Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Ford Explorer Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $30,359 - $31,352.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $32,910

Fair Purchase Price $30,856
Fair Market Range ($30,359 - $31,352)

Invoice $31,068
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 166 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

Best SUV Ever I was a Dodgeman and now i love Ford

By on Saturday, April 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value , fun to drive, great ride"

Cons: "none love it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven my explorer day to day and from coast to coast recently and it was a pleasure the millage got was way over the rated millage and the ride and room and handling was awesome. I previously had a Durango and i wont go back the dependability of the explorer over the Durango is no contest. This is a great value and a even better driver."

Not Reliable

By on Thursday, April 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "looks great"

Cons: "not reliable at all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This vehicle has 68,000 miles and has already had over $5,000 worth of repair work done, air conditioner unit replaced, shock/strut mounts replaced, brake calipers froze and had to be replaced along with rotors and all new pads, transmission problems, extensive problems with the SYNC system."

20 people out of 31 found this review helpful

I really like this Ford!

By on Wednesday, April 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and I like the ambient lighting."

Cons: "The 3rd row is only good for young children."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its quick and has a surprising turning radius. It looks good on the inside and the outside and the amenities have spoiled me."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car we have ever had

By on Tuesday, April 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Enjoyable, comfortable drive. Lots of room."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned our Explorer fully loaded Limited for 1 1/2 years now and still LOVE it. This is the first Ford we have ever owned. It is a pleasure to drive it. Previously we have driven Toyota and GM cars. We looked at Ford because my brother owned an Escape and swore by it. We have 2 boys who come with a lot of sports equipment to haul around and teams to shuttle to practices. This SUV does it all and in style and comfort. On the highway it feels very solid and has good pickup for passing. We have had NO issues at all with this car."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love it, got more for my money, than a volvo

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great pick up, quality plus"

Cons: "could get a little better gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can not say how happy we are."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great automobile, drives well, comfortable

By on Sunday, March 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable and comfortable"

Cons: "Computer can act weird sometimes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A little pricey but still a great car."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very satisfied so far

By on Monday, February 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Ride and acceleration (Sport with twin turbo)"

Cons: "Touch screen and steering wheel functions"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've owned 3 SUVs in the past 3 years (the 2 others were Chrysler products). I got out of the others because they were low quality and unreliable (I had to bring my 2014 Jeep GC in over a dozen times for transmission issues). I've only owned this vehicle for about a month, but so far, I'm very happy with it. I own a 2015 Explorer Sport, and by far the best things about it are the ride and the acceleration. Even with the stiff suspension, the ride is smoother than other SUVs, and the twin turbo delivers smooth acceleration, turning an otherwise lumbering vehicle into a much quicker one. Handling is good for it's size, but I can't say it's nimble. The seats are among the most comfortable I've sat in, although I've had trouble finding a comfortable driving position. That's the one area where I think they could improve - interior design. Having bought the Sport version, I like to drive, and like to have my hands at 10 and 2 on the steering wheel or on top at 12. Everything about the steering wheel is laid out for a lower hand position - maybe 8 and 4. The steering wheel also appears to be less vertical than other vehicles that I've driven - again dictating a lower hand position. This makes it hard not only to get into a comfortable driving position, but also more difficult to use the steering wheel buttons. Having buttons on the rear of the steering wheel like other SUVs do would be a big plus. My other complaint has to do with the touch screen. Because the steering wheel functions are hard to use (I have to go into a menu and hit a button 4-5 times just to changes devices - FM to Sirius), I find myself using the touch screen. The buttons on the touch screen are too small, and I find myself really having to focus on the screen in order to hit the correct button instead of focusing on the road. This is something that could be fixed with bigger buttons, and steering wheel functions that are easier to use. Since the performance of the car is what's most important to me, overall I'm happy, but with some design changes, Ford really could have it a home run with this one."

23 people out of 34 found this review helpful

Comfortable

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Debendable, comfortable to drive"

Cons: "Fuel economy , power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Little low on power and gas mileage could be better. Overall great vehicle comfortable to drive, plenty of room"

35 people out of 59 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle overall

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Ride, dependability, comfort, versatility, perform"

Cons: "Audio in sync system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Extremely satisfied overall. Only flaw in the system is the audio in sync system. I use it when I have to and am busy with traffic. It is cumbersome to use and is in itself distracting."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Around town performance is terrible.

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Inside room is good."

Cons: "Needs rear wheel drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Worst driving car I ever owned! Hard to get out of."

7 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.