Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Ford Explorer Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $31,022 - $31,827.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $32,910

Fair Purchase Price $31,425
Fair Market Range ($31,022 - $31,827)

Invoice $31,068
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 140 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

2nd Explorer, great value

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Features, space, looks, interior"

Cons: "Some plastic parts that are not that great looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"After testing couple vehicles of same size, that cost a lot more I have to say they Explorer is impressive. I love tech features and all the space. Blind spot monitoring and myford touch + sync are also great. For people that like technology Explorer will feel like great option. I test drove X5 and ml350, but there almost 50% price premium was not justified, especially since they don't even have some of fords features. Not to mention that maintenance of ford comparing to x5 is a lot cheaper. Oil change for example is 3 times less..."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Poorly manufactured body

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Cons: "Everything about this SUV is a CON to me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I'm so disappointed with my 2014 Explorer. There is so much plastic on the body of this SUV it's pathetic. I traded in a 2003 mazda tribute. It was the best SUV I've owned. I read good reviews about the Ford Explorer and felt like Ford had a good reputation. I was wrong. For a $30000 + SUV the inside and especially the outside are CHEAPLY made. I can't wait to get rid of it and buy a well made SUV!"

5 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great SUV, love it.

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, efficent and stylish."

Cons: "A 6'4" person can not be comfortable driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle new, have since re-married to a 6'4", 250lb man. Just not enough room for him, so thinking of an Expedition. Love my Fords."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

AWESOME CAR

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 1st ford got the sport well worth the extra money for the bigger engine. The 2.0L was underpowered. Most comfort of any car I have owned. My ford system is easy to operate if you can read left to righ up to down. Very nice ride."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very good vehicle.

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Everything."

Cons: "Slight problem with Nav/Gps but fixed under warran"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ride, appearance, room, dependability, amenities/technology all fantastic. Slight problem with Nav/Gps but fixed under warranty. I highly recommend this vehicle."

No room in second row

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "price was good, quiet drive."

Cons: "No room for children in car seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have had the 2013 Ford explorer for a month. We bought it new, but immediately I wanted to return it. Now I will say that the ride is smooth and quiet. However,I have 2 children, one in a booster seat and one in a car seat. Neither one of my children are able to sit comfortably in the 2nd row. The younger child has to sit with his legs apart or crossed in the car seat in order to ride. My husband and I are both a little over 6' tall, so of course the front seats have to be pushed back. This leaves no room in the back. We owned a 2003 Ford Explorer before purchasing this one. The older model had way more room in the back for the children. And to top if off, I called the dealer the next day, and was told there is no time for the customer to return the vehicle. The sales person was very rude about the whole thing, and then mentioned about me getting a survey in an email. I completed my survey, including my dissatisfaction, and I guess Ford let them know. After that the sales person started harassing me about my survey and how it was connected to a bonus. I can't wait to get rid of this car. I am not satisfied at all."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very Good SUV

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very luxurious for a Ford"

Cons: "Kind of spendy for the limited edition"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, good power with decent gas mileage. The interior is top quality and contrary to what you hear I really like the MyFordTouch. Couldn't imagine having another car without it."

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

This SUV Has Been A Great Choice

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good SUV"

Cons: "Sinc and Touch Screen need lots of work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Has Been a good ride 70000 miles no problems,with the running gears.. touch screen and Sinc"now that needs a lot of work" has to be upgraded all the time.I pull a 3500 pound boat to the lake 2 or 3 times a month, 65 miles round trip, does it with ease.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've owned so Far!

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Jack-of-all-trades vehicles, reliable"

Cons: "Not made for specifics, i.e off-roading, tech..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After driving several luxury vehicles, I have been absolutely in love with my 2011 Ford Explorer XLT model for over 3 years now, and will be loyal to Ford when looking for my next "luxury vehicle". I did have initial heart aches with Sync, but Ford's constant reachback with me, and continuous updates have made this a "luxury vehicle" with no issues and one of the most impressive immersions with technology that I have used to date. The ride is smooth, the control just right, and power enough for my personal needs. When searching I needed a vehicle that was able to go psuedo-offroading, far enough into the fields or forest that didn't require true 4-wheel drive provided from the likes of Jeep. Comfortable enough to make passengers pass out easily (happens too often), and strong enough to haul the occasional small vehicle or trailer. Of the vehicles I have enjoyed the 2011 Ford Explorer is my favorite, has served my family well over the last 3 years, and is recommended by me to all interested in hearing about how awesome it is. 3 Years later friends riding in this vehicle are surprised by all the features that have come with it, and spurred Ford purchases of their own."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"V6. GREAT power and we still get 25+ mpg. Great SUV"

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.