Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1997 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 1142 Ratings for the 1995 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 115 | Next

Still my favorite ride

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 282,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, reliability, long term."

Cons: "Center console will get an "arm spot" from elbow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had a lot of cars and trucks over the years, but none has been as good to me as my faithful Explorer has. The overwhelming majority of repairs are in wear parts (break pads, oil changes, tune-ups etc). I've personally put 212K of the 282k on this and am the second owner. I keep ending up driving this thing though I've bought newer cars and trucks I never have sold this and it stays as faithful as a fat old dog. It has plenty of power, but still manages to squeeze 18-20 mpg driving daily. I consider this to be the benchmark of what an SUV should be able to accomplish on a daily basis."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Transmission needs repair

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good running car, good engine and tires OK"

Excellent car with all the extras.

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "roomy interior, great price, a reliable car."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a luxury, top of the line Eddie Bower, Ford Explorer in excellent condition for a 1999 automobile. No smokers, no dogs. Tires are only 18 months old. Has never had any engine problems. Owner has maintained auto regularly - oil changes, new shocks, rotors, and breaks in last 3 years. Body and interior in perfect condition except for a small dent on right front bumper. Great driving in the mountains, getting 20 miles per gallon. A good city car too, using only 14 miles per gallon. When bought mileage at 13500, now only at 172 since 2012. These cars are known to last forever!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

this car is a very good car,and reliable.

By on Monday, February 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great features"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"just follow the standard procedures of maintainance,you will use this car for ever.it is the best car to depend on.you can use this car bearly for everything.bend the chairs,it becomes a full size pick up.with the chairs up,it is the best family car.the body work of this car is very solid for protection in case of accident.in short this car is cool."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good SUV

By on Sunday, February 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Owned since 99. The Pro: Been reliable. Normal wear/maintenance. Drives nice. AWD great. Easy to DIY maintenace. The con: Rocker easily rusts."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this truck. It always starts as expected.

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very dependeble."

Cons: "Could be better on gas, but I'm okay with it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck so much I want a newer one, however the year I would like to purchase is pretty pricy. Still looking into it though!"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very good running vehicle

By on Friday, November 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 323,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Vehicle runs well, the SOHC 4.0, has sufficient power to handle long distance driving. I would consider buying another explorer with this same engine."

23 people out of 32 found this review helpful

Excellent transportation for the past 16 years

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, looks great, Eddie Bauer features"

Cons: "Not too economical, but it does have a V8"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased our 1998 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer in 1999 when it had about 1,000 miles on it. It now has about 188,000 miles and is still going strong. The CD player and clock stopped working years ago, but we have experienced no major problems. The exterior and interior still look fantastic. The AWD served us well in the winter when we lived in Montana. On a long drive it is more comfortable than my wife's Cadillac CTS. We love the extra room when grocery shopping or going to the nursery. I never want to part with our reliable, faithful friend!"

14 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Very trustworthy has a 10 year old rebuilt engine

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable roomy comfortable New windshield & tires"

Cons: "Leather fr.seats have seam tears ,cig burns roof"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My other engine had to be replaced. Engine is a V 8 . But not an all wheel drive anymore. 2 wheel now. Has cigarette burns in ceiling and seats, seams , are ripped."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

very well maintaned

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "safe on and off road.AUTO all wheel drive"

Cons: "FRONT AND REAR AIR.AND RAIDO CONTROL . WITH CUP HO"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"new tires. brakes .rotors. shocks.battery. wind shield. SEVICED EVERY 4 THOUSOND MILES. ALL FLUIDS"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 115 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals