Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2006 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 406 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 82 | Next

Great truck but little room

By on Thursday, April 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "reliable, fun to drive"

Cons: "not enough cup holders, no enough leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love my truck but don't buy if you have older kids. My kids can barely get in the second row. There is no leg room when my husband (6' tall) drives. It has never had brakes, battery, belts, or anything replaced & we have 70K miles on it. Never had to wonder if it was going to start."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my Exployer XLT in April, 07 and I love it. I do not have one complaint about it. My husband and I have driven it from Florida to TN and on to IN. It was the most comfortable ride we have ever had. The third row seating is excellent and very easy to operate. I love the Cirrus radio. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone. I have the V-6 and it performed wonderfully in the mountains. The leather seats are more comfortable than any I have ever had. ***** rating!!!!!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, May 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful, Comfortable, Dream to drive, Economical"

Cons: "absolutely no cons what so ever!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The Ford Explorer is the nicest vehicle I have ever owned. It fits me in all categories. It is beautiful enough to give you a little class without drawing attention to you. The interior is so comfortable and spacious without being a big boat. Good gas mileage and absolutely no problems in the 7 years I have owned it. I am buying a Ford Explorer Sport and my best friend has been waiting for me to sell him my car! Best Car Ever!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

PLAN TO BUY OUR FIFTH EXPLORER SOON

By on Monday, September 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT VALUE"

Cons: "SUSPENSION A LITTLE STIFF"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"WE BOUGHT THIS CAR USED IN 2009 WITH 15000 MILES ON IT. WE HAVE HAD ONLY ONE REPAIR WHICH WAS A DEFECTIVE SHIFT LEVER. WE GOT 62000 MILES OUT OF THE ORIGINAL TIRES. WE HAVE OWNED THREE OTHER EXOLORERS AND OLAN TO BUY ANOTHER THIS YEAR. WE GET OVER 21 MPG ON A LONG HIGHWAY TRIP. WE CAN GET MORE STUFF IN OUR CAR THAN OUR FRIENDS' ESCALADE OR YUKON. I WOULD RECCOMEND EXPLORERS TO ANYONE."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great from the start

By on Sunday, May 22, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This suv is everything I expected. I purchased it new in 2006 and have had no problems. Very quick V8 and handles very well. Very comfortable on long trips. Much quiter than the older models. Milage is much better at 70 than at 75. Approx. 21.3 on my last two trips of over 1,000 miles. Would only change the silly looking shift selector."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 82 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals