Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1994 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 253 Ratings for the 1991 - 1994 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    7.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    7.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    7.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next

Great beach and snow driving rig!

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4WD works great"

Cons: "Some cup holders are needed in the back."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner and bought it in 2010 at 105,000 miles. Since then, I have replaced a high output alternator and battery (Premium sound requires a better alternator). Some maintenance like oil changes are done at a regular basis. The engine was leaking oil somewhere so I cut down the frequent oil changes from every 3 mo/3000 mi to 5 mo/5000 mi. with the high mileage oil and filters. After that, the engine would leak less. It runs great in winter time than in summer. Everyone seems crawling on the road."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent all around vehicle!"

Cons: "A/C quit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought it used in 1997. Motor is as sound as when we got it. never had exhaust replaced or repaired and still quiet. Replaced one freeze plug. A/C quit about 8 years ago. Window motors have failed except for one. Remotes still work. If I had the money I would get a brand new one tomorrow and drive it twenty years! Transmission has never had any repairs, just service."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

not running

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Need a value"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, 4x4, can take a beating"

Cons: "gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car can power through anything. Its amazing for how old it is that its still driving. Love my explorer"

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

great first car!

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything workss, lots of space"

Cons: "gas mileage, poor acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great first car. Its goes through the snow well. Every thing works on it. It takes everything i throw at it without even a scratch. there is lots of space inside."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

BEST AUTO OWNED IN 60 YEARS. ORIGINAL OWNER.

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"SEE TO BELIEVE / 4 WHEEL DRIVE. EDDY EAUER MODEL, IS OUTSTANDING CONDITION. TIP TOP MAINTENANCE CONDIDTION. HAVE ALL RECEIPTS FOR WORK PERFORMED."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good reliable vehicle

By on Thursday, October 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I love the ford Explorers. They are tough but appealing to the eye. The four wheel drive goes through just about anything. Its a good sturdy vehicle. I would own one again."

Great SUV

By on Wednesday, September 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "worth more then KBB states"

Cons: "gas milage laking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this truck has 230000 miles on it it leaks everything but gas and break fluid but is still running strong great power for a SUV this is a great family vehicle. never had a problem with the transmission or motor except the leaks. but it also has 23000 miles on it what vehicle dose not at that amount. i recommend this to any family. great job ford keep it up."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good car

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "got potencial safe plenty of room"

Cons: "back seat folds extra room plenty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"its 4 wheel drive 550 to fix it.it did work.in snow 4 wheel could'nt ask for any thing better.has ac that works.a new transmission was installed two years ago.body and paint fair to poor.interior good shape.need new roof liner.power mirrors make driving much safer"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My favorite vehicle ever

By on Friday, July 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 321,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very roomy, good towing, sturdy interior"

Cons: "gas mileage (17)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my current Ford Explorer since my daughter was 2 weeks old -- she just turned 16 in April. Although it has some bumps and dings, and has had an engine and transmission rebuild, I just keep wanting to drive this vehicle. I got the limited, so it has leather, and the interior has stood up to some punishment. It has been a reliable vehicle, and I may have to find one like it if it ever bites the dust. My only complaint is that over time it has lost some of its oomph, and does not accelerate as well as I would like. I actually plan on repainting it and keeping on driving it, but will not plan on getting into any races......."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals