Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2000 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 1110 Ratings for the 1995 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 45 | Next

Great Truck for the money

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, price"

Cons: "Third Brake light issues, no factory CD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable if properly maintained. No major maintenance issues throughout the vehicle's life. 3rd brake light replacement issues appear to be consistent with all Explorers of this year range. Has definitely been a good, solid all-around vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very dependable, comfortable, and safe

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I liked the truck feel when driving, had very few problems, some minor electrical issues with the lights for the radio in the dashboard"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very satisfied

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great drive"

Cons: "not made for long legged tall men"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car since 2001 and it has never been in the shop for anything. My wife has been the only driver of this car and she loves it. Her Dad sold Fords for 18 yrs. until he retired. But this car was purchased from a totally different dealer and we haven't ever regretted it for one minute. The only thing that has kept it from being a ten is the fact that I can't drive it because I'm to tall, but she loves it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable with minimal problems

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 334,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After 334,000 miles there are 5 issues 1. Check Engine Light - Transmission codes but the car still drives very well 2. Heater blend door - Stuck on high heat unless Max a/c is used and then blows nice and cold 3. Drivers power door lock doesn't work correctly 4. ABS light on - the right front ABS sensor wire fell off the mount and rubbed on the CV boot causing a failure on that sensor 5. Left turn signal switch doesn't work properly. you have to hold it in place. After 334,000 miles how can we complain. I am trying to sell it now after my wife bought a new car last week but this thing has never left her stranded. We have changed several parts over the years but with some know-how and good tools there was nothing I couldn't take care of at home in the driveway. Intake gaskets were the biggest job we did a couple of years ago. If you can find one of these with low miles and need an SUV I highly recommend it. Probably one of the best years for Ford Explorers."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This is the most reliable vehicle I have owned.

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Daughter needed a vehicle

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable."

Cons: "Gas milage hurts a little. 16-17 in town. 22 hwy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I cannot speak highly enough of this vehicle. It took care of me for 12 years flawlessly and has carried my daughter for the past 6. No major repairs in the 18 years. Replaced the Water pump and Alternator at 200000 not because they failed, just because they hit 200K."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

340,000 miles, 17 years old. Best car ever owned

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 340,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought it in 98, it had 17,000 miles on it. It is still good looking, and is just the best, most trouble free car we've ever owned. Our trusted mechanic, last 25 years, friend and fellow parishoner, has advised us to sell it,right now, while we still can: apparently it's not supposed to live this long...go figure."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love it every time i drive it

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 327,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"always dependable always pretty"

I purchased this vehicle new and loved it 17 years

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,195

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car I ever owned. Love the moon roof."

Cons: "Rides a little rough in town."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car new in 1996 and it never let me down or stranded me anywhere. It drives great on the interstate but rides a little bumpy around town. Love the moon roof and it has never leaked. I had do some fancy driving a few times to avoid someone pulling out in front of me and it held its ground when I swerved on a dime. I now own a 2013 Ford Explorer and love it also."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle ever!!

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive, AWESOME car,reliable beyond belief"

Cons: "electric sys. needs ovrhaul.It's painfully flawed!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"WE have owned this car, since 2001. Bought it with 24K miles on it. It does have glitches, such as the electrical system, it has had several "what the hecks", regarding that. That being said, however, this car is BEYOND BELIEF, and has changed my thinking of Explorer's. We have 207K miles on it. We recently had to go from NM to CA, on a emergency. We had no choice, but to take this car, and I was worried sick it would NOT make the trip. I was so incredibly surprised when it not only made the trip, but had NO ISSUES WHATSOEVER, on the way there, back, or now. It is the most reliable car I have ever owned. I truly have become one of the largest fans this vehicle can have. Would I buy another? In a New York Minute!! I would HIGHLY recommend this car to anyone, and everyone. It has the BEST mechanical system I have ever seen, and I would GLADLY purchase another one!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great vechile

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A joy to drive handles great in all weather condit"

Cons: "Parking brake not easy to set."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I found this vechile to be very dependable and comfortable. I have owned it for 16 years. I purchased it with 14500. It now has 200000. I just replaced the original water pump with 199000 miles on it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

engine knocks will, trans not go into overdrive,

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 299,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "it runs"

Cons: "internal engine work tranny overhaul electric repr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Engine knocks and skips, mechanic cannot remedy skip without head repair. Rust is extensive ... so bad that running boards are falling off. Rear stabilizer bar needs all bushings replaced. Transmission will not go into overdrive, and shimmies between 40 to 50 mph. Mechanic says tranny needs overhaul or replacing. Estimates range $800 to $1500. Heater/ac fan only blows on high."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Okay for a granny wagon

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Nice to look at"

Cons: "No road presence"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Face it, I.was used to driving a full-sized bronco, then it broke and my son traded me the Explorer. The leather seats are comfy but there is no room up front for anything. Small handbag, chuck it in the back seat--just hit a passenger in the face? Throw it farther back. Gas mileage is good, the gas cap is a pain. Husband wants to haul some lumber? Nope. If you have carpal tunnel or (like me) synovitis, forget turning the ignition or opening the back hatch, they are too stiff. It is easy to get in and out of. Rides smooth and steers nicely. It is not an SUV, it is a gussied-up station wagon that is an okay vehicle."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great vehicle! !!

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,540

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4x4 is amazing!"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car and very reliable! So far my favorite classic car"

Love Sassy

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, takes a beating and keeps going"

Cons: "Age=interior issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car but she's on her last legs. Looking to buy an Escape hybrid next. Rue the idea of monthly car note so gonna drive her until she can't roll any further."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This has been one of the better vehicles we own.

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Sturdy, reliable, runs great"

Cons: "I don't like where they put the emergency brake."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought this as a first car for our youngest daughter. It has proven itself time & again as one of the better vehicles that ford ever designed & produced. She was just recently in a head on collision, not her fault, her car drove away the other vehicle didn't."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

We have owned since 1997 and has been a great car.

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A car you can depend on."

Cons: "The CD changer is has some CD's stuck in it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The motor is strong, and the Auto Transmission was rebuilt by experts. It is a great starter car or second car etc. It has been a good vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

i love my car

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "ac, auto windows, auto lock door"

Cons: "2 out of 4 doors are kinda difficult to open"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love my car i just need something bigger. i have 4 kids and not enough room!!"

Loved this car! Never had any major problems.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Still going strong at 217,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove this car for several years,then passed on to both of my teen sons. Great car! Only required regular maintainance."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

car runs very good

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great buy"

Cons: "equiped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"must sell just bought another car"

Everything I've needed in a car

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Ridiculous cargo room- I've even slept in the back"

Cons: "Divers seat is a little cramped (I'm 6ft though)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had my 1999 Explorer Sport for 11 years now. It has 180,000 mi and I only now have started having persistent problems with it but still nothing major. I blame this on the previous owner, he didn't take care of it well but I've loved this thing and babied it since I got it. It's highly reliable, I've even driven it across the country. Drives amazingly in snow/ice, I lived in MA for 7 years- never got stuck once. I still get 21 MPG's highway. It handles well, rugged, powerful (the 4.0 is nice). I have had to replace the alternator 3 times though, which I believe is a common issue with these; but it's an easy repair. Overall I loved this vehicle and will only replace when I have to."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great interior package that you can't get anymore."

Cons: "V8 is way to hard on gas mileage!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought my truck new and it's been with me for 14 years, aside from the gas mileage being too low with the V8, it's been a great truck for all my needs."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Been VERY reliable

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Truck came from Washington state and I bought it second hand with 96k miles while living in New England. This truck has been across this country 4 times and back and forth between New England and Ohio countless times. I am a single woman and have had no problems with it and now I am thinking of selling it. It is great what regular oil changes and maintenance will do for a car! I had the blower motor replaced and the guy cracked the cowl that circles the radio/controls and it is duct tapped on. She still runs and has always been dependable. This truck has never failed to start. I hate to get rid of her."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Loved it while it lasted!

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,150

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great tow vehicle, goes anywhere!"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought this vehicle seven years ago for only $3,500! It had been rear-ended, bumper damage only. I straightened the supports and put another bumper on from a junkyard. I put 70K miles on it since I bought it, towing everything from boats to big travel trailers. It's had its share of minor problems, including failure of the heating/cooling system (has only full heat or max air conditioning now; can't adjust temperature). But I neglected to change the tranny oil or filter in 70K miles, and now the torque converter is failing. Wish I hadn't been so stupid; I love this truck. But it's not worth another $3K for a rebuilt tranny. But I'd recommend this car to anyone who needs a great family vehicle that's also a workhorse!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Hasn't failed me yet!

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,650

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great 4x4, timeless design, comfortable cabin"

Cons: "horrible gas mileage, underpowered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

The day I got it! Clean & lookin' sharp.

"So this was my first truck, and I bought it used with just over 150k miles about a year ago. It's a 1997 Explorer Sport, and this thing has just blown me away. I've put almost 40k miles on it in the last year, and I haven't had a single problem other than an $8 heater control valve. Every morning it starts without hesitation, even with the unusual winter we've had in NC. Which brings me to one of my biggest points; the 4x4 on this truck is incredible. My Explorer is equipped with the optional limited slip differential, combined with the ControlTrak 4x4 system, I had no issues in the snow and ice. I have to drive in moderate off road/muddy conditions every day, and I have never had a problem, even running with cheap Dextero street tires. I drive it hard, take 7-8 hour long trips frequently, off road daily, and haul friends and family everywhere. It's comfortable, it runs smooth, it's got plenty of towing torque, and it's safe. I do have a few complaints though. One, the base 4.0 OHV V6 is severely under-powered and requires a lead foot pulling out on to highways. The gas mileage is absolute garbage. It feels hesitant in tight corners, and the transmission is starting to shift hard. Considering what I put the truck through, I'm not surprised. To make up for those complaints though, I installed an aftermarket air intake, it gave a bit more power and improved the mileage by 2-3mpg. A $200 investment that's already paid for itself. All in all, this truck has never failed me, and is, for lack of better words, Built Ford Tough."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The day I got it! Clean & lookin' sharp.

GREAT BUY FOR THE MONEY BUT.........

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"EXPECT TO PUT SOME MONEY INTO DUE TO NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 45 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals