Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 1113 Ratings for the 1995 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 214 215 216 ... 223 | Next

Great all around SUV

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This Suv is comfortable and great on the highway or in the city. However, it is not very gas efficient but it is not worst on gas than other vechicles of similar size. No major problems yet."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It's ok, wasn't too satisfied

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had this SUV for 2 years now, and just not satisfied, 2 days after i bought it, the tranny lost 1st gear and I had it rebuilt, and its going out again. Ever since, I have had to change the Idle Air Control, have transfer case work, replace the front drive shaft 2 times bc the CV Joint bearing blew out twice. and it chews through some brakes on my 98 and my sisters 01."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Explorer XLT

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"One of the best vehicles in snow and mud that I have ever driven. Also, the tow package is designed in a way that there is no receiver rattle when a trailer is behind. Downside is a relatively stiff ride. The V8 is relatively thirsty when compared to the V6 rivals being produced today."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Rough & Rugged!

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This has been my boat towing, gear hauling, people moving vehicle for 130,000 miles. I use it everyday in my real estate business, and I tow my boat across the Mojave from CA to NV on weekends for fun. Its been a great vehicle. My only complaint: I sure wouldn't mind a few more MPGs!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Explorer XLT

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I'd definitely buy another. Ours have been reliable, comfortable, convenient and roomy. We're keeping it for our son, he'll be driving soon!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 214 215 216 ... 223 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details