Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2009 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 378 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 76 | Next

The best vehicle I ever owned

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Car accident

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability, size, so fun to drive!"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've never owned a car for more than about 80K miles before I'd sell it, but my Explorer was different. I bought it new, and drove it everywhere for about 9 years and racked up 188,000 miles on it! Unfortunately, I was in a bad car accident, and I believe it's now totaled (no official word on that yet). I'm not saying that I never had to put money in it, but it was so reliable. It was large enough to take my husband, kids, and my kids' friends anywhere we wanted to go. It wasn't the most fuel efficient, but I overlooked that too because it was just so easy to drive. I'm only 5'2", and I loved how I sat so high in that vehicle. I have replaced it with a Ford Escape since my kids are older (downsizing), but I seriously miss my Explorer, and I wish the car dealer would have shown me some. He highly recommended the Escape. Anyway, my husband will be in the market for another car soon, and I wouldn't be surprised if we bought another Explorer."

Good SUV

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good in the bad winter weather."

Cons: "Could stand a little more power."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is a good vehicle. I have had no major and few minor problems with the SUV. It runs good but put could use a little more power. I would recomend it to anyone needing good transportation in the winter."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best of 5 explorers I owned

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, versatile and strong"

Cons: "vanity mirrors break, frequent battery replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Limited edition added many interior amenities. A few problems with the batteries and inside vanity mirrors but overall this vehicle performed great - especially in winter driving conditions there was never a day I had to stay off the roads. Ive owned 5 Explorers since 1991 and this was the best..."

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

easy to drive

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "decent price, fun to drive and comfortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have enjoyed this vehicle from the first day it was bought. It is easy to drive and is very comfortable. Other than having to replace the tires and a battery there has been virtually no maintenance on it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

good vehicle but 4 wheel drive does not go in snow

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"inside road noise and 4wheel drive is not for snow or off road it does pull bass boat and 20 foot pontoon really well. and is pretty comfy"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 76 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals