Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2005 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 1058 Ratings for the 2002 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    7.9/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 212 | Next

Had this vehicle the longest ever

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck used in 2003 with 20K miles on it and brand new tires. I have since put on over 180K miles on it driving it up and down interstate 95 visiting family and friends. This truck is very roomy and comfortable whether traveling with just my family of 4 or taking my teenage daughter and 6 of her friends sometimes, everyone fits. No real mechanical problems to speak of just usual brakes, oil and filter, transmission fluid change, new set of tires, did do back differential but that seems to common. I live in Long Island NY so it has been snow, hail, rain and heat. No rust and paint still looks good, a few minor scratches and dings but hey truck is 12 years old. Would love to get another one but just too expensive and I would like to cut down on the 70 per week gas fill up. But absolutely loved my explorer and glad I made the purchase all those years ago."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

STAY AWAY!!!

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I don't own this car

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Comfy"

Cons: "awful gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Pleasee.....do your self a favor and aviod this car! I got this car in 2006, 57,000 milage, and it just broke down for good at 124,000! Everything was wrong with it, I mainted it, yet it still was awful, HORRIBLE ON GAS!!!!! This car was the worst experience, every week or 2 it was in the repair shop until it finally broke down for good November 2013! Good ridence!"

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This vehicle drives well in inclement weather and over harsh road conditions. Provides lots of space for all of the tall people in my family."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car!!!

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Super fun, hardy workhorse of a car!!"

Cons: "only seats five"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just love driving this car!!! (I am a woman) It is totally fun to drive, quick responding, easy to view other cars in mirrors, just a real blast. I picked this car up at a lot for cheap, so when the reverse didn't work, it was no big deal to replace the transmission. The car has an internal check you can do, it tells you everything, when to change the oil, etc, really convenient. You can be sure everything is working. This suv is hardy, durable, and can pack a load, I moved across country and it went very smoothly. A real workhorse of a truck!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Its a great suv hasnt gave me many problems

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "few cosmetics that need to be fixed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love it it runs great it hasnt gave me hardly any problems I have had it for 2 years . It has a few cosmetic problems but nothing horrible"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 212 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals