Advertisement

To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

2014 Ford Explorer Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $28,132 - $29,118.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $30,910

Fair Purchase Price $28,520
Fair Market Range ($28,132 - $29,118)

Invoice $29,183

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 177 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 36 | Next

Nice Vehicle

By on Sunday, June 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,287

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This is my second Explorer, traded in my 2008 Which I really liked for it. The 2008 had better Features, easier to drive. Hard to see the front end of this vehicle. And need to raise the seat all the way up, to see out the side windows."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Poor quality ...worst car I have ever owned.!!

By on Tuesday, November 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Myfordtouch is absolutely horrible....locks up..and then no electronics function at all. Ford customer service offered to provide me with a $400 to purchase a GPS - mobile device to use when the system fails... (are you kidding me.?) ...what is that...why not just FIX THE PROBLEM..!! The all wheel drive system also has a shake to it on acceleration.....that they can not fix after repeated attempts. Oh...and the brakes had to be replaced at 5000 miles. This product is JUNK..beware.."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Very satisfied so far

By on Monday, February 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Ride and acceleration (Sport with twin turbo)"

Cons: "Touch screen and steering wheel functions"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've owned 3 SUVs in the past 3 years (the 2 others were Chrysler products). I got out of the others because they were low quality and unreliable (I had to bring my 2014 Jeep GC in over a dozen times for transmission issues). I've only owned this vehicle for about a month, but so far, I'm very happy with it. I own a 2015 Explorer Sport, and by far the best things about it are the ride and the acceleration. Even with the stiff suspension, the ride is smoother than other SUVs, and the twin turbo delivers smooth acceleration, turning an otherwise lumbering vehicle into a much quicker one. Handling is good for it's size, but I can't say it's nimble. The seats are among the most comfortable I've sat in, although I've had trouble finding a comfortable driving position. That's the one area where I think they could improve - interior design. Having bought the Sport version, I like to drive, and like to have my hands at 10 and 2 on the steering wheel or on top at 12. Everything about the steering wheel is laid out for a lower hand position - maybe 8 and 4. The steering wheel also appears to be less vertical than other vehicles that I've driven - again dictating a lower hand position. This makes it hard not only to get into a comfortable driving position, but also more difficult to use the steering wheel buttons. Having buttons on the rear of the steering wheel like other SUVs do would be a big plus. My other complaint has to do with the touch screen. Because the steering wheel functions are hard to use (I have to go into a menu and hit a button 4-5 times just to changes devices - FM to Sirius), I find myself using the touch screen. The buttons on the touch screen are too small, and I find myself really having to focus on the screen in order to hit the correct button instead of focusing on the road. This is something that could be fixed with bigger buttons, and steering wheel functions that are easier to use. Since the performance of the car is what's most important to me, overall I'm happy, but with some design changes, Ford really could have it a home run with this one."

23 people out of 34 found this review helpful

Love it, got more for my money, than a volvo

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great pick up, quality plus"

Cons: "could get a little better gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can not say how happy we are."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

2nd Explorer, great value

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Features, space, looks, interior"

Cons: "Some plastic parts that are not that great looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"After testing couple vehicles of same size, that cost a lot more I have to say they Explorer is impressive. I love tech features and all the space. Blind spot monitoring and myford touch + sync are also great. For people that like technology Explorer will feel like great option. I test drove X5 and ml350, but there almost 50% price premium was not justified, especially since they don't even have some of fords features. Not to mention that maintenance of ford comparing to x5 is a lot cheaper. Oil change for example is 3 times less..."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 36 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.