Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2004 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 1114 Ratings for the 2002 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 223 | Next

Most reliable vehicle I've owned in 25 years .

By on Saturday, May 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Almost no mechanical failures , very good ride , superb towing capacity. Exterior finishes look almost new. Hope to find a newer model much like it."

Has been a great vehicle

By on Tuesday, April 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,570

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has cup holders for all three rows of seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"air conditioner will freeze you out. Heater will roast you out. Has all weather tires on it. Since I don't work I used it for household errands. Seats 7 people. Transmission was just serviced a little over a month ago. Passes smog with no problem. Oil was changed about 1500 miles ago. I do have some of service records. Only had general maintenance on it. Air & Heat is in the front and back with controls in the back."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

the sucker always starts.

By on Monday, April 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "price was ok, bought a leftover. had a kid driver"

Cons: "All the stuff that keeps breaking!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"It has 160,000 miles on it. The door ajar light is always on. So I had to remove the overhead light bulb as it never turned off. The latch that keeps the hood up is broken. The window on the tailgate won't open. The side mirror adjustment doesn't work. The CD player eats CD's. The ABS system light comes on periodically but the system is fine. Headliner is pinned up in front. I needed the transmission rebuilt and the front rotors repaired; the back ones are next. The back brakes are original and I've replaced the front ones once. The air conditioner doesn't work as well as it should. The mechanism holding the spare tire broke so I carry the spare in the back. But the sucker always starts. Every time but I don't know for how long. It's been rear ended several times; the damage doesn't show. The paint is starting to degrade but this is Florida and I have no garage. All I can say is that it starts every time."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A real SUV. Great in deep snow.

By on Thursday, April 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Got a great price on this vehicle. Reliable."

Cons: "Low on Hi Tech gagetry. Not too good gas milage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Solid, well built, reliable, does not need repairs often. Not very hi-tech compared to today's models. Good - very good sound system. DVD. Dual AC but averages 14 MPG."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

VERY DEPENDABLE,GARAGE KEPT TILL THIS YEAR

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Get you out of any situation"

Cons: "uses a little to much gas, 15 town,18 highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"CRACK ON PANEL BELOW REAR WINDSHEILD WIPER,LITTLE BIT OF RUST ON REAR FENDER,CHANGED ALL FRONT END STABILIZERS AND SWAY BARS, STILL NICE AND TIGHT, CHANGED OIL EVERY 4,000 MILES"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 223 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals