Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Ford Explorer Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $30,696 - $31,567.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $32,910

Fair Purchase Price $31,132
Fair Market Range ($30,696 - $31,567)

Invoice $31,068
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 156 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

excellent vehicle.

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The vehicle almost drives itself on the hwy with adaptive cruise control and lane keeping system. It is smooth and quiet and handles well. Would purchase again"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Truly the best vehicle we've every owned!

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sleek design, mpg, smooth & quiet ride, spacious"

Cons: "Radio level increments, small display"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Explorer has everything and looks really cool too. We've had it for 2 1/2 years now and have used it on road trips, camping adventures, dangerous rides on snow/ice, hauling yard waste with a hitch-add on, towing a boat, fitting up to 7 adult family members and/or friends in when going to dinner or other trips - and it's been great every time. The "intelligent 4WD" (full-time) is great, it turns on automatically for bad road conditions. We still average about 21mpg as well in our travels which are a mix of highway and local roads. Ride is super smooth and interior is very quiet at all speeds. We still love the exterior design which looks a little Land Rover-ish. Buying this new was a big decision for us but it's been extremely worth it."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best SUV value

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Affordable luxury, lots of safety features"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle. I bought it new and drive it daily on a 78 mile round trip to and from work. I have never had a mechanical problem or any other problem. Interior and exterior have held up extremely well and I would purchase a Ford Explorer Limited again."

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Great Comfort and Style

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great features and Sync is good to use"

Cons: "nothing yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is great. Its very roomy on the inside and with all the features my limited came with I think it was a great value. The leather is of good quality and the interior itself is of good quality."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best SUV I have driven!

By on Monday, January 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this vehicle. I will be buying another!"

1 person out of 8 found this review helpful

Really like this car, get the V6

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good quality and features"

Cons: "Turbo lag, gas mileage worse than advertised."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is an excellent car for my overall needs. The only thing I would do differently is order the V6 All wheel drive option. The turbo 2.0 liter 4 has too much turbo lag and if you do not drive it gently, you get the same gas mileage as the six cylinder."

11 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Fabulous car

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Explorer is an excellent vehicle. I have had no problems with it. I want a 2015 Explorer to replace it."

8 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Great, but one problem

By on Sunday, December 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfortable and beautiful"

Cons: "back seats are too tight"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I bought this car and it was love at first sight.It has great steering, a beautiful interior and exterior, but in the back the seats are too bunched up, but overall i love it!"

14 people out of 33 found this review helpful

BEST CAR I EVER HAD GREAT SYNC UP WITH EVERYTHING

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RELIABLE EASY OF USE"

Cons: "POWER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BEST CAR I EVER HAD GREAT SYNCS UP WITH EVERYTHING PHONE ECT."

17 people out of 34 found this review helpful

Love it!!

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "very very very little I would change"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We LOVE this vehicle!!!!!!!!!!!!"

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Vehicle that needs small upgrades to be perfect

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable, space, stability"

Cons: "steering wheel design, door cup-holders, SYNC"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The vehicle has good driving. I drove from NH all the way to Orlando, FL and back, I didn't feel the road. The car is comfy. I am a detail oriented driver and therefore I get annoyed by small things in a car. Thinking of the Explorer, I can provide feedback on some "small" things that I believe need to change if Ford wants to have this vehicle as one of the best SUVs on the market (price/value/comfort/features). Before I go and list the things requiring a change, I want to state that this vehicle is still among the top five I would recommend to anyone. So, the annoying things for me as a driver are: 1.Small door cup-holders (height is not enough for a regular coffee cup or a small water bottle) 2. Weirdly designed steering wheel (unable to "lock" the steering wheel with my thumbs, holding my hands in 9-3 position. I have driven civic, accord, passatt, jetta and I could do that in all of them). In the Explorer, you are forced to hold the steering wheel like you are driving a truck 3. SYNC is not responding fast enough (you are forced to touch multiple times or wait as you are not sure if something was initiated or not) 4. Touch screen is not good for use while you are driving (if you want to change something on the screen, you better stop driving and do it. Old "buttons" approach would be more beneficial and efficient instead of the touch screen. In my Accord, I can changes radio stations, change the heat/AC, CD player etc. without looking at it) 5. Radio volume (it seems that I can not find the perfect volume while driving, it is either to low or it is to loud. This is not good when you have kids sleeping in the vehicle while driving ;-)) 5. Heated seats (maybe this is happening just to my Explorer but what I see is not having any heat on the lower back. Jetta's seats, for example, are heating the lower back as well) If you can live with these small annoyances, this will be a great vehicle for you. We all know that there is no such thing as a "perfect" matching car for anyone. The Explorer is close enough. Oh, and one more thing... I am averaging 21.2 miles per gallon after approx. 21,000 miles driven so far."

21 people out of 27 found this review helpful

sync is still frustrating, but drives nice

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "still use garmin GPS, rather thn navigation system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Vehicle drives nice Visibility is poor. My touch/sync is horrible! Maintenance costs have been high"

27 people out of 50 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever bought

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handles great. Looks great. AC seats"

Cons: "too small to list"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Handles awesome in the weather this past winter. Took a long road trip, and the 20" tires are so smooth on the highway. I have received so many compliments on the looks of the vehicle. Bluetooth is great. Has incredible acceleration. I love this vehicle."

18 people out of 26 found this review helpful

One of the best cars I had

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I always had a Ford Explorer, this new is my 4th, but so far, this one is the best car, reliable, trustful, confortable, so quiet, and really smooth to drive, good on gas, I got so far 20mph on city, and that's mean a lot to me, putting my self some upgrades, and looks great now....!! I'm glad I have this car and pretty much happy, as some one said, when you take it to wash, there is. The problem with the little roof in the back, but after all..... Love it...!!"

13 people out of 23 found this review helpful

great car

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"after dodge, Nissan, mazda, jeep and Mercedes suv (all new) this is best car what I had. I change cars every 3 years due to high miles and this one is great on gas and everything"

15 people out of 30 found this review helpful

Excellent Comfort and Ride

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, priced competively"

Cons: "Short Battery Life - less than 2 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The 2013 Explorer design lends itself to have a smooth ride and well designed interior for sufficient room to carry 5 adults. The Explorer is very repsonsive to sudden braking and did not sway."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Fresh, Powerful Sexy but the gas tank is too small

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles winter roads very well."

Cons: "Gas tank too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Previously owned Mercedes and Lexus. Didn't know if my ego could handle a Ford. LOVE it. Fresh and sexy and powerful. Only problems: 1) gas tank too small. Less than 20 gallons. For a high powered car, too small. 2) The roof hangs over the back window so driving through a car wash leaves the back dirty. People have stopped me and asked about car because they are interested in this model and can't find it on the lot."

29 people out of 47 found this review helpful

Fresh, Powerful Sexy but the gas tank is too small

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles winter roads very well."

Cons: "Gas tank too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Previously owned Mercedes and Lexus. Didn't know if my ego could handle a Ford. LOVE it. Fresh and sexy and powerful. Only problems: 1) gas tank too small. Less than 20 gallons. For a high powered car, too small. 2) The roof hangs over the back window so driving through a car wash leaves the back dirty. People have stopped me and asked about car because they are interested in this model and can't find it on the lot."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent for first 5K miles

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Attractive, Good interior room, Gas mileage"

Cons: "Front wheel drive, weak brakes & transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"First NEW car I have been totally satisfied with. As it aged, the quality deteriorated quickly. At 60,000 miles the brakes and transmission are failing. In town and road mileage started out 27 and 29. At 60K miles, it has dropped to 23 and 26.. Never got used to the front wheel "swerve factor". It can make you lose control if you hit the gas too much when turning, as to merge into moving traffic from a side street."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Totally satisfied.

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great driveability and interior comfort."

Cons: "Software updates."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"47,000 miles and totally satisfied. Great highway or inner city vehicle. Respectable mileage for the size."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Safe and comfortable

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "functional, comfortable"

Cons: "SYNC doesn't cooperate sometimes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My wife's daily driver. We have had it 2 years and are very happy. Love the 20" wheels, glad we went for them and they are great for the looks but they don't do any favors for the ride. We've averaged 20.5 mpg in 20,000 miles so far with the vehicle 50% loaded most of the time so I'm impressed with that. The 3rd row is nice but I wouldn't put an adult back there. The SYNC is fun but isn't without its glitches. It's not the driving experience I hoped it would be in hill country, but I didn't want to pay 10,000 more for a MDX....so. It's not an SUV, it's a crossover. It ain't rugged. But it is smooth and quiet....cant have it all. I think we'll keep it. Oh, and the BLIS system has saved the day."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle. Better than my old Scalade

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,569

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas millage."

Cons: "The stick has a sensor (+/-) is alredy broken."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My Ford Explorer Limited Edition, it is comfortable. It rides quiet, the seats are comfortable. It is a reliable vehicle during the winter and snow days, and in the summer it cools off quickly. I'm glad I purchased this vehicle."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great SUV!

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Over all great vehicle."

Cons: "Original grill ugly! Bought all chrome snap-on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We are very happy with this SUV, even though we stepped down from a Yukon XL! This vehicle proves more than adequate in our retirement."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love It!

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great SUV"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Family Car!

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "VERY Versatile, comfortable ride and great mpg"

Cons: "Small fuel tank, Slow acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the 2013 XLT 3.5 liter v6, and my family of 6 an I absolutely love this car! We get great gas mileage, especially for an SUV. We traded in our Minivan for our explorer, and not only is it more stylish, but it gets better gas mileage, is more comfortable on long distance trips (with twins in booster seats, and 5 other passengers, we all remained as comfortable as you could possibley expect on a 700+ mile road trip), it can pull our boat, and with 4wd, instead of awd, it is easier and cheaper to maintain, and drove with ease in 10" of snow. It Is VERY Easy and Comfortable To drive on all roads and terrain. Only negatives, is that it only has an 18 gallon tank, so even with great mileage, you have to stop and fill up 300 miles or so (that's with the v6), and when you accelerate, the transmission takes a few seconds to catch up. Other than that, no complaints, and I have previously owned cars, trucks, vans, and our Explorer is by far the best car we've had yet."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.