Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2007 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 396 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

This truck has treated me well for years!

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "spacious, reliable, easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any problems with my 08 Explorer Eddie Bauer. It has run great since I bought it certified 3 years ago. It is spacious and pretty luxurious for an older SUV. An all around great truck, if the new Explorers weren't priced like Cadillac SUV's I just might give one of them a go."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've Owned

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Reliable, Quiet, Convinient"

Cons: "Not the best transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have to say, this truck is the best vehicle I've owned. My only complaint about this truck is the shifting. It's 2010 and I'd expect to be a lot smoother than what I had on my 00 Accord. It's not that it's hard shifting or clunking. It might also be due to my last car being a manual so I took care of all the shifting. It is extremely comfortable I must say. I have the base model and still get to enjoy comfort which goes a long way. The 4x4 setting is phenomenal. No clunking or hearing any noises when changing the drivetrain. It drives in the snow as if driving on a dry road."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Have had only minor problems. Never failed me.

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable. Roomy. Comfortable."

Cons: "Design is not up to my older 68 Explorer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Use it for everything...travel, golf outings, local driving. Do maintenance every 5 K (oil, ect.) I had to replace tires at 42000 and that has been the only major expense. Interior is not as good as my previous Explorer-headliner coming loose over the front windows, no cargo net and those crazy door openers. Overall tho it has been and is a great car."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Terrible reliability and very expensive to repair

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Great 4 by 4"

Cons: "Not reliable same part break over and over again"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This vehicle was purchased with 60K on its and its has had so many repairs including a new tranny that is now leaking once again after 15K miles. Its definitely a Fix or Repair Daily aka FORD. Haven't owned a Ford since 1995 when I bought this one for the same reason lots of repair and a car that self destructed. When the Explorer is running its great, but even the shops around nickname this model as an Exploder!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this truck!

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, fun to drive, looks good, comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I do lots of highway driving and this vehicle is comfortable and reliable time after time."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

8y. happily together

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Strength, engine, comfort inside, reliability"

Cons: "no Bluetooth and usb, low mileage per miles,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Explorer 2006 automatic transmission v6

"i bought this Explorer brand new in 2006. I've had no problem with it except some computer issues. However, I think these have been mistakes of the guys who did the service at the agency. I've had him for 57,800 miles and it is still running without any issues! I hope it will last for a little longer without the need of spending any big cash on it!"

Explorer 2006 automatic transmission v6

Very nice

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesomeness"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle for over 100,000 miles.

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owned the Ford Explorer for over 100,000 miles and have had only normal wear and tear replacements, i.e. battery, wheels, etc. It has started every time and we get 20 MPG. I'd buy me another Explorer in a minute."

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

one of the best vehicles i've owned,

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very clean, minor paint bleminishs, synch system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"very comfortable, dependable, functional with 3rd seat option"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fine vehicle

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, excellent ride"

Cons: "I could not buy this vehicle with a V8"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is one of the better cars I've ever owned."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Love It

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,555

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I have already recommended it"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle two years ago used in excellent condition. I love everything about it. I am a single sixty year old grandmother of one and it is perfect to carry stroller and have car seat, lay the back down or pull up and use all three rows of seating. Great for everyday and on trips!! I think the pricing listed is too low for this vehicle and its popularity."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

over all the vehicle has performed well

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, convenient to use"

Cons: "cheap interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought the vehicle for a specific reason and it has met my expectation"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Do not buy this

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Ford began making this vehicle different and it is a very expensive car to maintain. They put a belt on the front of the motor and the belt on the back of the motor so to do any head work you have to remove the entire engine! I have put 4 new tires on this car this year, new brakes, had to rebuild the transmission at 120,000 miles, and now I need a new radiator and head work which is going to cost $3500! I would recommend "exploring" other options before purchasing this vehicle. Do not buy any 5.4L fords!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Not the best vehicle. I would not buy another one

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good price, but not a good transmission"

Cons: "Transmission is no good. Ford need to improve it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"The transmission on this truck is 100% no good. Food needs to fix this problem. I spend well over $2000 plus $700 labour to install a use transmission. Only because i wasnt ready to get a new vehicle. Because of this, i will not recommend this vehicle. My advice, before you buy a vehicle read the reviews. After i replace the trany, then i saw the reviews about the trany....not good at all"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

excellent vehicle with only minor repairs in 130,0

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ford even thinks about the size of the cup holders"

Cons: "You need to replace all 4 tires at the same time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second explorer, previous was a 1997 XLT with 5.0 V8. It also was exceptional - it is why I purchased another one. I recently had to replace a catalytic converter and one wheel bearing. I am still on my second set of Michelin tires with maybe 50% wear. Car still looks and drives like new."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Fabulous SUV with very few complaints

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Navigation, Bluetooth, sheer size of the thing"

Cons: "Gas mileage, heavy steering"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned my Explorer for 4 1/2 years, bought new in March 2010 for $42k. I traded up to my Explorer Limited from a 2003 Explorer XLT, for which we traded in a '97 Explorer Eddie Bauer. Clearly, we are faithful to this wonderful car. Pros: As a mother of two teenage athletes, the Explorer's capabilities have never failed to impress me. The power-folding 3rd row seat is an awesome feature and definitely one of my favorite features. My top two favorites are the Bluetooth and Navigation systems. The Bluetooth allows me to talk on the phone, and the GPS helps me get to unknown destinations or sporting events, whatever the day calls for. When it comes time to carpool or drive kids to dinner for a birthday party, this car does the job perfectly. Cons: Fuel efficiency — more like fuel deficiency. I normally get 10-13MPG in my V6 4WD model. I definitely regret not getting the V8, which I've heard is much smoother and has a much better transmission. The lack of power liftgate or backup camera is also a big downside to me. My last complaint would have to be the heavy steering. I had a hand injury 2 years ago, which has made low speed maneuvers in this car a little more difficult. Otherwise, this is a fantastic car! I have 8 months of payments left, which is when I will sadly have to trade this car in for something more fuel efficient."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

My third Ford and best so far

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I love everything about it"

Cons: "None for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Sweet Ride

"Not only is my white 2008 Ford Explorer a great looking vehicle, it comes with loads of extras. Running boards that fold out when a door is opened is most people's favorite option. I also love the remote start. I work on the 10th floor of my building and park below my window. I can start my car from there. By the time I get down it's cool in the summer or warm in the winter. I love that it's a V8 and a little sad that Ford stop making V8s after that. After 67k miles I am proud to say I never had an issue with the truck."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

My Sweet Ride

I love the space and comfort.

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great inside, Good back glass view. comfortable"

Cons: "Gas mileage but enjoy driving it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2010 Explorer is my second Explorer, My first was a 2004 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer XLT. I fell in love with it and only traded it in to have a newer year with less mileage.I do not like the 2014 design it felt too small inside but the 2010 was a comfortable space. I will love it for years too. I hope Ford changes back to the larger design than the 2014."

The best vehicle I ever owned

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Car accident

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability, size, so fun to drive!"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've never owned a car for more than about 80K miles before I'd sell it, but my Explorer was different. I bought it new, and drove it everywhere for about 9 years and racked up 188,000 miles on it! Unfortunately, I was in a bad car accident, and I believe it's now totaled (no official word on that yet). I'm not saying that I never had to put money in it, but it was so reliable. It was large enough to take my husband, kids, and my kids' friends anywhere we wanted to go. It wasn't the most fuel efficient, but I overlooked that too because it was just so easy to drive. I'm only 5'2", and I loved how I sat so high in that vehicle. I have replaced it with a Ford Escape since my kids are older (downsizing), but I seriously miss my Explorer, and I wish the car dealer would have shown me some. He highly recommended the Escape. Anyway, my husband will be in the market for another car soon, and I wouldn't be surprised if we bought another Explorer."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good SUV

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good in the bad winter weather."

Cons: "Could stand a little more power."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is a good vehicle. I have had no major and few minor problems with the SUV. It runs good but put could use a little more power. I would recomend it to anyone needing good transportation in the winter."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best of 5 explorers I owned

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, versatile and strong"

Cons: "vanity mirrors break, frequent battery replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Limited edition added many interior amenities. A few problems with the batteries and inside vanity mirrors but overall this vehicle performed great - especially in winter driving conditions there was never a day I had to stay off the roads. Ive owned 5 Explorers since 1991 and this was the best..."

15 people out of 20 found this review helpful

easy to drive

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "decent price, fun to drive and comfortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have enjoyed this vehicle from the first day it was bought. It is easy to drive and is very comfortable. Other than having to replace the tires and a battery there has been virtually no maintenance on it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

good vehicle but 4 wheel drive does not go in snow

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"inside road noise and 4wheel drive is not for snow or off road it does pull bass boat and 20 foot pontoon really well. and is pretty comfy"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love my car! It is the 2nd explorer I have loved

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The new design--no!"

Cons: "Cars need a place for ladies'purses."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I want my explorer to last forever, because I do not like the design changes in the newer models. The dash controls are too busy and less user friendly, the seating is made for taller men only and the rear slope design is now like all the others rather than the squared design I love. My Explorer has been perfect for the many events of my life. It is the perfect height and size. It is elegant, and continues to draw admiring comments 8 years later."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My 5th they are safe and very versitle.

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very good value & visibility"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is my 5th Explorer type. Great driving and visibility, reliability. Well appointed interior and stylish. It works very well for my lifestyle. Gas mileage is poor on the 4.6 engine."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals