Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1998 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 1149 Ratings for the 1995 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 230 | Next

My Baby and one of the best trucks ive ever owned!

By on Saturday, May 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been so reliable and is a real quality vehicle. I am Only selling it because my parents decided to buy a new truck without my consent and i am having a terrible time with the idea of selling her. She is durable and has been my right hand vehicle to get out and go to tow anything ive put her way. If it was up to me id keep it until the end of days!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This has been the most reliable vehicle owned.

By on Saturday, April 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable, comfortable, easy to service"

Cons: "SUV gas mileage, plugs hard to reach"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have put 130k miles on this Explorer and have never touched the exhaust system, second set of tires, just put in a battery for the second time. I tow with it and sleep in the back at race events...comfortable in all ways. I have replaced front hubs, radiator, alternator, but on a cost/mile basis, this Explorer owes me nothing."

it was used for a third car!

By on Tuesday, April 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "crank and go out of town right now!"

Cons: "no a/c"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1996 ford explorer xl with a 162000 miles , it needs a idle sensor. It has a 4.0 liter motor, 2 WD, and all power! Me and my girl used to drive it in and out of town on trips. It cranks and runs right now!!! We have our own cars now and that one has to go!!!"

Strong and dependable

By on Saturday, April 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, fun to drive, nice amenities"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle new in Aug of 1996 and I've only had one major problem and it was caused by my wife not understanding the gauges on the dash. As you can imagine after almost 19 years of driving, it has some faults, but when I turn the key it starts and runs good."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Bullet-proof. Car has exceeded expectations.

By on Sunday, April 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "power, dependability"

Cons: "ride is truck-like"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car was my stepsons primary vehicle 13 years ago - and still runs strong. the 4.0L is excellent - albeit - you're only going to get 18 mpg. front end has needed work and the AC was repaired 10 years ago. Really have enjoyed this vehicle and it's multi-uses. Very dependable, easy on tires and batteries."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 230 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals