Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Ford Explorer Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $29,042 - $29,747.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $30,910

Fair Purchase Price $29,395
Fair Market Range ($29,042 - $29,747)

Invoice $29,183
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 135 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 10 11 12 ... 14 | Next

Great SUV

By on Wednesday, December 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides great, easy to handle, easy to park"

Cons: "Gas Milage is not what EPA claims"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only complaint is use of SYNC system."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Problems with the touchscreen

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "new design"

Cons: "technology goes haywire"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"The touchscreen it sometimes malfuctions and its whortlees, I had some disregards with Ford corporate about a problem about the vehicle and nobody seems to help me with it."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle!

By on Monday, December 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,530

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, great ride, great features!"

Cons: "Hesitation/resets required with the MyFordTouch."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I waited for a while for this vehicle, and it was well worth the wait! I love the comfort and convenience it offers for the price. The turning radius is amazing, and it offers a very smooth ride. I have the Limited and enjoy all of the unique features. I liked my 2010 Ford Edge too, but my experience with the Explorer has been better than with the Edge. One of my favorite features, being a Florida resident, is the cooled seating. Love it!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

SYNC Technology is a shame

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,500

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Design"

Cons: "SYNC technology"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Its a shame the SYNC technology does not work and there is no fix. I've owned the car for almost a year now, and it has been in the service department 6 times for SYNC issues alone. The first service visit was 2 days after purchase (for the SYNC system), go figure. Do not recommend buying!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

disappointed

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Rides OK on trips"

Cons: "Mileage disappointing, ventilation system problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I purchased a 2012 Ford Explorer Limited based on ratings, looks, mileage estimates and test ride. The vehicle had to be ordered and the rebate at the time of ordering was $1,000. The rebate was $500 when the vehicle was received and I was told $500 was it and it didn't matter what the rebate was at order time. We have since had problems with the mytouch and sync features which required shop visits. The latest shop visit is to fix the ventilation system which doesn't blow heated air to the passenger side. I have also been disappointed in the mileage (20 mpg at 70 mph),air conditioner performance and engine power. I expected more given the price paid."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Average reliability at best.

By on Thursday, November 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,200

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Technology that doesn't work."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Too much techology that doesn't work. This would be a good Explorer if the SYNC would actually stay working."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love some things and hate others.

By on Wednesday, November 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,750

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Looks, ride, and power."

Cons: "Horrible layout of interior, door height is excess"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I really like the looks of the new Explorer. The power and acceleration are very good. The gas mileage is acceptable at almost 23 mpg. The handling is OK. The brakes are poor. The interior is terrible. The passenger handle is placed too far forward, the well in the console is too deep, and the only clock are 1/8 inch digits that only the driver can see. The seats are uncomfortable after one hour of driving. The seating position for a 6ft 3 in driver is not right. The dash with SYNC is a nightmare. I want a GMC Yukon."

2 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Poor quality ...worst car I have ever owned.!!

By on Tuesday, November 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Myfordtouch is absolutely horrible....locks up..and then no electronics function at all. Ford customer service offered to provide me with a $400 to purchase a GPS - mobile device to use when the system fails... (are you kidding me.?) ...what is that...why not just FIX THE PROBLEM..!! The all wheel drive system also has a shake to it on acceleration.....that they can not fix after repeated attempts. Oh...and the brakes had to be replaced at 5000 miles. This product is JUNK..beware.."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

amazing technology, space, style. love it!

By on Friday, October 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price for what it is"

Cons: "nothing. but i do have all the goodies"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i love, love, love my car!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best Explorer yet!

By on Monday, October 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "MPG for class, design, comfort, handling"

Cons: "Spendy with options, sometimes quirky SYNC"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Besides the great new look, the '11 Explorer rides and handles great. It is very comfortable, even for a taller driver. Interior room has increased and the quality is leaps and bounds above the old models; love the new leather seats on our XLT. We love the new dash display and overall interior/exterior design. The new Explorer is quiet and also has decent power and acceleration with the 3.5L V-6, even in our AWD model. Mileage has been great for a 7-seat AWD SUV; 19.0 mpg overall so far, never less than 17 mpg, and we are actually getting the advertised 23 mpg highway. Towing capacity has decreased with the new unibody design, but was not an issue for us. The SYNC system can be a little quirky at times but is still useful. This replaced our old '02 Explorer. Our final choices came down to the '11 Toyota Highlander and the '11 Explorer; glad we went with the Ford."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 10 11 12 ... 14 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details