Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2006 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 400 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next

BEST explorer I ever owned

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfect vehicle"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned 7 Explorers. I usually trade every 3 years , but I didn't care for the new body style. I use this to carry a kayak, pull my boat, carry lumber, carry rock/stone for projects, yet my friends ask me to borrow it for their wedding parties to travel. It is classy, it shines up like a new penny! Paint quality is superb."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Decent vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent to drive"

Cons: "Transmission issue"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"As usual ford missed the chance to address their famous transmission issue. This was the first thing I had to fix on this car, and problem is still on going. This has led me to finance another vehicle, which will not be a Ford."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle.

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "the hand grab on passenger side should be higher."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned a 2002, 2005 and this 2010. I would be interested in purchasing another one in the near future. I do wish they came in a light to medium blue color."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Wife likes it

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,479

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, nice looking and handling car"

Cons: "No room for big people, MPG could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this car new for the wife, she likes it for her. I am tall, heavy set with major back problems and there is not enough room for me to driver or ride comfortable. Road noise is louder then my pickup and also a rougher ride. Car has been reliable, handles and drives great in ice and snow conditions. MPG overall is 18. Have had no problems with power train, motor, or interior items."

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

This truck has treated me well for years!

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "spacious, reliable, easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any problems with my 08 Explorer Eddie Bauer. It has run great since I bought it certified 3 years ago. It is spacious and pretty luxurious for an older SUV. An all around great truck, if the new Explorers weren't priced like Cadillac SUV's I just might give one of them a go."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've Owned

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Reliable, Quiet, Convinient"

Cons: "Not the best transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have to say, this truck is the best vehicle I've owned. My only complaint about this truck is the shifting. It's 2010 and I'd expect to be a lot smoother than what I had on my 00 Accord. It's not that it's hard shifting or clunking. It might also be due to my last car being a manual so I took care of all the shifting. It is extremely comfortable I must say. I have the base model and still get to enjoy comfort which goes a long way. The 4x4 setting is phenomenal. No clunking or hearing any noises when changing the drivetrain. It drives in the snow as if driving on a dry road."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Have had only minor problems. Never failed me.

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable. Roomy. Comfortable."

Cons: "Design is not up to my older 68 Explorer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Use it for everything...travel, golf outings, local driving. Do maintenance every 5 K (oil, ect.) I had to replace tires at 42000 and that has been the only major expense. Interior is not as good as my previous Explorer-headliner coming loose over the front windows, no cargo net and those crazy door openers. Overall tho it has been and is a great car."

4 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Terrible reliability and very expensive to repair

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Great 4 by 4"

Cons: "Not reliable same part break over and over again"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This vehicle was purchased with 60K on its and its has had so many repairs including a new tranny that is now leaking once again after 15K miles. Its definitely a Fix or Repair Daily aka FORD. Haven't owned a Ford since 1995 when I bought this one for the same reason lots of repair and a car that self destructed. When the Explorer is running its great, but even the shops around nickname this model as an Exploder!"

6 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Love this truck!

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, fun to drive, looks good, comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I do lots of highway driving and this vehicle is comfortable and reliable time after time."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

8y. happily together

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Strength, engine, comfort inside, reliability"

Cons: "no Bluetooth and usb, low mileage per miles,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Explorer 2006 automatic transmission v6

"i bought this Explorer brand new in 2006. I've had no problem with it except some computer issues. However, I think these have been mistakes of the guys who did the service at the agency. I've had him for 57,800 miles and it is still running without any issues! I hope it will last for a little longer without the need of spending any big cash on it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Explorer 2006 automatic transmission v6

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals