Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Ford Explorer Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $29,351 - $30,118.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $30,910

Fair Purchase Price $29,735
Fair Market Range ($29,351 - $30,118)

Invoice $29,183
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 145 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 10 11 12 ... 15 | Next

Worth every Dollar

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fit / Finish and dash cluster"

Cons: "---na---have not found any!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have about 1800 miles on my 2012 that I purchased eariler this month.I have owned 14 differnt cars and trucks from Ford and this one is truely awesome. This is the first vechicle I have ever owned that I get better gas mileage that the "sticker" states. I am getting about 18.9 in the city and I have hit 27.2 on the highway doing a comfortable 68mph."

19 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Not a good vehicle for a person 55 and older

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,150

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Nice style both inside and out."

Cons: "SYNC System. Electronic system."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I have had numerous problems with the SYNC System. Returned it to dealer numerous times. Hope the update coming out in March 2012 helps correct this. I have had the steering wheel and transmission lock up while backing up. The GAP system on Cruse Control is not reliable,goes out in rain, snow, wind or for no reason. Ford realizes the problem"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

OK not great yet

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "great comfort, 6 cyl good mpg"

Cons: "quality, fit ,finish rush to get to market"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Seems like a rush to get into production many little things. A pilar noise no repair 3 visits to dealer. streak on windows when useing (fixed) myfordtouch had 2 updates so far,inside trim miss aligned also rear liftgate alignment I want to like this vehicle comfort is great on long trips 6cyl gives good mpg expected more for a high end suv (limited)"

I want a dependable car!

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,200

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Looks Great"

Cons: "Problems with features"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"It leaks water in the rear seatbelts.It has had a few other problems also. I'm paying a lot of money every month for a car that has been in the shop 7 weeks already. I love the way it looks and drives. I may have to trade it. I'm sad :("

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

great vehicle and very roomy..has it all

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drives great, fun, cutting edge"

Cons: "A little pricey, tire pressure monitor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle because i have a big family and at 6' i have no problem fiting in the 3rd row. With all the options it is great for travel and rides sooooo smooth. I thought it would have a little more power on take off, but once you get up to speed you need to watch your speedometer because you wont even know you are going 70! It has all the bells and whistles which is a double edged sword. It will do everything you could imagine, but the down side is learning everthing. But, Ford dealerships do offer a 1 hr. class to get to know your vehicle. The only other problem i have found is that when it is really cold ( in the 30's) the tire pressure monitor sensor light comes on. I have talked to others with Ford's ( diff. yr's and models) and they have the same problem. All in all, i love my new vehicle and I am very happy with it. Everyone who sees it loves it and wish they had one."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

They just keep getting better.....

By on Friday, January 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, features, styling, interior comfort"

Cons: "None so far"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third Explorer and my eighth Ford truck and I am absolutely in awe of its quality. The fit and finish is the best I have ever owned. Ecoboost was a great investment... 240 HP compared to the original Explorer's 165 with over 20 MPG in urban traffic. Superior interior comfort and room. MyFord Touch whiners should get over themselves...we've been adapting to evolving technology since the first VCR's and this is no different."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

with the exception of MYTOUCH it is superb

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "economy, ride, handling"

Cons: "MYTOUCH"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The MYTOUCH is a radom. For no reason the Nav system shows SD Card Error and does not work; the screen changes without any prompting; and twice has frozen leaving no alternative but to stop the car and restart hoping for a clean reboot. Ford says they are working on a first quarter fix and will mail an upgrade. Hope their fix makes the utility of the system worth the price."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great suv

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks and rides great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I finally sold my diesel Ford Excursion with 300000 miles and decided to get smaller suv and chose the Explorer after test driving many models. I like the sync as it works fine for me. HVAC is great and the vehicle is roomy and comfortable. Gets lots of looks."

Excellent vehicle for driver comfort

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The most comfortable seating for driver"

Cons: "Nothing yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have had many vehicles.and finally after numerous research and test drives and purchasing what we thought was going to be the right car that would withstand many hours in the car..we lost in the end by a purchase and only to return them..finally, we test drove the 2011 ford explorer..this vehicle is absolutely the most comfortable vehicle we have owned. When you are in a vehicle for many hours per day and for long periods without being able to stop. One needs a comfortable seat for the hips and back..if you need a vehicle that will bring you comfort in the driver and passenger seats this is highly recommended.."

Personally - I LOVE it

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So far I love everything about this car- the exterior, interior, it's very spacious inside and the seats are incredibly comfortable, It handles well and the ride is so smooth. The only complaint I have on my explorer is that the Ford Mytouch is tempermental but I had nav on my old nissan altima and it was the same at times. Nothing is perfect, all you can do is get close."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 10 11 12 ... 15 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.