Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Ford Explorer Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $31,266 - $32,051.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $32,910

Fair Purchase Price $31,659
Fair Market Range ($31,266 - $32,051)

Invoice $31,068
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 140 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 ... 28 | Next

Such a great vehicle

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "MPG, comfort, options, style, sync"

Cons: "sync bugs, no offroad, hazards button location"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Love this thing

"The one single thing I don't like about the vehicle is I wish it was more capable off road. I think it would be with some more clearance but overall it is a very capable vehicle for most anybody. Ours was used in the snow and ice as well and it handled great. We rarely ever knew the wheels were slipping unless we looked at the dash to see which wheels were getting the power. I am totaly blown away by the new options ford is coming out with and I love the interactive instrument cluster. I constantly find myself trying to beat my average MPG as well. It's turned into a game and I average 19mpg in a city full of steep hills and lots of stop and go on them. just incredibly impressed with it. I would recomend this to anyone looking for a minivan type of space with an SUV feel and look."

5 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Love this thing

Wanted it for it's great looks!!

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hanldes like a car, rear camera, blind spot assist"

Cons: "none yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"went in to see this truck after seeing them on the road. I could not beleive it was an Explorer. Love the ride and handles like a dream!"

3 people out of 10 found this review helpful

My 9th Explorer... Lovin' it!!

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "See my review"

Cons: "See my review"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is Explorer #9. Prior to buying this one, I had a 2008 Lincoln MKX, which I loved, and was planning on getting a new MKX. Since the Explorer was overhauled in design, I thought I'd check it out, too. After driving the MKX, which I loved, and new Explorer, I was sold on the Explorer. The smooth ride was incredible, the safety features were fabulous, the comfort was wonderful. After having the vehicle for one week, we took it on a 2500 mile round-trip road trip. We only stopped for gas, as we did not need to stretch or anything else you usually need to do after driving for a lengthy period. It was that comfortable. My husband loved the Cluster design and all the gages and the way he could track anything and everything. He liked that the car ran self-diagnostics after a certain number of miles (I forgot how many he said it was). I love the SYNC system and the navigation. It's much easier to handle and learn than the one on MKX. I realize it's a newer version, and that's probably why. The rear seats fold up, down, or flat at the touch of a button. They have never malfunctioned. The 3rd row buckets are extremely comfortable. I got stuck sitting in the back when we drove some elderly people up north. I loved it back there! The shelf in the glove compartment is a bonus. There is so much storage between the glove box, the console, and the storage under the radio that I can actually find things I put in them. The rear camera is great and I like that fact that it shows up on the SYNC screen instead of as a little square on the mirror. It also beeps if you are backing out of a parking space and there is a car coming within 3 car lengths in either direction. The front buckets are adjustable in so many ways, it's impossible to not find a comfy position. There are 3 memory buttons for 3 drivers. The mirrors fold in"

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

The BEST car I have ever owned!

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "My FordTouch, 110 ac plug, 4 bucket seats,moonroof"

Cons: "see text - voice command navigation."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for one year. I have travelled long distance and around town. I do not have the ecoboost system, and have an average MPH currently of 21.7. This car is easy to own. I love the My Ford Touch system in it and all the extras they have added, including extra cup holders. I have a white Limited with 4 bucket seats, and optional third row seating. The controls for the backseat temperature are simple; my three year old adjusts the back row temperature all by himself. I can also control everything from the panel or the steering wheel controls. My only drawback is the voice control has great difficulty hearing you if there are any road noises, car noise or talking. I find it cumbersome to ask the navigation to find directions by voice control, and then confirm the route by looking at the screen, and again having to activate the navigation by touching the screen. This can be difficult to do while navigating busy roads in an unfamiliar city. Also, at times, the selected route takes a while to load, so I have missed my turnoff before. I know there is an update to the navigation that Ford just released. I just need to find 2 hours out of my day to take it in for that. All in all, the Ford Explorer is a great car. I love the roadside route alerts that let you know if an accident is ahead. You can also use is to check the weather, with live radar feeds, use your cellphone to active the internet within the car, and attach your iPad to watch movies on the main screen. My favorite feature is the 110 ac plug in the console. If you can’t find a car charger, or there is a toy that only has a “house plug” on it, no worries. Just plug it in and get on the raod!"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Terrific handling, ride and quite interior.

By on Sunday, March 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling, ride, interior, styling!"

Cons: "climate control, either too hot or too cold!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ford has hit it out of the park with the new Explorer! Great fit and finish, great handling , great ride, great fuel economy for a 4 wheel drive vehicle! Drive the Explorer first , then go drive the Pilot, Traverse or Durango, you will head back to Ford with a true appreciation of how far in front of the competition the Explorer is!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 ... 28 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.