Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2002 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 1110 Ratings for the 2002 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 222 | Next

VERY DEPENDABLE,GARAGE KEPT TILL THIS YEAR

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Get you out of any situation"

Cons: "uses a little to much gas, 15 town,18 highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"CRACK ON PANEL BELOW REAR WINDSHEILD WIPER,LITTLE BIT OF RUST ON REAR FENDER,CHANGED ALL FRONT END STABILIZERS AND SWAY BARS, STILL NICE AND TIGHT, CHANGED OIL EVERY 4,000 MILES"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

My favorite vehicle of all times

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Love almost everything about it"

Cons: "Third row is a pain to get into"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned many cars ,trucks, caravans and I have to say my 2004 FordEplorer is my favorite. It's definitly not a feminine vehicle .i have 189,000 miles with all origanal parts. I finally had to replace parts but only had to spend $2,500 for all new tires, bearing, upper lower control arm, alignment some rear work as well. This Truck never stood me wrong. I love how it rides. Mind you its not a smooth ride like a Honda pilot. This is a manly truck. I am afraid to get a newer model, newer is not always better"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good looking vehicle; replace the engine.

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "See complete review above."

Cons: "See complete review above."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Many new parts in last year: transmission, tires, exhaust, wheel bearings, brakes, recertify 4x4 system, and many others. This vehicle is Fire Red and still looks great. Clacking in engine is why I'm selling (200K). It has a very good value to the right buyer and should last another 3-5 years since so much has been replaced already. I hate to sell this as I'm the original new car owner and I've maintained it very well all the time."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great vehicle"

Cons: "too many electronics on car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great all around vehicle. Original owners. Didn't start having any major issues until we hit 200,000 miles. Lot of electronic issues since then. Some we have fixed, others we ignore. Wish Ford would have kept the original body of the Explorer, new style doesn't have as much room. Car runs like a champ. We are trying to get a million miles out of her."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

good on dirt and mountain roads. decent gas mpg

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "4 wheel drive decent mpg. third row seat."

Cons: "not many. plastic on back cracks on all of them"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"served its purpose. Good on dirt and mountain roads. decent mpg for a v8 with 4 wheel drive. Used for camping and boarding. over all a 7 or 8 of 10. more room than toyota and way better than a blazer. I know ive owned both. Third row seat."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 222 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals