Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Ford Explorer Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $29,137 - $29,892.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $30,910

Fair Purchase Price $29,515
Fair Market Range ($29,137 - $29,892)

Invoice $29,183
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 140 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 ... 28 | Next

I regret buying it.

By on Thursday, May 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Terrible vehicle... Many squeaks and rattles, electrical problems, many, MANY software problems with MyFord Touch Sync. The Ecoboost engine is terribly underpowered, it fails to deliver the promised MPG."

15 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Love my new Explorer

By on Monday, May 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Style, Interior Space, Features, Tech Toys, Safety"

Cons: "Uncomfortable Driver Seat, Sluggish Acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've owned my Explorer for 3 weeks and love it. For starters it looks beautiful both inside and out. It's loaded with tech toys and offers lots of cool features. My fuel economy has been averaging about 19mpg for my XLT V6,4WD....so it's performing slightly better than Ford stated on the sticker :) Interior cabin is spacious for the driver and passenger. Rear and third row seats are adequate. Trunk space is tremendous. On the down side, I've found the driver seat to be a little uncomfortable. Also, acceleration from a stop is sluggish when compared to the Ford Edge that I traded. Overall, I'm very happy and would recommend this vehicle. I was also considering the Jeep Grand Cherokee, and know I made the right choice with the Explorer!"

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Best Option Laiden Luxury SUV in Class...Period

By on Friday, April 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quiet, Luxurious, Sleek, Outstanding Handling"

Cons: "2nd Row Seating Small; Child Seats Are a Tight Fit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I spent nearly 2 months researching any and all SUV/Crossover vehicles on the market. From audi and Infiniti to Saturn and Kia. For the money, a SUV/Crossover just does not exist which gives you the options (i.e. Voice Navigation, Dual Panel Sunroof, Heating and Cooled Leather Appointed Seats, SYNC Services, Rear Camera, Adaptive Cruise Control, HID Headlamps, etc.), luxury and safety (i.e. 1st, 2nd and 3rd row airbags, 2nd row BLIS seatbelts, side curtain, etc.) all wrapped in an agressively sleek exterior/interior package. The instrument panel and electronics simply can't be matched by any other competitor. Almost to a disadvantage to the Explorer as you find yourself wanting to play with all the features while you're driving. The cabin is whisper quiet and the ride on the 20" alloy wheels is smooth and very fun. This is my first domestic vehicle purchase but after many hours of test drives and research, there just is not a better deal. I only have 600 miles so far on my new ride so I can't speak to reliability but I believe Ford has really put quality and design back in the forefront of their lineup."

22 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Don't even waste your time with a test drive.

By on Sunday, April 22, 2012

I don't own this car

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I borrowed a very well opted Explorer Ecoboost for a week to see if this was the vehicle for my wife and kids... I was shocked at how bad it was! The thing was very underpowered, it felt terribly sluggish and heavy, the rear seats were very small for such a large vehicle, the MyFord Touch Sync system was a buggy, distracting headache from the start, the interior would squeak and rattle over any little bump and gas mileage was a pathetic 20 mpg on the highway out of a little 4 cylinder! I'll admit that my expectations were high, but I don't think they were unrealistic for a nearly $50k vehicle. I have not bought a vehicle yet, but I know I will not be buying this one."

11 people out of 30 found this review helpful

Love this Explorer

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fair price for the options, fun to drive, comfort"

Cons: "Large pillar between windshield and driver window"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ford didn't cheap out on the interior. It's loaded with lots of options and I learn something new every day about SYNC. Love the back up camera, love the voice command, love the navigation, love the sirius, love the heated leather seats, love the blind spot mirrors, quite a bit of power for a v6--not at all sluggish like the 2010, 8 cup holders with 3rd row seating! It's a little wide so if you're petite its hard to order at the drive thru, doors are massive, pillar between windshield and driver window is very large and a blind spot. Ford covered all it's bases to please the techies and it's got a completely different (and better) ride than the previous model."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 ... 28 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.