Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1998 Ford F150 Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 1004 Ratings for the 1997 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 41 | Next

Solid Truck

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power, Towing, Reliable, Comfort, Snow Driving"

Cons: "Fuel Economy average 14 mpg highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

97 Ford F-150 XLT Off Road

"I have a 1997 Ford F-150 XLT 4x4. Have had it for 2 years now, and have put nearly 30,000 miles on it, and still running strong. I have not had any major issues with it mechanically. Other than typical routine maintenance, I have not done anything major to it. I bought it with leaky exhaust manifolds, which is a typical ford issue for this year with the 4.6. I have also recently had an issue with the anti-lock brakes. Most likely is just a sensor. I have never had any issues the transmission or transfer case. 4x4 works great and is excellent in the snow and off road. The truck runs and drives down the road great and is comfortable driving long distances. My only complaint would be the fuel economy. I realize it is a full size 4x4 with a small V8, but I feel it could get a little better than 14 miles per gallon. (strictly highway with cruise set at 65)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

97 Ford F-150 XLT Off Road

I`ve done alot to this vehicle & hate to sell it.

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,501

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good running truck! need a gas saver."

Cons: "will need intake. differential,& training serviced"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

still drives great!

"Valve covers were done last summer. Intake has minor leak, will need to be replaced soon. Still runs & drives great! I`m the 2nd owner, & been driving it for 13 yrs. Tires ,brakes, shocks, tie rod, battery , alternator , plugs , coil packs all been done within the last 2yrs. has some oxidation, top & hood. Few scratches & dings. Great truck, would make a good work horse!!! 4wd still works good."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

still drives great!

Good all purpose truck - work / play.

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Always ready to go when you need it."

Cons: "No power windows."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Photo 1 Additional photos available upon request

"This truck also has Track Rack with extension over the cab. The truck does not cost me property taxes (in my area). Insurance is low on this vehicle. It gets between 16 and 17 mpg depending on how fast I drive. Its in good shape considering its age. Never been in an accident. Original owner. Well maintained. Has new tires, rotors, brakes, and miscellaneous engine parts. Track Rack system over bed and cab. Also available for purchase is a 6' x 12' Pace box trailer. 6-8 years old like new. Available separately or together. Great vehicle for contractor, landscaper, or do it yourself individual."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Photo 1 Additional photos available upon request

They should comdem Ford to the scrap heap

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Blown head gasket , Drive and reverse failed on the transmission ,Everthing was hard to work on

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Large payload"

Cons: "Constitant repair !"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Pure trash ! The only thing it had going for it was payload ! Everything else was trash Transmission Failed engine blow a head gasket ! I would have been better to buy a truck from Toyoda !"

5 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Dependable

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 302,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At 302,000 miles on a 4.6 liter engine, the only thing done were head gaskets at 240,000 miles. External coolant leak. Routine maintenance and routine cleaning, still going strong. No rust, pulls a 20ft ski boat, hauls dirt, kids taxi, dialy commuter. Really got my money worth out of this truck. Sold on Ford trucks. My sons now have matching red 2000 F-250's with diesel."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Lots of truck for the money, a popular body style.

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lot of truck for the money"

Cons: "I like the front of later models better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my used 1997 F150 super cab for about a month now and couldn't be more pleased. It has almost 200,000 miles and still tight and runs and shifts great. I get the impression this may be one of Ford's better years for quality. I am very pleased with my truck."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Good solid truck

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, lasted a long time, looks good"

Cons: "HVAC plenum broke, spark plugs change expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this truck new in 1999 and have enjoyed it. It rides and handles good and hasn't had any major issues. It has had a few things break that I though should have lasted longer. Overall a good truck that I will drive until it turns to dust."

built ford tough

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great value retention"

Cons: "rust never sleeps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"very pleased overall"

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

this is the best truck i have ever had

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "still runs like new"

Cons: "could use a long bed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own a auto repair shop and 19 cars and trucks this is the one I drive every day"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2000 ford f150 2wd v6 Color white

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Has a remanufactured engine with only 20 miles on the engine has a two minor problems dew to a small coolant leak outside of the motor but it will get fixed engine runs good it has been broken in properly. transmission shifts good all fluids have been changed interior is in good condition. Exterior is in good condition except minor body damage to the passenger side rear door meeting the truck bed. front suspension has been replaced with new. It is a good and reliable truck you will not be dissatisfied the only set back is it will need new tires soon because tires are starting to show stress cracks. No starting or electrical also mechanical problems"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

this is a nice truck

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner of this truck its been very reliable. It had 59700 when i bought it in 2010,i like it still im just wanting book value."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned, I am 62 years old

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 315,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable, still runs strong."

Cons: "Wish it had extended cab."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned since 98, engine never worked on. Transmission rebuilt 300000 miles. Original red paint still looks good. If I had never smoked the interior would be perfect except for headliner."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

1997 F150 Just keeps Going

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "long lasting , great value."

Cons: "need to keep up on the rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best truck I ever owned - I am the third owner and the owners before me were not light users, but they were up on the maint. I bought it 5 years ago as weekend work truck but but quicly became my daily driver."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

i love my truck, its Just time to retire it

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable"

Cons: "to much gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"put 170000 miles on it with just standard wear. Runs like a top. traveled all over the american west and had a great run. dependable as the day is long"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I WONDER ABOUT SOME FORDS

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great truck when it's not broke"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Bought truck in 2006 with 85000 miles on it. It was a beautiful looking truck. Was well taken care of. I put 20000 miles on it in 8 years and so far put into into this truck the following list below and I also do regular maintenance as manual directs. 1- Alternator 2- replaced all brake lines 3- Main light switch 4- Heater Core 5- Three window motors. 6- New Transmission at 99000 miles 7- Heater motor 8- Brake sensor 9- Some knobs fell off dash board controls."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this truck

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Totally dependable vehicle"

Cons: "Another door in the back."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this truck for 12 years and I could not have been more pleased with it. Other than services, I put a starter, a alternator and replaced some ball joints in the front end. Exellant truck, purely dependable."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

awesome truck, very versatile

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "workhorse"

Cons: "lousy traction"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"lousy traction in bad weather"

very helpfull

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: 17

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "nonr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Easy to navigate and find things"

Work vehicle

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Extended bed, 4 door super cab."

Cons: "Good work truck. can move heavy large loads."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good work truck. Needs transmission work, Transmission only goes reverse. Interior dash board need repair, Has cracked from sun exposure."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A great truck that gets the job done

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Strong, fast, durable, well built, great ride"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this truck two years ago from the original owner. Almost everything on it was still original. Of course, it had the famous AC seizure so I had to replace the compressor etc. after buying the truck but that was taken off what I paid up front so it was free. This truck with the 5 speed is VERY FAST and a lot of fun to drive. It has held up well and still looks new inside and out. No rust at all. I like the inside because it is very stylish, but not too soft like a car. I would not change anything. The V6 is a super strong and durable engine and has never failed to start. Gas mileage is a little better than other trucks, but it is still a gas guzzler compared to a car. You sit high and the truck handles well. One great feature is the ride. You would think you are in a car because inside it is quiet and the ride is smooth even over rough roads. The 1997 type design is probably the most beautiful truck Ford every produced and does not look like the new trucks which have the appearance of being run into a concrete wall. I had to replace the ORIGINAL clutch at about 101,800 miles but it was relatively inexpensive even at the Ford dealership. I am very pleased with this truck. I have looked at the new trucks, but I will keep mine because the new trucks are too much like luxury cars and if a truck does not have a manual transmission, to me it is not a truck."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Mechanically strong, horrible sheet metal

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Very good mechanically."

Cons: "Horrible sheet metal corrosion."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this base F-150 (V6-5Spd) new in 2000. Pros: Always starts and typically runs smooth. V6 provides plenty of acceleration and torque. Transmission and clutch strong and generally smooth. Cons: The sheet metal resistance to corrosion is beyond bad. Don't buy one from New England."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very good

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,424

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"friends views."

Best vehicle I have owned

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "solid truck all around great value"

Cons: "rust - needs constant rust remediation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

""I bought this truck 5 years ago used. it has been a joy to own. bought it as a secondary vehicle but quickly became primary. reliable and fun to drive.""

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good vehicle

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, fun to drive"

Cons: "gas prices are a little high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought vehicle and was very happy with it. I am unable to get in any longer. Forced to change vehicles and want to recommend this one for anyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 41 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford F150 Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details