Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2008 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 399 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Decent vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent to drive"

Cons: "Transmission issue"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"As usual ford missed the chance to address their famous transmission issue. This was the first thing I had to fix on this car, and problem is still on going. This has led me to finance another vehicle, which will not be a Ford."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle.

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "the hand grab on passenger side should be higher."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned a 2002, 2005 and this 2010. I would be interested in purchasing another one in the near future. I do wish they came in a light to medium blue color."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Wife likes it

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,479

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, nice looking and handling car"

Cons: "No room for big people, MPG could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this car new for the wife, she likes it for her. I am tall, heavy set with major back problems and there is not enough room for me to driver or ride comfortable. Road noise is louder then my pickup and also a rougher ride. Car has been reliable, handles and drives great in ice and snow conditions. MPG overall is 18. Have had no problems with power train, motor, or interior items."

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

This truck has treated me well for years!

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "spacious, reliable, easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any problems with my 08 Explorer Eddie Bauer. It has run great since I bought it certified 3 years ago. It is spacious and pretty luxurious for an older SUV. An all around great truck, if the new Explorers weren't priced like Cadillac SUV's I just might give one of them a go."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've Owned

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Reliable, Quiet, Convinient"

Cons: "Not the best transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have to say, this truck is the best vehicle I've owned. My only complaint about this truck is the shifting. It's 2010 and I'd expect to be a lot smoother than what I had on my 00 Accord. It's not that it's hard shifting or clunking. It might also be due to my last car being a manual so I took care of all the shifting. It is extremely comfortable I must say. I have the base model and still get to enjoy comfort which goes a long way. The 4x4 setting is phenomenal. No clunking or hearing any noises when changing the drivetrain. It drives in the snow as if driving on a dry road."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals