Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Ford Explorer Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $29,042 - $29,747.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $30,910

Fair Purchase Price $29,395
Fair Market Range ($29,042 - $29,747)

Invoice $29,183
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 140 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 25 26 27 28 | Next

Love it!!! Perfect American SUV!!

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxurious, smooth, quiet-great moon roof!"

Cons: "electronic rear seats occasionally won't fold"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the 2011 Explorer Limited, fully loaded, after trading in my 2006 Expedition. Was concerned about a loss of cargo space as well as the feel of driving a smaller vehicle. Very surprised to find that both issues were irrelevant. Plenty of room, even when carrying more than 4 passengers. The Explorer sits just a wee bit lower on the road, so don't see over some vehicles as I did in my Expedition, but this car is easier to park. The Explorer drives like a dream. The handling is exceptional, the ride is seriously smooth and super quiet, and the interior is very luxurious without being ostentatious. I've had this vehicle for 6 months now and am still learning more about the navigation and electronic features. The Sony sound system is fabulous. I have several friends who have purchased new cars in the past year and every one of them is jealous of my new car. This car is appropriate in all situations, whether taking important clients out or going camping with the kids and the dogs. I love my Explorer!"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I expected more from Ford

By on Tuesday, September 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Looks"

Cons: "bugs in technology software and wind noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Aside from the looks which I have zero complaints they do have flaws. First they still do not have a software update to fix all the technology issues. The front console freezes up phone freeze gps freezes very disappointing. Also at 60mph and up the wind noise is ridiculous, how they did not catch this during testing is beyond me. Very sad! I would wait till 2012 to see if they fix these issues before you drop so much money."

21 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Great Styling, and Functionality

By on Monday, September 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great style, fun to drive, great gas mileage for a mid-size suv, extra safety features"

Cons: "pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After doing a considerable amount of research, I decided on the Ford Explorer for the following reasons: 1) Technology options - I wanted a car that had voice, and touchscreen capability, as well as Bluetooth, A/V, and iPhone compatibility. 2) Safety Features - A key selling point was the Blindspot indicator system, rear inflatable seat belts for the safety of children, and seniors, as well as front, and side impact air bags 3) Styling - The 2011/2012 Ford Explorer has an aggressive style profile that sets it apart from other SUV's in it's class. Rather than smooth rounded contouring, the Explorer sports a more angular style, especially the front end. 4) Fuel Economy - Best in Class Fuel Economy - FWD 17/25 - Interestingly enough, I've actually gotten better hwy mpg, than the stated 25 mpg."

21 people out of 22 found this review helpful

BEST EVER

By on Wednesday, August 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Amazing inside and out!"

Cons: "Little Pricey (worth it)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never thought I would own a ford. This car changed my mind. Such a sharp looking car great Gadgets on our Limited model. Highly reccommend if you want your friends and family drulling over it! Very solid car you feel in control at all times. Fronm the drivers seat the car feels smaller than it is. Love it!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

The best version of this classic SUV

By on Wednesday, August 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride, handles well, interior comfort and design"

Cons: "Not Cheap but comparably priced. Wider than previous models so clean your garage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great lines, smooth ride and easyy to handle. Technology is awesome."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 25 26 27 28 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details