Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 1121 Ratings for the 1995 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 45 | Next

Overall mediocre, not reliable at all.

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Nice interior, tight turn radius"

Cons: "Mechanically unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Transmission went out twice. Mileage less than expected. Gear shift broke off in steering column. Just not mechanically reliable. Does have a nice interior."

I have loved my Explorer.

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 325,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had very good luck with my Explorer. I have owned it from day one and have put all the miles on it. I only use about a quart of oil per oil change with over 300,000 miles on the engine. I love the v6SOHC motor. I have only done basic maintenance on the Explorer other than replacing the tranny in about 2003 due to a bearing going out and that was nothing I could have stopped from happening."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

In love

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price, reliable"

Cons: "hard to find replacement parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I absolutely love my Ford Explorer...the older versions, not the newer ones. The newer ones just don't do it for me. Compared my 2001 to my 2007 one, I much rather drive my 2001 Explorer. She's a little rough around the edges, but the drive in it is outstanding. She's been with me through thick and thin, she has her forever home."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Rugged, stylish, powerful, great road car"

Cons: "the big V-8 likes gas (15 mpg locally, 19 highway)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this vehicle since late 2001 (it was an Eddie Bauer "executive special" with nearly all Ford's extras at the time, AWD and the 5.0L V-8 engine). Consumer Reports gave this particular Explorer model the highest ratings I've ever seen for any US-made car, and it has lived up to those ratings totally. I've detailed it twice a year, and it still looks almost new, has an attractive light tan/green color with tan trim. Carefully maintained, my auto mechanic thinks it has many more years of life, and it would be an excellent used-car buy for a quality-seeker. It is frankly worth a good deal more than the current blue book value."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

One of my favorite cars ever

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All-around handy car for everything"

Cons: "wish it was a V-8 for more zip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"SUV is very utilitarian and versatile. Many excellent features i.e. - back up alarm; one button seat position changer; storage space, etc."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

SUV has been rebuilt front end and rear end.

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car and has 3000.00 in new parts in the front end and the rear end the air condition has been completely replaced"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

2000 Ford Explorer XLT

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,876

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this SUV for 6 months and I love it, but it's to small for my family. I'm looking for a chevy Tahoe or chevy suburban more likely a suburban. the suv looks and drives like bran new. it's fully loaded, I'm not a ford fan but this is the best ford suv I have owned."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle we've ever owned

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Worth the money, dependable"

Cons: "Interior & paint job haven't held up well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"2nd Owner. We purchased it in 2001 from a dealer. It now has over 200,000 miles on it. So far, we haven't replaced any major parts. The only problems we've had have been with the door locks and the speakers. Handles great in the snow."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very good family vehicle

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good for hauling things"

Cons: "needs new mats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I used this when I moved was good for moving boxes and small appliances.Plenty of space in cargo area"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the first AND third owner of the car. After trading it to my SIL when she had a baby, I bought it back from her when she told me she would turn it in for "Cash for Clunkers" in 2009. This car has been a champ...bought it brand-new in TX, then took it to FL in 2001. While in FL, did a few trips back to TX in it. Moved to CA in 2004, and then to WI in 2010. Not once has the car failed. Along the way, I replaced the radio when the factory installed one stopped displaying. I added running boards and a tow package, and replaced the engine thermostat, but other than that is still all OEM."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Most dependable vehicle I've owned

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Depenability"

Cons: "Minor issue with driver side window switch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our explorer has never let me down, from drifts on the closed interstate system of Wisconsin to the wacky blizzards of New Mexico. I love our Explorer Sport, it has never not started in the 13 years we've owned it and drives great in town or on a long trip."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Truck for the money

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, price"

Cons: "Third Brake light issues, no factory CD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable if properly maintained. No major maintenance issues throughout the vehicle's life. 3rd brake light replacement issues appear to be consistent with all Explorers of this year range. Has definitely been a good, solid all-around vehicle."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very dependable, comfortable, and safe

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I liked the truck feel when driving, had very few problems, some minor electrical issues with the lights for the radio in the dashboard"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

very satisfied

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great drive"

Cons: "not made for long legged tall men"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car since 2001 and it has never been in the shop for anything. My wife has been the only driver of this car and she loves it. Her Dad sold Fords for 18 yrs. until he retired. But this car was purchased from a totally different dealer and we haven't ever regretted it for one minute. The only thing that has kept it from being a ten is the fact that I can't drive it because I'm to tall, but she loves it."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable with minimal problems

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 334,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After 334,000 miles there are 5 issues 1. Check Engine Light - Transmission codes but the car still drives very well 2. Heater blend door - Stuck on high heat unless Max a/c is used and then blows nice and cold 3. Drivers power door lock doesn't work correctly 4. ABS light on - the right front ABS sensor wire fell off the mount and rubbed on the CV boot causing a failure on that sensor 5. Left turn signal switch doesn't work properly. you have to hold it in place. After 334,000 miles how can we complain. I am trying to sell it now after my wife bought a new car last week but this thing has never left her stranded. We have changed several parts over the years but with some know-how and good tools there was nothing I couldn't take care of at home in the driveway. Intake gaskets were the biggest job we did a couple of years ago. If you can find one of these with low miles and need an SUV I highly recommend it. Probably one of the best years for Ford Explorers."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is the most reliable vehicle I have owned.

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Daughter needed a vehicle

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable."

Cons: "Gas milage hurts a little. 16-17 in town. 22 hwy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I cannot speak highly enough of this vehicle. It took care of me for 12 years flawlessly and has carried my daughter for the past 6. No major repairs in the 18 years. Replaced the Water pump and Alternator at 200000 not because they failed, just because they hit 200K."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

340,000 miles, 17 years old. Best car ever owned

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 340,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought it in 98, it had 17,000 miles on it. It is still good looking, and is just the best, most trouble free car we've ever owned. Our trusted mechanic, last 25 years, friend and fellow parishoner, has advised us to sell it,right now, while we still can: apparently it's not supposed to live this long...go figure."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love it every time i drive it

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 327,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"always dependable always pretty"

I purchased this vehicle new and loved it 17 years

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,195

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car I ever owned. Love the moon roof."

Cons: "Rides a little rough in town."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car new in 1996 and it never let me down or stranded me anywhere. It drives great on the interstate but rides a little bumpy around town. Love the moon roof and it has never leaked. I had do some fancy driving a few times to avoid someone pulling out in front of me and it held its ground when I swerved on a dime. I now own a 2013 Ford Explorer and love it also."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle ever!!

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive, AWESOME car,reliable beyond belief"

Cons: "electric sys. needs ovrhaul.It's painfully flawed!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"WE have owned this car, since 2001. Bought it with 24K miles on it. It does have glitches, such as the electrical system, it has had several "what the hecks", regarding that. That being said, however, this car is BEYOND BELIEF, and has changed my thinking of Explorer's. We have 207K miles on it. We recently had to go from NM to CA, on a emergency. We had no choice, but to take this car, and I was worried sick it would NOT make the trip. I was so incredibly surprised when it not only made the trip, but had NO ISSUES WHATSOEVER, on the way there, back, or now. It is the most reliable car I have ever owned. I truly have become one of the largest fans this vehicle can have. Would I buy another? In a New York Minute!! I would HIGHLY recommend this car to anyone, and everyone. It has the BEST mechanical system I have ever seen, and I would GLADLY purchase another one!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great vechile

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A joy to drive handles great in all weather condit"

Cons: "Parking brake not easy to set."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I found this vechile to be very dependable and comfortable. I have owned it for 16 years. I purchased it with 14500. It now has 200000. I just replaced the original water pump with 199000 miles on it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

engine knocks will, trans not go into overdrive,

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 299,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "it runs"

Cons: "internal engine work tranny overhaul electric repr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Engine knocks and skips, mechanic cannot remedy skip without head repair. Rust is extensive ... so bad that running boards are falling off. Rear stabilizer bar needs all bushings replaced. Transmission will not go into overdrive, and shimmies between 40 to 50 mph. Mechanic says tranny needs overhaul or replacing. Estimates range $800 to $1500. Heater/ac fan only blows on high."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Okay for a granny wagon

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Nice to look at"

Cons: "No road presence"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Face it, I.was used to driving a full-sized bronco, then it broke and my son traded me the Explorer. The leather seats are comfy but there is no room up front for anything. Small handbag, chuck it in the back seat--just hit a passenger in the face? Throw it farther back. Gas mileage is good, the gas cap is a pain. Husband wants to haul some lumber? Nope. If you have carpal tunnel or (like me) synovitis, forget turning the ignition or opening the back hatch, they are too stiff. It is easy to get in and out of. Rides smooth and steers nicely. It is not an SUV, it is a gussied-up station wagon that is an okay vehicle."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great vehicle! !!

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,540

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4x4 is amazing!"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car and very reliable! So far my favorite classic car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love Sassy

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, takes a beating and keeps going"

Cons: "Age=interior issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car but she's on her last legs. Looking to buy an Escape hybrid next. Rue the idea of monthly car note so gonna drive her until she can't roll any further."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 45 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals