Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Ford Explorer Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $29,017 - $29,722.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $30,910

Fair Purchase Price $29,370
Fair Market Range ($29,017 - $29,722)

Invoice $29,183
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 133 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

Solid SUV

By on Wednesday, December 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Looks Greet / Drives Well"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've have our Explorer for 4 months with no issues. Drives well, looks great, and a solid value. There is no point paying more for a "luxury" SUV."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best 3 Row SUV that gets 20 MPG

By on Thursday, September 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "20+ MPG, Interior, Ride, Looks"

Cons: "Noise from the hood over 75mph needs attention."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I trade every 2 to 3 years and in comparison to my previous Chevy Traverse, Chevy Equinox, GMC Acadia, the Ford Explorer is the benchmark to beat! The Explorer is similar to my Chevy Tahoe except the feel of the Explorer is more like a luxury car. This is my first and not the last Ford I will have owned. I like the XLT options and moon roof. The radio and wireless command system is neat. I am picky, and this SUV rocks - great job Ford !"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Personally - I LOVE it

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So far I love everything about this car- the exterior, interior, it's very spacious inside and the seats are incredibly comfortable, It handles well and the ride is so smooth. The only complaint I have on my explorer is that the Ford Mytouch is tempermental but I had nav on my old nissan altima and it was the same at times. Nothing is perfect, all you can do is get close."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Family Car!

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "VERY Versatile, comfortable ride and great mpg"

Cons: "Small fuel tank, Slow acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the 2013 XLT 3.5 liter v6, and my family of 6 an I absolutely love this car! We get great gas mileage, especially for an SUV. We traded in our Minivan for our explorer, and not only is it more stylish, but it gets better gas mileage, is more comfortable on long distance trips (with twins in booster seats, and 5 other passengers, we all remained as comfortable as you could possibley expect on a 700+ mile road trip), it can pull our boat, and with 4wd, instead of awd, it is easier and cheaper to maintain, and drove with ease in 10" of snow. It Is VERY Easy and Comfortable To drive on all roads and terrain. Only negatives, is that it only has an 18 gallon tank, so even with great mileage, you have to stop and fill up 300 miles or so (that's with the v6), and when you accelerate, the transmission takes a few seconds to catch up. Other than that, no complaints, and I have previously owned cars, trucks, vans, and our Explorer is by far the best car we've had yet."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This SUV Has Been A Great Choice

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good SUV"

Cons: "Sinc and Touch Screen need lots of work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Has Been a good ride 70000 miles no problems,with the running gears.. touch screen and Sinc"now that needs a lot of work" has to be upgraded all the time.I pull a 3500 pound boat to the lake 2 or 3 times a month, 65 miles round trip, does it with ease.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.