Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 1112 Ratings for the 1995 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 223 | Next

Great car

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the first AND third owner of the car. After trading it to my SIL when she had a baby, I bought it back from her when she told me she would turn it in for "Cash for Clunkers" in 2009. This car has been a champ...bought it brand-new in TX, then took it to FL in 2001. While in FL, did a few trips back to TX in it. Moved to CA in 2004, and then to WI in 2010. Not once has the car failed. Along the way, I replaced the radio when the factory installed one stopped displaying. I added running boards and a tow package, and replaced the engine thermostat, but other than that is still all OEM."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most dependable vehicle I've owned

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Depenability"

Cons: "Minor issue with driver side window switch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our explorer has never let me down, from drifts on the closed interstate system of Wisconsin to the wacky blizzards of New Mexico. I love our Explorer Sport, it has never not started in the 13 years we've owned it and drives great in town or on a long trip."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Truck for the money

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, price"

Cons: "Third Brake light issues, no factory CD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable if properly maintained. No major maintenance issues throughout the vehicle's life. 3rd brake light replacement issues appear to be consistent with all Explorers of this year range. Has definitely been a good, solid all-around vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very dependable, comfortable, and safe

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I liked the truck feel when driving, had very few problems, some minor electrical issues with the lights for the radio in the dashboard"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very satisfied

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great drive"

Cons: "not made for long legged tall men"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car since 2001 and it has never been in the shop for anything. My wife has been the only driver of this car and she loves it. Her Dad sold Fords for 18 yrs. until he retired. But this car was purchased from a totally different dealer and we haven't ever regretted it for one minute. The only thing that has kept it from being a ten is the fact that I can't drive it because I'm to tall, but she loves it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 223 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details