds in 120 degree heat daily and has never once over heated."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 42 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford F150 Super Cab near Honolulu. See local deals