Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2007 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 378 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

The best vehicle I ever owned

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Car accident

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability, size, so fun to drive!"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've never owned a car for more than about 80K miles before I'd sell it, but my Explorer was different. I bought it new, and drove it everywhere for about 9 years and racked up 188,000 miles on it! Unfortunately, I was in a bad car accident, and I believe it's now totaled (no official word on that yet). I'm not saying that I never had to put money in it, but it was so reliable. It was large enough to take my husband, kids, and my kids' friends anywhere we wanted to go. It wasn't the most fuel efficient, but I overlooked that too because it was just so easy to drive. I'm only 5'2", and I loved how I sat so high in that vehicle. I have replaced it with a Ford Escape since my kids are older (downsizing), but I seriously miss my Explorer, and I wish the car dealer would have shown me some. He highly recommended the Escape. Anyway, my husband will be in the market for another car soon, and I wouldn't be surprised if we bought another Explorer."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good SUV

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good in the bad winter weather."

Cons: "Could stand a little more power."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is a good vehicle. I have had no major and few minor problems with the SUV. It runs good but put could use a little more power. I would recomend it to anyone needing good transportation in the winter."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best of 5 explorers I owned

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, versatile and strong"

Cons: "vanity mirrors break, frequent battery replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Limited edition added many interior amenities. A few problems with the batteries and inside vanity mirrors but overall this vehicle performed great - especially in winter driving conditions there was never a day I had to stay off the roads. Ive owned 5 Explorers since 1991 and this was the best..."

12 people out of 16 found this review helpful

easy to drive

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "decent price, fun to drive and comfortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have enjoyed this vehicle from the first day it was bought. It is easy to drive and is very comfortable. Other than having to replace the tires and a battery there has been virtually no maintenance on it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

good vehicle but 4 wheel drive does not go in snow

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"inside road noise and 4wheel drive is not for snow or off road it does pull bass boat and 20 foot pontoon really well. and is pretty comfy"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love my car! It is the 2nd explorer I have loved

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The new design--no!"

Cons: "Cars need a place for ladies'purses."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I want my explorer to last forever, because I do not like the design changes in the newer models. The dash controls are too busy and less user friendly, the seating is made for taller men only and the rear slope design is now like all the others rather than the squared design I love. My Explorer has been perfect for the many events of my life. It is the perfect height and size. It is elegant, and continues to draw admiring comments 8 years later."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My 5th they are safe and very versitle.

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very good value & visibility"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is my 5th Explorer type. Great driving and visibility, reliability. Well appointed interior and stylish. It works very well for my lifestyle. Gas mileage is poor on the 4.6 engine."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Outstanding Family Car!

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great ride, safe, comfortable, stylish, fun"

Cons: "Low mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second Explorer, and millage/cost withstanding, I'm likely to get another. Great ride, comfortable, smooth, safe, low to the ground, a heavy vehicle, but handles great, and everything is automatic. Perfect for camping, lots of storage, Lots of extras. I especially like the heated front seats on a cold morning. The only thing I don't like about the car is the millage. I average 10.5 - 12 mpg in the city, that's after an oil change. But it sure is a nice ride to have. :)"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this SUV. It has been great for me!

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very dependable and comfortable to drive"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had 2 Ford Explorers...but this one is the best. Smooth ride, comfortable inside. I just wish it had less miles because I would love to keep this car forever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Work Horse

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"120.000 miles and runs great! This car is a soldier, rides good low maintenance good gas mileage"

Useful-dependable-roomy-not economic

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, roomy, can be fun!"

Cons: "Expensive to own and drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I rated this veh. high because it does what I need and I can count on it in winter, which is most important in Maine. The primary seating is comfortable and very adjustable for the driver. Back issues are taken into consideration with adjustable lumbar support, a big plus. Also important to consider are the cargo space and 7 passenger, (not all comfortable), seating. (I am a musician and can pack all the equipment I need for an entire sound system, into the cargo area, or seat up to 7 band members). Economy is not its strong suit, but still not bad for a 4WD vehicle. Summer mpg is near 20. MPG drops considerably when towing, but it handles quite well and runs smoothly when towing in Overdrive. Very good traction, esp with studded 17" tires."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been babied since day one. Its been garage kepted. Not a mark on it anywhere....."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great family all season car. Able to tow 23' camp

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Wife loves visibility while driving. 3rd row seating for grand kids! Wanted pickup, wife wanted car. Explorer was in between."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The car is in a very good condition and drives wel

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,325

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"In addition to the above mentioned qualities,I personally installed a starter, and changed the music system to CD/IPOD using USB."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of my bast vehicles ever; and I have had many.

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "I've said it all below."

Cons: "I've said it all below."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not one single trip to the dealer for repairs. This has been an outstanding SUV. MPG goes down in cold weather, and my head hits the door opening once in a while when getting in. I've kept this vehicle longer then any others I have owned due to its reliability and looks ( I still get complements on its looks after all these years). I've always believed a well maintained vehicle will be reliable, and bring in top dollar at trade-in time."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I have been very satisfied with this SUV.

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great vehicle to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"a great car to drive. Love all the features it has."

Great car

By on Saturday, January 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "the car is a little pricey, but worth it."

Cons: "the center console box could be a little roomier."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the carn is big & roomy with out the bulk. It handles effortlessly on the road. The suspension is more like a truck, but I never felt safer than when *I am driving this car."

Ready to trade my 2008 Explorer

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I previously owned a 1999 Explorer, it was reliable, and I put over 240,000 miles on it before trading to a bigger Tahoe. Now that my kids have their own vehicles, I decided to get a smaller, more economical Explorer. I purchased the used 2008 Explorer with 50,000 miles (single owner) which was a trade in at a dealer. I thought I would get used to the smaller interior compared to the Tahoe, but after a year, it is still cramped with another adult in the front seat, leaves no room in the back seats for other adults. THings started to fall apart: rear window wiper, rubber seals, then the radiator just fell apart-plastic & aluminum construction. I'm ready to trade it before more things fall apart"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Wish They Still Made It

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, looks, quality, features"

Cons: "Not crazy about how the tilt steering wheel works."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my fourth Explorer. Great vehicle from a quality and reliability standpoint. Very good looking, comfortable, surprising handling, especially the turning radius. I like this much better than the new Explorer; better value, rear-wheel drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Dependable, Comfortable, Spacious

By on Friday, December 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride, quality, appearance, spacious"

Cons: "mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have put 130,000 miles on my Explorer since 11/08. Oil changes, thermostat housing, brakes and tires. Bought it knowing it had been wrecked, but price made me take a chance. Has never been aligned and doesn't wear tires. Had to replace one suspension bolt in the front that they missed when it was originally repaired. Gets about 20mpg on highway and about 15 in town. Good in snow. Rides great. Tows 5k with no problem. I would own another one in a heartbeat."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

LOVE

By on Monday, December 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun and easy to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the Explorer's. I have had 6 Ford Explorers and I have loved every one of them. I keep buying newer models, but each time I hate to get rid of my old one because I love it. I have not found a car, truck or SUV that turns, parks or drives as easy as the Explorer. On my way to buy one now."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car, still drives like new, everything

By on Thursday, October 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"great car, still drives like new, everything"

Great replacement for my Cadillac!

By on Thursday, October 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, great for family, plush enough for momma!"

Cons: "Maintenance more than mom's Highlander same year"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We replaced our Cadillac STS family sport sedan with the Eddie Bauer edition Ford Explorer when we found out we were having another child (we would no longer fit in the STS)! The comfort and plushness of a Cadillac is a hard act to follow, but this Explorer fit the need. It's a beautiful and comfy ride, every bit as plush as my sedan. That may be because of the Eddie Bauer package, I am not sure but this Explorer is really decked out. Two tone paint, premium wheels, suede/leather seats, wood trim (faux, but nice), premium sound, nav, dvd entertainment system with wireless headphones -- The Works! The family has plenty of room for themselves and their 'gear'. The V-8 will take on any road, no struggles even loaded down with the whole family. I am very pleased with it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

excellent suv

By on Tuesday, September 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "High RPS-Reliability,Performance,Satisfaction!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this car new and presently have less than 15,300 miles. I have had no problems and highly recommend its purchase!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Friday, August 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good, safe car"

Cons: "burn more gas than other explorers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The is the third explorer we've owned. I is by far the best vehicle we have ever owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details