Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2003 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 1075 Ratings for the 2002 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.8/10
  • Reliability
    7.9/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 108 | Next

This is my second Ford Explorer 6 cyl.

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Roomy, nice and clean interior."

Cons: "Engines fall out of the vehicle at 93000 miles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This vehicle is just what my wife and I wanted. So we though. Roomy interior, excellent inside, comfortable, all the bells and whistles. BUT.... this is the 2nd Ford explorer, at 93k miles, has needed MAJOR engine repairs totaling this time, over $3000. I will never own another one, ever. as long as I live. The first one, ended it's life at 93000 due to the camshaft seals allowing the crank shaft something or another, to have the engine pulled - fixed and replaced. THIS one, just had a timing belt issue, which ruined the engine. NOT A happy camper."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Awesome Vehicle! I am 60+ and want another one

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Vehicle Size is perfect; 3rd row seat is a plus"

Cons: "Needs more USB slots - glove box & rear seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We leased the Explorer LTD, and at the end of our 3 year lease, we purchased the vehicle. I am a 60 year old grandma, and I just LOVE this car. It "turns on a dime" - the driving radius is incredible. It is extremely comfortable to sit in, I feel safe in this vehicle. I will be purchasing a NEW Explorer within the next few months! I can not imagine life without an Explorer. It is PERFECT for hauling our toddler grandson and all of his "gear"! We babysit him everyday, and the Explorer has been fantastic."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

SALVAGE TITLE

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I don't own this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"THIS IS CAR TITLE SALVAGE, I NEED TO KNOW WHAT IS THE APROX VALUE"

I've had this SUV for 5 years and its been GREAT

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Eddie Bauer edition is awesome and it looks good."

Cons: "V-8 lots of POWER but not that great on mpg 20hwy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good car overall since we got it!! We got it used but in great shape and it is still in the same shape V-8 is super but it does waste gas but if you drive like a normal person you wont regret getting it."

Good reliable vehicle, good in snow.

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,863

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable cloth seats otherwise as above."

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"9/10 Good reliable vehicle, good in snow."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

major problems with rearend after 60000 miles

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"1st year after model change over, absolutely horrendous rear end.Nothing but problems after 65000 miles. Thousands of $$$ put into rear end repairs. Will never buy a first year of a model change over again."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This suv is great for kids too!

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Spacious and comfortable"

Cons: "Gas, and sensor lights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car is great because it is so spacious that the kids have their own space and DVD to watch. It can pull a boat or camper. Great for getting the family trip done with one car. I can send pictures if you email me."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,020

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fantastic driving and control."

Cons: "ashtray, chip key-costly, hassle to replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love everything about my explorer, the only thing I would have changed is to go to a 4wd. The color steel/charcoal grey is beautiful. Interior, tan is easy care. A very smooth ride. Excellent steering, braking. Bought it used, had some issues with the dealer, minor fixes. Went ahead and went to some one else. In two years that I had it, perfect running condition. Fits my family of five comfortably, and I installed dvd/video system. Slider and reciever as well, great hauling, great on dirt roads, handled well in snow."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle ever!!!!

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All around I cant complain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Okay I want to first start off by saying I owned 2 Ford Cars and hated it and swore up and down for all the issues I went threw with Ford and the cars I Said I would never buy a Ford Again. However For some reason something told me to buy a Ford Explorer. So I did and I have to say I have owned so many cars and this one is my favorite. I have 181000 2004 and have no issues no leaks no nothing. Cant wait to purchase a FORD truck in the future. I love My Explorer"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Junk Tranny

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Nice ride, great in snow"

Cons: "BAD TRANSMISSION"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I am currently on my 3rd or 4th transmission (lost track). The trannys are sealed and are, for lack of a better term, JUNK. Blown seals, transmission pumps etc. Nothing but a headache. Had I known this before I bought it, I never would have purchased it. The history of the '03 Explorer is noted for the bad transmissions. I am living proof of that."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 108 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals