Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 1110 Ratings for the 1995 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 222 | Next

Great Truck for the money

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, price"

Cons: "Third Brake light issues, no factory CD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable if properly maintained. No major maintenance issues throughout the vehicle's life. 3rd brake light replacement issues appear to be consistent with all Explorers of this year range. Has definitely been a good, solid all-around vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very dependable, comfortable, and safe

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I liked the truck feel when driving, had very few problems, some minor electrical issues with the lights for the radio in the dashboard"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very satisfied

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great drive"

Cons: "not made for long legged tall men"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car since 2001 and it has never been in the shop for anything. My wife has been the only driver of this car and she loves it. Her Dad sold Fords for 18 yrs. until he retired. But this car was purchased from a totally different dealer and we haven't ever regretted it for one minute. The only thing that has kept it from being a ten is the fact that I can't drive it because I'm to tall, but she loves it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable with minimal problems

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 334,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After 334,000 miles there are 5 issues 1. Check Engine Light - Transmission codes but the car still drives very well 2. Heater blend door - Stuck on high heat unless Max a/c is used and then blows nice and cold 3. Drivers power door lock doesn't work correctly 4. ABS light on - the right front ABS sensor wire fell off the mount and rubbed on the CV boot causing a failure on that sensor 5. Left turn signal switch doesn't work properly. you have to hold it in place. After 334,000 miles how can we complain. I am trying to sell it now after my wife bought a new car last week but this thing has never left her stranded. We have changed several parts over the years but with some know-how and good tools there was nothing I couldn't take care of at home in the driveway. Intake gaskets were the biggest job we did a couple of years ago. If you can find one of these with low miles and need an SUV I highly recommend it. Probably one of the best years for Ford Explorers."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This is the most reliable vehicle I have owned.

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Daughter needed a vehicle

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable."

Cons: "Gas milage hurts a little. 16-17 in town. 22 hwy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I cannot speak highly enough of this vehicle. It took care of me for 12 years flawlessly and has carried my daughter for the past 6. No major repairs in the 18 years. Replaced the Water pump and Alternator at 200000 not because they failed, just because they hit 200K."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 222 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals