Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2000 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 1120 Ratings for the 1995 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 112 | Next

I have loved my Explorer.

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 325,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had very good luck with my Explorer. I have owned it from day one and have put all the miles on it. I only use about a quart of oil per oil change with over 300,000 miles on the engine. I love the v6SOHC motor. I have only done basic maintenance on the Explorer other than replacing the tranny in about 2003 due to a bearing going out and that was nothing I could have stopped from happening."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

In love

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price, reliable"

Cons: "hard to find replacement parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I absolutely love my Ford Explorer...the older versions, not the newer ones. The newer ones just don't do it for me. Compared my 2001 to my 2007 one, I much rather drive my 2001 Explorer. She's a little rough around the edges, but the drive in it is outstanding. She's been with me through thick and thin, she has her forever home."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Rugged, stylish, powerful, great road car"

Cons: "the big V-8 likes gas (15 mpg locally, 19 highway)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this vehicle since late 2001 (it was an Eddie Bauer "executive special" with nearly all Ford's extras at the time, AWD and the 5.0L V-8 engine). Consumer Reports gave this particular Explorer model the highest ratings I've ever seen for any US-made car, and it has lived up to those ratings totally. I've detailed it twice a year, and it still looks almost new, has an attractive light tan/green color with tan trim. Carefully maintained, my auto mechanic thinks it has many more years of life, and it would be an excellent used-car buy for a quality-seeker. It is frankly worth a good deal more than the current blue book value."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

One of my favorite cars ever

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All-around handy car for everything"

Cons: "wish it was a V-8 for more zip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"SUV is very utilitarian and versatile. Many excellent features i.e. - back up alarm; one button seat position changer; storage space, etc."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

SUV has been rebuilt front end and rear end.

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car and has 3000.00 in new parts in the front end and the rear end the air condition has been completely replaced"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

2000 Ford Explorer XLT

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,876

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this SUV for 6 months and I love it, but it's to small for my family. I'm looking for a chevy Tahoe or chevy suburban more likely a suburban. the suv looks and drives like bran new. it's fully loaded, I'm not a ford fan but this is the best ford suv I have owned."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle we've ever owned

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Worth the money, dependable"

Cons: "Interior & paint job haven't held up well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"2nd Owner. We purchased it in 2001 from a dealer. It now has over 200,000 miles on it. So far, we haven't replaced any major parts. The only problems we've had have been with the door locks and the speakers. Handles great in the snow."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very good family vehicle

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good for hauling things"

Cons: "needs new mats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I used this when I moved was good for moving boxes and small appliances.Plenty of space in cargo area"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the first AND third owner of the car. After trading it to my SIL when she had a baby, I bought it back from her when she told me she would turn it in for "Cash for Clunkers" in 2009. This car has been a champ...bought it brand-new in TX, then took it to FL in 2001. While in FL, did a few trips back to TX in it. Moved to CA in 2004, and then to WI in 2010. Not once has the car failed. Along the way, I replaced the radio when the factory installed one stopped displaying. I added running boards and a tow package, and replaced the engine thermostat, but other than that is still all OEM."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Most dependable vehicle I've owned

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Depenability"

Cons: "Minor issue with driver side window switch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our explorer has never let me down, from drifts on the closed interstate system of Wisconsin to the wacky blizzards of New Mexico. I love our Explorer Sport, it has never not started in the 13 years we've owned it and drives great in town or on a long trip."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 112 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals