Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2004 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 1102 Ratings for the 2002 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 221 | Next

very dependable vehicle

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"HAVE BEEN VERY SATISFIED WITH THE OVERALL PERFORMANCE OF THIS VEHICLE. BUT HAD TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION REBUILT AT 97K NOT HAPPY ABOUT THAT BUT IT HAPPENS. STILL PURCHASED A NEW 2014 EXPLORER THOUGH. REALLY LIKED THE LOOKS OF THE NEW STYLING, MY WIFE ABSOLUTELY LOVES THIS VEHICLE THE REAR VIEW CAMERA IS GREAT"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Dependable, powerful, roomy, can pull a a trailer.

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Carrying capacity, ruggedness, towing ability."

Cons: "Poor gas mileage in town, exterior flaws."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought new in '05. Intermittent "miss" in engine that Ford never figured out. Paint failed in year two. So-so gas mileage (not surprised.) Had to replace front ball joints at 70K miles, and replace inside and outside axle bearings on both sides of rear-end around 90-100K miles. Biggest complaint is the crack in the panel below the rear lift gate glass. It was caused by cold weather and poor design and Ford wouldn't fix it after warranty. Poor workmanship and dealer service on that particular part. However, I still prefer the design over the 2011 and subsequent years."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Neat

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacous, Comfortable, Tough."

Cons: "Gas, High Roll-Over risk on sharp, fast turns."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Gas is slightly better than you'd expect for a SUV. very comfortable and reliable, only down fall is ya gotta go slow and wider on turns than the small pick up truck I had previously. Bit that too is expected with a SUV."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

horrible suv

By on Sunday, December 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "decent exterior and interior roomy"

Cons: "transmission problems, front hubs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I bought this subject 2 years ago for my mom and nothing but problems. It has numerous problems since we bought it. Like transmission to front hubs"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Par for the course

By on Friday, December 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Style, design, comfort"

Cons: "TERRIBLE transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Overall it's a good vehicle, but do NOT buy the 6 cylinder. Tranny shot out at 124k miles. You have to see a dealer to check fluid levels; rear air vents are messing up (knocking sound even when the heat/air system is off). The CD player froze, the volume knob doesn't work. Despite maintaining this vehicle everything is falling apart. This vehicle has completely turned me away from Ford. Still own this car and can't decide whether to fix it or cut my losses."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 221 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals