Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 462 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 93 | Next

Looks nice, drives OK, but not well thought out

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Nice looks, interior good."

Cons: "NOT reliable.Parts-expensive.Break suspension easy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The truck has nice looks, and a good interior for up to five adults. Spacious enough, but not for those at 6' tall or more. Controls are well laid out, easy to find and use. The V6 is a bit weak; a 302 would have been better, and a manual transmission would have been nice. Sucks gas for a smaller truck. 15 mpg max. The truck is good at what it was aimed at, however, for a 4WD SUV, this is the most brittle and delicate, easily breakable truck I've ever seen. Thousands of dollars in suspension repairs. Eats shocks and ball joints like candy. No springs designed in the suspension; stupid idea. Torsion bars/control arms snap easily. Driveshafts fail at 50k miles; U-joints can't be fixed-all one unit. Costly to repair, maintain, and own. Parts are expensive and hard to get. Sunroof leaks at 5 years old."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle to own and drive.

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is one of the better values Ford has made. Never had any major problems. Great with the back window that is electric up and down. With the windows open it is like riding in a convertible. Also good to carry long boards."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever! Owned since Oct 2004.

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive. Reliable."

Cons: "Driver's seat torn on seam. Its been 10 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 2005 model and it has never had any major problems. Most reliable. Big enough for supplies and roomy."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Enjoyed this truck more than any I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Like a car but the room of a truck."

Cons: "You will not find a ashtray"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck!Rides like a car and I would buy another one in a heartbeat but I can't afford it. Room for horse feed,hay,groceries. Seats let down in back for even more room. Never get hot in back seat dual air. Yes there are some problems but they are from my neglect. I live on a rocky, dirt road. Husband has been in hospital seven times this year and I can't afford to do repairs."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Bought new - never any problems. Super reliable.

By on Saturday, November 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Would buy another one tomorrow..."

Cons: "Bought in December '04 - have had no trouble!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's not a pickup, but I didn't buy it to be one! It's great to travel in and my wife loves riding in it. Can haul most any item we need to. We drive it to Naples, FL often; our luggage stays totally dry in rear tonneau area. A good set of Michelins made a difference in the ride and mileage. Mine unit has leather and all options but roof. Have found it to be a really practical and functional vehicle. I've owned more than 75 cars and trucks since I was 18, so I guess I'm qualified to judge! Would recommend it to my best friend without hesitation."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 93 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer Sport Trac near Honolulu. See local deals