Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2003 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 467 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 94 | Next

Shame on Ford!!!!

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome truck."

Cons: "Wished it was stick, engine mounts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this used in 08, with about 100000. I needed a pilot vehicle. Not too big, not to small. I needed a pickup that could jump from a dead stop, have take off. I hated a Dodge Dakota, the Toyota Tacoma was not big enough, the Tundra didn't have the jump.... This is an awesome truck. It has never let me down. The only con, is the engine mounts. Total disintegration. That is their only downfall. Every other trac I have seen has bad mounts. Shame on Ford for not making them anymore. I met a guy that HAS and still drives, a 2003, with over 440,000. He said he has only done tune ups. I wish they would make them again. I would buy it. I am sure others would too."

17 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Truly a great truck

By on Wednesday, January 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 252,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "rear folding seats, sturdy, good gas mileage"

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is kind of like that dog you really love... I bought it new in 2001, and now have 252,000 miles on her. She still rides great, gets 20 mpg on the highway, and I get compliments all the time. I just put on my 4th set of tires, and have had absolutely no problems. A few minor fixes to the interior control buttons, but nothing serious. She looks great inside and out! Love the rear folding seats and rear power window feature.I would not hesitate to drive her any amount of distance. It is with mixed emotions that I am thinking about selling. I have always said this truck should be a testimonial for Ford, and it really is the best vehicle I have ever owned!"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Fantastic Truck, does everything I need...but...

By on Wednesday, August 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This truck has always started right up for me. I love every little bit of it from the way it drives to the way it sounds and feels. The engine is super reliable, and I've only had to do regular maintenance like oil and filter changes. There IS however, one big problem with the motor. Around 130,000-150,000 miles, the engine's timing chain tensioner goes, and it makes a rattling noise. Now since it's a non-interference motor, it doesn't immediately affect the motor, but the the timing will be thrown off one day, and then it will get disastrous. It's about $800 to fix one time. Other than that, it's just a fantastic vehicle. Parts are cheaper too."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

The perfect machine!

By on Saturday, September 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At 242k miles, I had my first moment of unreliability. The timing cassette guides finally gave up. Other than that, its been nothing but gas, tires, and oil. Bought it with 56k, all the rest is mine. The most poignant feature about the ST is its capability in snow and ice. This thing has never spun a tire in deep snow or on ice. You feel as if you are in complete control, and it responds predictably. Very sure-footed. (Mine is 4x4) The crew cab plus cargo box means you can do anything with it. Mine is a keeper, no matter what the wife says."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Reliable

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, good power, tows very well, comfortabe"

Cons: "Havent found anything yet."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have to say i have had my sport trac for 6 years now, and have put alot of miles on it and taken it just about everywhere. After 134,000 miles i have'nt had any issues with it. It has done everything i have needed it to and gone beyond expectations. I feel it still has another 150,000 miles in at least. Im hopeing to beat my last truck an F-150 and it had 268,000 miles on it when i sold it. I believe it will!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 94 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer Sport Trac near Honolulu. See local deals