Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2003 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 1097 Ratings for the 2002 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 110 | Next

The Explorer has been reliable

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good value for reliable transportation."

Cons: "SUVs have truck like handling."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I would buy another but for price escalations w/o comparable salary increases in past ten years. ."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle!

By on Thursday, December 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and easy to get in and out of."

Cons: "Fuel economy stinks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"If you aren't overly worried about fuel economy, this is a great vehicle. The feature I didn't like, was that it didn't have the option of taking it off of AWD. Everyone who ever rode with me in this vehicle LOVED the smooth ride and comfort. Because it is a bit older now (12 yrs at the time I write this), it ended up having some mechanical issues (blew a rod in the motor even though I was faithful with oil changes, etc.). Over all though, a great SUV...not too big and not too small...just right."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great value"

Cons: "burs more gas than smaller vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new, I'm told 300K miles out of a vehicle is great value."

has been good car

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Good car"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Has been very reliable

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,650

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Love this Explorer"

Cons: "Windows in rear jamed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Have put new transmission other than this very few repairs over the 10 years I have owned this Explorer"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Last of the truck based suvs

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4wd, roomy, reliable, truck frame, value"

Cons: "low resale value good for buyer, bad for seller"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At 140k it uses 0 oil between changes (4.6 v8). Changed shocks and struts at 100k, drives like a sports car. Our "offroad" is snow. I'd give it an 8 there. Quad capt chairs with 3rd row seat gives roomy interior. Given the low resale value in combination with the reliable long term performance and general utility this vehicle it a top value."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very Safe and reliable!!

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Upgraded to newer

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, safe, comfortable"

Cons: "V6 so in gas not as good that the V4"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Ford Explorer and didn't have any mechanical problems with any of this two, very reliable, never dumped me in the road, enought space for shopping, great in snowed road, definetely I will buy another one!"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, comfortable, roomy"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This 2005 Ford Explorer has been a fantastic vehicle for me. Very reliable, very comfortable, I got the V8 so it has great acceleration for this size of vehicle. I can't think of a single thing to complain about."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

love this vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,110

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Its comfortable, can tow, lots of room, not too bad on gas, smooth drive."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great truck/suv

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "looks good, cargo or seating are great & tows well"

Cons: "really; can't think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"has always been one of the most reliable vehicles i have had the pleasure of of driving. it's no sports car but it handles very well and is very good on mpg especially for a suv that weighs approx. three tons. we average 17.5-23.5 everywhere we go."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 110 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals