Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1999 Ford F150 Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 1018 Ratings for the 1997 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 41 | Next

This is the best truck I've owned!!

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 257,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable,"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck with 148k miles on it in 2005 it now has 257k miles and still runs great. The previous owner took well care of this truck. I've replaced a few worn out parts in the last few years, but the engine runs great with no leaks or drips. Just remember oil and filters are cheaper than parts . Will keep this one even with the 5.4L and the 17 mpg. The truck is reliable and looks great."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Dependable"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought truck 8 years ago. No problems. Great 4x4 for snow. Leather not so great, but it is a truck. 5.4 engine is the way to go on these trucks."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This is the best truck on the road today.

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best truck ever made"

Cons: "Didnt buy one sooner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this awesome truck seven years ago with 82,000 mi on it and it has NEVER let me down. The SMOG guy says it passes better than all brand new trucks. Ive towed tons a heavy things to many to list and this truck is a trooper. I wish that they still made them like this cause when this one finally goes "Not any time soon thats for sure" I would love to buy another one!!!. THIS IS THE BEST TRUCK EVER MADE !!! And i USED TO BE A DIE HARD CHEVY MAN !!!! NEVER WILL I BUY A CHEVY EVER AGAIN !!! GOOD JOB FORD !!!"

Reliable, always starts and goes

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would like to own a new one."

Very good truck

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great truck, does what it is asked to do with NP"

Cons: "Better seat,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck. The 4.2ltr offers reasonable mpg 18ave, along with good power for a six cyl, I have towed and hauled a lot of weight with this truck, a lot more than the GVW and I have never had a problem with it. I'm very pleased with the truck over all. There's only 2 things I don't like and that is I wish the seat at least reclined and it had power windows. I bought it manly for the 4.2ltr 6cyl for better MPG and it gets at least 3mpg better than my 97 Z71 with the vortec 350 and it got 15 to 16mpg ave. and the ford gets 18ave. So I'm pleased."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Extremely reliable. Godd day to day transportation

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, good for light hauling, camping, etc."

Cons: "Nothing major."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Original owner. Just over 130k. Very, very reliable. Fair gas milage of around 15 mpg average. All original. Interior still nice. Could use paint on exterior, otherwise fairly nice. Runs very good. Good AC etc. Major work to date: Compressor (AC). Power window motors (2x for driver side, 1x for passenger side). That is about it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Hate, hate selling this truck..loved it.

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Maintained, garaged, looks good, great price"

Cons: "A scrape of passenger side wheel, gas mileage high"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

Beloved 1998 F 150 Super Cab

"This has been a very reliable handy truck(and attractive) We have hauled lumber, plants, kids, animals, furniture, moved homes and offices. You always have friends, when you own a truck. This F150 super cab, has been garaged the whole time and maintained pretty well."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Beloved 1998 F 150 Super Cab

It has been a joy to own this truck

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Always garaged, looks good, works well"

Cons: "Has scratch marks on side, upholstery boring"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Hate, hate to part with this truck. It has been a joy to own this powder blue 1998 F150 Super cab. We have hauled kids, dogs, lumber, and furniture. We have helped move friends, family and offices. You always have friends when you own a truck, and this one still looks nice."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck i ever owned

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,910

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Had this truck for 4 years, did a little woe to ir but over all a great truck! just wish that the rear didn't rust as much."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

It made me want another one.

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "FORD"

Cons: "Rear doors tend to rust along bottom."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best I ever owned .It has 96000 miles on it. Bought new. Handles horrid roads and weather with confidence . Rides better than most full sized autos and it is a 4x4.Smooth and quiet but tows almost 8000 lbs. Whats not to love. I did buy a new 2014 F-150 4x4 and I am keeping the 2000 ."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Clean confortable PU, One owner(non-smoker)

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "clean good running truck"

Cons: "some hail dents on roof"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well maintained (no fluid leaks), A/C works great, Nearly new tires, New paint/pin strips, Dark Toreador Red over Harvest Gold two tone, Prairie Tan 40/60 split bench front seat , 40/60 fold up back seats"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One owner-non smoker. Well maintained

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Clean, One owner(non-Smoker), well maintained."

Cons: "Few hail dents on roof"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

1999 F-150 clean, one owner,new paint pin strips

"This is a well maintained PU. It has a new paint job with pin strips. The A/C works great. Nearly new tires. Two tone Dark Toreador Red over Harvest Gold. Towing package. Heavy duty alternator 5.4L EFI V8 engine. Chrome Bump/grille. 40/60 reclining split Bench W/Storage, Driver Lumber. Split folding rear seats. Very clean PU. Nice driving. Must see to appreciate"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

1999 F-150 clean, one owner,new paint pin strips

good truck

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"good vehicle, has usual scratches and dings, double fuel tanks."

most reliable vehicle I ever owned

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,683

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "excellent condition, just keeps on going"

Cons: "could use paint job"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. 4 wheel drive and it has gone off-road while wife and I went gold prospecting. Didn't baby it while off-road, drove it hard. Truck has always been in for service when due after all Triple A doesn't go 20 miles off main road to tow a vehicle. Only downside is sun has started eating the paint off in some areas. But 14 years in the desert truck is great."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid Truck

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power, Towing, Reliable, Comfort, Snow Driving"

Cons: "Fuel Economy average 14 mpg highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

97 Ford F-150 XLT Off Road

"I have a 1997 Ford F-150 XLT 4x4. Have had it for 2 years now, and have put nearly 30,000 miles on it, and still running strong. I have not had any major issues with it mechanically. Other than typical routine maintenance, I have not done anything major to it. I bought it with leaky exhaust manifolds, which is a typical ford issue for this year with the 4.6. I have also recently had an issue with the anti-lock brakes. Most likely is just a sensor. I have never had any issues the transmission or transfer case. 4x4 works great and is excellent in the snow and off road. The truck runs and drives down the road great and is comfortable driving long distances. My only complaint would be the fuel economy. I realize it is a full size 4x4 with a small V8, but I feel it could get a little better than 14 miles per gallon. (strictly highway with cruise set at 65)"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

97 Ford F-150 XLT Off Road

I`ve done alot to this vehicle & hate to sell it.

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,501

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good running truck! need a gas saver."

Cons: "will need intake. differential,& training serviced"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

still drives great!

"Valve covers were done last summer. Intake has minor leak, will need to be replaced soon. Still runs & drives great! I`m the 2nd owner, & been driving it for 13 yrs. Tires ,brakes, shocks, tie rod, battery , alternator , plugs , coil packs all been done within the last 2yrs. has some oxidation, top & hood. Few scratches & dings. Great truck, would make a good work horse!!! 4wd still works good."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

still drives great!

Good all purpose truck - work / play.

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Always ready to go when you need it."

Cons: "No power windows."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Photo 1 Additional photos available upon request

"This truck also has Track Rack with extension over the cab. The truck does not cost me property taxes (in my area). Insurance is low on this vehicle. It gets between 16 and 17 mpg depending on how fast I drive. Its in good shape considering its age. Never been in an accident. Original owner. Well maintained. Has new tires, rotors, brakes, and miscellaneous engine parts. Track Rack system over bed and cab. Also available for purchase is a 6' x 12' Pace box trailer. 6-8 years old like new. Available separately or together. Great vehicle for contractor, landscaper, or do it yourself individual."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Photo 1 Additional photos available upon request

They should comdem Ford to the scrap heap

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Blown head gasket , Drive and reverse failed on the transmission ,Everthing was hard to work on

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Large payload"

Cons: "Constitant repair !"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Pure trash ! The only thing it had going for it was payload ! Everything else was trash Transmission Failed engine blow a head gasket ! I would have been better to buy a truck from Toyoda !"

5 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Dependable

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 302,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At 302,000 miles on a 4.6 liter engine, the only thing done were head gaskets at 240,000 miles. External coolant leak. Routine maintenance and routine cleaning, still going strong. No rust, pulls a 20ft ski boat, hauls dirt, kids taxi, dialy commuter. Really got my money worth out of this truck. Sold on Ford trucks. My sons now have matching red 2000 F-250's with diesel."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Lots of truck for the money, a popular body style.

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lot of truck for the money"

Cons: "I like the front of later models better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my used 1997 F150 super cab for about a month now and couldn't be more pleased. It has almost 200,000 miles and still tight and runs and shifts great. I get the impression this may be one of Ford's better years for quality. I am very pleased with my truck."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Good solid truck

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, lasted a long time, looks good"

Cons: "HVAC plenum broke, spark plugs change expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this truck new in 1999 and have enjoyed it. It rides and handles good and hasn't had any major issues. It has had a few things break that I though should have lasted longer. Overall a good truck that I will drive until it turns to dust."

built ford tough

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great value retention"

Cons: "rust never sleeps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"very pleased overall"

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

this is the best truck i have ever had

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "still runs like new"

Cons: "could use a long bed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own a auto repair shop and 19 cars and trucks this is the one I drive every day"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2000 ford f150 2wd v6 Color white

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Has a remanufactured engine with only 20 miles on the engine has a two minor problems dew to a small coolant leak outside of the motor but it will get fixed engine runs good it has been broken in properly. transmission shifts good all fluids have been changed interior is in good condition. Exterior is in good condition except minor body damage to the passenger side rear door meeting the truck bed. front suspension has been replaced with new. It is a good and reliable truck you will not be dissatisfied the only set back is it will need new tires soon because tires are starting to show stress cracks. No starting or electrical also mechanical problems"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

this is a nice truck

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner of this truck its been very reliable. It had 59700 when i bought it in 2010,i like it still im just wanting book value."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 41 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford F150 Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals