Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2005 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 1108 Ratings for the 2002 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 222 | Next

By FAR, best veh I've owned

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING!"

Cons: "None in my opinion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought "my baby" used in 2005. By far, it is the best and my most favorite vehicle I've ever owned. Has lots of get up & go, very few mechanical problems that weren't simple "wear" type things. Sure, it's a Ford so I've replaced all suspension parts, not because they failed, simply because they're wear items and I wanted to keep it running & driving smoothly. Those are items you'd have to replace on any SUV/Truck after 100+, and ... you've got to do that kind of stuff eventually. I've found it to be relatively inexpensive to maintain & repair. i would recommend it to ANYONE! I'll keep mine as long as I can! :)"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very dependable vehicle

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"HAVE BEEN VERY SATISFIED WITH THE OVERALL PERFORMANCE OF THIS VEHICLE. BUT HAD TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION REBUILT AT 97K NOT HAPPY ABOUT THAT BUT IT HAPPENS. STILL PURCHASED A NEW 2014 EXPLORER THOUGH. REALLY LIKED THE LOOKS OF THE NEW STYLING, MY WIFE ABSOLUTELY LOVES THIS VEHICLE THE REAR VIEW CAMERA IS GREAT"

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Dependable, powerful, roomy, can pull a a trailer.

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Carrying capacity, ruggedness, towing ability."

Cons: "Poor gas mileage in town, exterior flaws."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought new in '05. Intermittent "miss" in engine that Ford never figured out. Paint failed in year two. So-so gas mileage (not surprised.) Had to replace front ball joints at 70K miles, and replace inside and outside axle bearings on both sides of rear-end around 90-100K miles. Biggest complaint is the crack in the panel below the rear lift gate glass. It was caused by cold weather and poor design and Ford wouldn't fix it after warranty. Poor workmanship and dealer service on that particular part. However, I still prefer the design over the 2011 and subsequent years."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Neat

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacous, Comfortable, Tough."

Cons: "Gas, High Roll-Over risk on sharp, fast turns."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Gas is slightly better than you'd expect for a SUV. very comfortable and reliable, only down fall is ya gotta go slow and wider on turns than the small pick up truck I had previously. Bit that too is expected with a SUV."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

horrible suv

By on Sunday, December 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "decent exterior and interior roomy"

Cons: "transmission problems, front hubs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I bought this subject 2 years ago for my mom and nothing but problems. It has numerous problems since we bought it. Like transmission to front hubs"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 222 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals