Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Ford Explorer Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $28,920 - $29,783.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $30,910

Fair Purchase Price $29,352
Fair Market Range ($28,920 - $29,783)

Invoice $29,183
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 163 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 ... 33 | Next

Love it, got more for my money, than a volvo

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great pick up, quality plus"

Cons: "could get a little better gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can not say how happy we are."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Starting with problems at 20,000 miles

By on Thursday, January 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Well appointed for a base model, handles well."

Cons: "Noises from nearly all functioning parts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I have 21,000 miles on my '13 Ford Explorer and for the past few months the brakes have squeaked when first driven after periods of rest. Dealer's service department blames it on condensation. I can understand that in the mornings, but not necessarily in the afternoons and while I'm no auto expert I don't think that at this mileage I should have any brake noise. Another issue: after backing out of the driveway and shifting the truck into drive, I've applied gas and the RPMs went haywire, yet I wasn't going anywhere. It's an automatic. First time it happened I though for certain that I has mistakenly put the truck in neutral, but the gear was firmly in drive with no wiggle in the shift at all and the "D" was clearly lit indicating that I was in the proper gear. Once the vehicle was put in park and then again in drive, it was fine. Dealer can't find any issue, but it's at least been documented. Dash creaks at times and there's a hum that comes from the front of the truck which eventually subsides within a mile or two. I like the handling of the truck, the interior is well appointed for a base model. I hope that these issues aren't a snapshot of more troubles to come."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

LOVE THIS VEHICLE!

By on Sunday, January 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks sharp, comfortable, powerful"

Cons: "none."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have ever owned. It is very comfortable to ride in. I have had my explorer for almost 2 years and still enjoy driving it as much as I did the first week!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

with the exception of MYTOUCH it is superb

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "economy, ride, handling"

Cons: "MYTOUCH"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The MYTOUCH is a radom. For no reason the Nav system shows SD Card Error and does not work; the screen changes without any prompting; and twice has frozen leaving no alternative but to stop the car and restart hoping for a clean reboot. Ford says they are working on a first quarter fix and will mail an upgrade. Hope their fix makes the utility of the system worth the price."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle!

By on Monday, December 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,530

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, great ride, great features!"

Cons: "Hesitation/resets required with the MyFordTouch."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I waited for a while for this vehicle, and it was well worth the wait! I love the comfort and convenience it offers for the price. The turning radius is amazing, and it offers a very smooth ride. I have the Limited and enjoy all of the unique features. I liked my 2010 Ford Edge too, but my experience with the Explorer has been better than with the Edge. One of my favorite features, being a Florida resident, is the cooled seating. Love it!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 ... 33 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.