Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2002 Ford F150 Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1356 Ratings for the 2001 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Good truck - Do your research though

By on Wednesday, April 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "True work horse, rather easy to maintain"

Cons: "Blow out plugs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"The 2001 F-150 is a great truck to own. It's rather easy to maintain and has a good life if you keep up with the preventative maintenance. The cab is comfortable; although, it is nothing like the cab of new truck. There are flaws with this truck that any informed buyer should research before buying one. The biggest flaw is that Ford designed the spark plugs with only 5 threads. This led to these trucks being know to have "blowout plugs" given their tendency to blow out over time. If they blow out you are faced with either having the hole retapped and having them sleeved (the cheap way to fix it) or buying new heads (the pricey way to fix it). There are aftermarket sleeves that extend the threading as well as aftermarket heads that have deeper threads, but unless you are extremely familiar with mechanics I wouldn't suggest trying either of these options. Given that the plugs are recessed in the valve covers, plug 4 and plug 8 can be exceptionally hard to get to. They are also prone to snapping off given the angle that a wrench is typically held to change them. If you take it in for a tuneup to save yourself effort, you're looking at about $450. If you change the plugs yourself, it is imperative that you use a torque wrench to torque them down properly. Over-torquing or under-torquing the plugs is an almost guaranteed way to have a blow out plug. Even with this flaw, it's still a good truck that has served me and my family exceptionally well. Parts are easy to find and pretty cheap now. Given the amount of these trucks out there, you can also easily find replacement parts at a junkyard if you wish. I would make sure to ask if the plugs have ever blown out before you buy one though. If they have blown before be extremely thorough on your questioning of how it was repaired. Sloppy repairs are likely to lead to another blow out. Anything from 1999-2004 may potentially have this design."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great truck. i was blessed with this vehicle

By on Sunday, April 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable to drive"

Cons: "items fallin between the seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck runs great. Have not done anything major to it or paid expensive parts, yet. All I have done are minor tune-ups and it still runs beautiful. Like the saying goes,"take care of it and it will take care of you." Bought the truck at 70.000 miles now at 108.000. I'm driving the freeway most of the time, check the air on your tires, and this truck roars like a lion on and off the freeway. I enjoy my truck very much."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very comfortable ride and very dependable.

By on Sunday, April 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never let me down. Opposite the Chevys I owned"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never regreted buying this truck. If any truck comesd close it might be the Toyota Tundra."

Great truck with no complaints

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, durability, and comfort"

Cons: "fuel cost when towing and no build in bluetooth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased the truck for a great prices with a little over a 100,000 miles and I have put on another 130,000. Normal high mileage repairs (alternator at 120,00 and fuel pump at 130,000)with no other issues. I have been putting around 120 to 150 miles per day 5 days a week with occasional towing on the weekends. Surprisingly I have had no transmission issues. I was expecting a transmission job by 200,000 miles but no issues. Great truck. Would not hesitate to buy another one with high miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable until 150,000 mi.

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
1/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "roomey and comfortable.4wd is handy with towing."

Cons: "Dont keep too long or is a money pit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"spark plugs are very difficult to change and can break off. .Tailgate pin rusted off at 150000 mi.Hard cover broke off along time ago and seals were no good.Money pit after 150,000 mi.replaced heater motor,u joints and coils (often)electrical shortage.Lower doors rusted.Both front and rear wind shields leak water.at 150,000 mi. is a drain on finances due to still paying a loan as well as costly repairs.When gas prices are high is expensive to drive very far or regularly like to work.Bought a CAR and truck sat as much as possible untill gas prices came back down."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent condition

By on Thursday, April 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,708

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Dealer maintained. Parked off street in driveway. Premium topper with side opening windows. Rhino bed lining."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

i love my truck

By on Sunday, April 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all good"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought it with 11,000 miles in 2007 got 37,000 now still like new"

Very good truck

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, reliable, powerful"

Cons: "Likes gas! And rides badly on rough roads."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my '03 F-150 for about 4 years. It's been a great truck, and my only issues with it have been minor. Literally in 30,000 miles (it had 113K, now 143K) I've had to replace a battery, the tires, and two emission control hoses. The power locks quit working, as did the overhead console compass/temp display, but those aren't really big deals. (And they're common.) I'm about to go through it and do new brakes. I'm not entirely sure they're not the originals now on the truck! The V8 engine (4.6 Liter) has plenty of power. I've towed a 5,000-lb. travel trailer without much difficulty. For normal driving, you've got all the power you need, maybe more than. My only complaints are that it rides roughly on bad pavement and that it could be better on gas around town. But on long road trips it's comfortable and gets 18-20 MPG. So I can't really gripe too much."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

GREAT TRUCK-BUY ONE IF YOU CAN

By on Sunday, March 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Better chance of surviving a crash in this truck."

Cons: "Not the best on gas around town."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great truck that is fun and easy to drive. Long trips are a snap. Hard to find one that someone wants to sell."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nice Truck

By on Saturday, March 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4WD excellent, roomy, great driving position"

Cons: "gas mileage, loud cabin"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Only owned the truck for about a year (just purchased an '08 F150) and I was very happy with it. WE got a ton of snow this year and my truck was a beast in dealing with it. The 4WD works excellent. The cabin is nice and roomy and the gauges are easy to read. Plenty of storage throughout the vehicle. I have the 5.4L and it has plenty of power. Never towed anything with it so I can not comment on that aspect. I think it is an excellent truck. You just have to worry about the regular issues of rust with a truck this old."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

First ford and best ford ever

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 272,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was looking for a new car and was talked into buying my truck and i do not like a lot of trucks being a sports car guy. But after living with it for a few years i love my truck it has never had 1 issue just regular maintenance. Its comfy, spacious, has a bit of power and actually isn't that bad on gas. I will never drive any other truck now i love it that much and my miles keep climbing but the truck stays strong ^___^"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, and it's fun and comfortable to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Extremely dependable. Never any major problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good solid truck

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good shape both interior and exterior"

Cons: "needs front end work and a cleaning"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"A great truck for a first vehicle or someone wanting a work truck."

good solid truck

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good shape both interior and exterior"

Cons: "needs front end work and a cleaning"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"A great truck for a first vehicle or someone wanting a work truck."

GREAT TRUCK

By on Sunday, March 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck since it was new. I have maintained this vehicle very well. I have not had any problems with it at all."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love all the bells and whistles esp seat warmers

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, seat warmers, 4 bucket seats"

Cons: "14 miles to the gallon ugggg!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I never thought I would buy a ford, but the Harley davidson model truck far exceeded my expectations. This truck has the smoothest ride of any vehicle I have driven. Love the seat warmers, great visibility, love the front and back storage areas between the seats, I could go on and on. The only thing I don't like is the gas mileage I don't know if it is because mine has a blower but I average 14 miles to the gallon- mostly highway mileage. Wish I knew if there was something I could do to get better gas mileage?"

3 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Going to Drive it Until it Quits

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "Can't buy a new one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought this truck new in 2002 and don't see why I won't keep driving it until 22. With 140,000 miles, this truck has never had to see the inside of an auto shop for anything other than an oil change. It obviously doesn't have all the bells and whistles on the inside that trucks are coming with now but it still drives like its new. I still see quite a few people in my area driving almost the exact same model which I think says a lot about the quality of a 13 year old truck."

1 person out of 10 found this review helpful

GREAT TRUCK

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "ALL AROUND GREAT...TOWING, HAULING TAKING WIFE OUT"

Cons: "NOT A THING"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"LOVE THIS TRUCK....GETTING THE ITCH TO BUY A NEW TRUCK"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliablility"

Cons: "no center posts between front & rear doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Mileage is 205K and never had it break down. Just normal regular maintenance."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great except for travel trailers

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "5.4 L engine for travel trailer towing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had mine 10 years. Has required tires and regular maintenance. I'd keep it forever except I bought a travel trailer. The 5.4 L engine is OK, except in the uphill mountain country. Not enough HP or torque for that use."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

best truck ever, period.

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very comfortable, quick acceleration, drives easy"

Cons: "a little better mpg."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Other than normal maintenance,I have never had a problem with this truck. I bought it with 37,000 miles on it,has 123,000 plus and still going like new. I do landscaping and haul a lot of really heavy stuff, this has handled it with ease. Ford really nailed it with this one. Love it big time."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I loved my truck. Owned it for 10.5 yrs.

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck was a great fit- very comfortable ride for our family of four.Very, very reliable. Extremely Smooth ride - this truck ate up the miles - it loved the highway and handled great. pulled trailers of firewood and a 35' manlift easily. Ice storm last week totaled the truck while my daughter was driving. The truck protected her! I am very sad to see my old friend go. We had a lot of great memories on family camping trips, vacation, etc.. Good job Ford - I plan on buying another SuperCrew."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

hate the rear seats (buckets)

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun driver, lots of power (supercharged) great"

Cons: "fuel 12 MPG high test only"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the truck, very limited, can go months without seeing another one."

Great vehicle-would buy another one today...

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great truck! I would buy another one today, if I could afford one. No real issues in 12 years. I bought it new and have taken care of it. I think it will last quite a while longer!"

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I WILL DRIVE IT UNTIL IT STOPS IN ITS TRACKS.

By on Thursday, December 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "I HAVE OWNED THIS TRUCK NEW 12 YEARS NOW."

Cons: "ONLY REAL COMPLAINT, INTERIOR HAS NOT HELD UP WELL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"JUNE 2014, I JUST PUT ON NEW FRONT & REAR BRAKES & 3rd-SET OF TIRES W/82,500 MILES. HAD THE "BLOW OUT SPARK PLUG" PROBLEM FIXED(ALL 8 PLUGS BORED OUT AND REPLACED FOR ABOUT $550.00. SEEMS 2001, 2002 & 2003 MODELS HAD THIS PROBLEM. RUNNING GREAT, THE RETAIL SELLING PRICE REALLY DROPPED IN 2015. ABOVE BETTER THAN GOOD CONDITION INSIDE & OUT. THEY WILL PROBABLY THROW DIRT ON ME FIRST BEFORE MY TRUCK IS RETIRED."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford F150 Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals