Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 1135 Ratings for the 1995 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 227 | Next

Excellent transportation for the past 16 years

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, looks great, Eddie Bauer features"

Cons: "Not too economical, but it does have a V8"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased our 1998 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer in 1999 when it had about 1,000 miles on it. It now has about 188,000 miles and is still going strong. The CD player and clock stopped working years ago, but we have experienced no major problems. The exterior and interior still look fantastic. The AWD served us well in the winter when we lived in Montana. On a long drive it is more comfortable than my wife's Cadillac CTS. We love the extra room when grocery shopping or going to the nursery. I never want to part with our reliable, faithful friend!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very trustworthy has a 10 year old rebuilt engine

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable roomy comfortable New windshield & tires"

Cons: "Leather fr.seats have seam tears ,cig burns roof"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My other engine had to be replaced. Engine is a V 8 . But not an all wheel drive anymore. 2 wheel now. Has cigarette burns in ceiling and seats, seams , are ripped."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

very well maintaned

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "safe on and off road.AUTO all wheel drive"

Cons: "FRONT AND REAR AIR.AND RAIDO CONTROL . WITH CUP HO"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"new tires. brakes .rotors. shocks.battery. wind shield. SEVICED EVERY 4 THOUSOND MILES. ALL FLUIDS"

VERY RELIABLE / PROVIDES A COMFORTABLE & SAFE RIDE

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,028

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GOOD QUALITY & GREAT PRICE MEANS AN EXCELLENT BUY!"

Cons: "THE VEHICLE'S ONLY DOWNSIDE IS FUEL CONSUMPTION."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

1998 FORD EXPLORER SPORT: A STRONG, DEPENDABLE AND FUN TO DRIVE SPORT UTILITY VEHICLE THAT CAN PROVIDE A COMFORTABLE AND SAFE RIDE FOR ALL

"The vehicle remains sturdy and dependable despite its age and the number of miles it has been driven. It provides a comfortable ride to both driver and passenger(s) who will all feel safe and secure inside because of the vehicle's solid body construction. The engine and transmission work well and the suspension system is in great shape. Vehicle's interior and exterior are in very good condition. THE VEHICLE REMAINS STRONG AND DEPENDABLE DESPITE ITS AGE AND THE NUMBER OF MILES IT HAS BEEN DRIVEN. IT OFFERS BOTH THE DRIVER AND THE PASSENGER(S) A COMFORTABLE RIDE. EVERYBODY INSIDE FEELS SAFE AND SECURE BECAUSE OF THE VEHICLE'S STURDY BODY DESIGN. THE ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION ARE IN GREAT SHAPE. THE SUSPENSION AND BRAKING SYSTEMS WORK VERY WELL. THE EXTERIOR AND INTERIOR OF THE SUV ARE IN GOOD CONDITION. The vehicle is still strong and reliable despite its age and the number of miles it has been driven. It provides a very comfortable ride for both driver and passenger who also feel safe and protected while they are inside due to the vehicle's solid body construction. The engine and the transmission are both doing great. Suspension and under chassis are likewise in great shape."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

1998 FORD EXPLORER SPORT: A STRONG, DEPENDABLE AND FUN TO DRIVE SPORT UTILITY VEHICLE THAT CAN PROVIDE A COMFORTABLE AND SAFE RIDE FOR ALL

Very reliable vehicle, has never left me stranded.

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 249,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"purchased as a used vehicle. Comfortable to drive long distances. Has never broke down."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 227 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals