Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2006 Ford Expedition

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 576 Ratings for the 2003 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next

Solid car, runs good, body & paint good

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 228,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Runs good, paint / body good, driven daily, etc."

Cons: "Needs service, tires ok, interior needs detailing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Car is driven daily with no major issues. Will be due for service soon. No body damage, paint good. Leather seats showing wear, but not ripped, interior a bit dirty, needs detailing, will clean if it makes a difference, etc."

Cant stop driving my Expedition

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,546

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, confortable, reliable, safe,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is an 11yrs old vehicle and all I had to do to it is the regular oil change and tires, is still running awesome"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort reliable"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love the look and the comfort. Purchased in 07...it's an 04...Gas mileage leaves something to be desired. Not good around towns but great on  highways. Air condition in back makes knocking sound. I have heard that in other expeditions too. Abs light on but still drives good. Minor fix. Had some sencors repaired and a battery put on since I've had it n it's still an excellent car after these fixes. Recently bought a smaller car because of gas issues.. and can't bring myself to patt with this spaceship because Of it's comfort n reliability. Love my hog! Lol"

It's good for work

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I bought my '03 Expedition right before the big economic collapse. it is a rattle trap an falling apart at 88K miles. its good for work, aka hauling stuff around you don't want in a nice car, and that's it. It suck gas and leaks oil and is hail damaged. The good thing is that i feel safe when some A-hole tailgates me in a tiny car (which most are compared to this giant)."

very reliable car for us over the last 10 years.

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great value"

Cons: "big car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"has been on regular maintenance service for over 10years. great car for the price."

love my EB Expedition

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "automatic 3rd row and DVD player"

Cons: "no pull down arm rest in 2nd row."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has made our life so much easier! We have two dogs and one five hear old boy. We go on vacations frequently and having the room is great, the DVD player is perfect for our boy. The DVD never skips if road is rough. The drive is so comfortable and very much reliable in the winter. As a nurse, I am out in all kinds of weather and I always feel safe."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives Smooth, Beautiful Interior, A lot of Power,"

Cons: "None, Low Gas mileage is to be expected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned a 2012 Ford Focus which I bought brand new and it was a very dependable car. Unfortunately, with having 3 teenagers they just couldnt fit comfortably anymore. I decided to trade it in and then purchased a 2006 Expedition. I absolutely love this SUV. My 3 teenagers have more than enough room even with my 14 year old son who is now 5'11". So fun and comfortable to drive not only with the comfort of the interior but the drivability as well. The AC is amazing. My ex-husband has had two expeditions as well. He was in an accident with the first one and decided to get another one exactly like it because of how much he enjoyed driving it. He currently owns a 2004 Expedition. He previously owned an Excursion but was more impressed with the Expedition. My current husband also owns one and loves it. He has a 2000 Expedition. I have gone through many vehicles and have never had one that I enjoyed to drive so much. I plan to drive this one until I cant drive it anymore. Even when I wont need as much room anymore when my kids grow up and move away I will still drive it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Extremely reliable. Has only needed one repair.

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, fun, fully loaded. Comfortable. Solid suv."

Cons: "Leather seats not ventilated."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Never looks dirty w/this color scheme.

"Air assist brake assembly needed replacement a couple years ago. But that's it, besides routine maintenance. Awesome vehicle."

Never looks dirty w/this color scheme.

a really good SUV and fun to drive

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "20mpg, comfortable ride, loves highway driving"

Cons: "14mpg in town"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Lots of comfort and smooth ride on the highway with 20 mpg. Only gets 14mpg in town driving, but is very dependable in all kinds of weather. The 5.4 liter engine has lots of power, and can get you up to speed relatively quickly. I've never had a better, more dependable vehicle and would highly recommend the Ford Expedition."

Great Vehicloe for active family

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for road trips with the family."

Cons: "13-14 mph"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this vehicle since new. Have 3 kids, all grown now and have 3 grandkids. This vehicle has been used for work, transporting materials to job site but mostly it has been the family vehicle used for frequent family trips all over the southwest. It has performed admirably both on and off road in all kinds of weather for camping, skiing, trips to the beach and has never left me stranded."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

One of the best SUV's we ever owned.

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,775

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Stable handling, comfortable ride, grea car."

Cons: "MPG not the best."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased the vehicle as 2nd owners. We have never had a problem with the car. We keep it clean and serviced. Do the required mileage service and it runs like the day we got it. Never used any oil, never ran hot, just a new battery since we purchased it way back in the day. Would not be afraid to go anywhere in it. We love it. The space is amazing."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've Ever Owned....

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Confort, Power, stability, reliability"

Cons: "absolutely none!!!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had my Expedition since 2005. I have traveled from Nevada to Florida and Texas to Illinois in this vehicle. I trust it as much now as I did when it was new. Comfort, power, stability & reliability. I wish the 2014's could stand-up to my 2005."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicle we have owned in 35 years

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable comfortable car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"N/A"

Comfortable Family Car

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great for a family"

Cons: "Not the best gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 9 years. I have never had a problem with the car. Third row seats make for plenty of passenger seating. I bought this car when my 3 kids were little and now they are out of the house. Sometimes I feel guilty for driving such a large car around just for myself but it is such a comfortable ride it is hard to give it up. Plus you can fold down the 2nd and 3rd row seats to hall stuff in. Best car I ever had!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent comfort, visability reliable performance

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great family vehicle"

Cons: "Gas 14MPG gets expensive if travelling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I feel very safe in this SUV. Very good visability, except when DVD player is lowered, but one gets used to it quickly. Very sound mechanically. Car dealer's daughter, so I have been disciplined with routine maintenance and it pays off at 130,000 and going strong. So far only one replacement of alternator, brakes, freon added once. Very versitile, easily change from carrying up to three rows of people to sports equipment, groceries from Costco, or combination of all. Factory installed GPS updates available, generally unreliable, but at the time was best available."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever had. Ever.

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It's a sure thing. And so, so comfortable!"

Cons: "Gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had the most rewarding experience with this vehicle. I have owned 2 Ford vans, 3 F150's and even a Mustang. Transmission issues with all (manageable if you pay attention) except the Mustang in ~15 years. Never a problem with the Expedition. I have praised, for years, the Expedition's reliability, warranty coverage, and overall performance. My 4 children are now grown, so the passenger space is no longer needed. I also now drive on the average of ~750 miles/wk for my new job. The weekly cost (keeping my vehicle @ current gas prices) has finally made me consider a more fuel efficient vehicle. That decision took 6 months. I will miss my Expedition."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good vehicle, been very dependable

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great room, dependable, drives good, comfortable"

Cons: "wish DVD player was in different position"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This has been a great vehicle for the family travel and hauling kids. Also has a nice towing package that has come in very handy."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Other than the gas mileage I like it alot real lot

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I think its a great car and fun to drive. Steering radius is unbelieveable."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable, love this car

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Just a great vehicle. Eddie Bauer edition and the leather and interior have held up great. Super reliable and has performed well for a car to get kids to sports activities and all their gear. Son loves it for camping and carrying things for hunting. The only down side to this car is fuel cost...period. If Ford were somehow able to fix this or make it more fuel efficient it would be an awesome vehicle."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicles I have owned.

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle new and have owned it for eleven and one half years. The paint is like new. The body is solid and does not rattle. The engine, air conditioning and all the trim and accessories are excellent. This vehicle handles and rides very well. The size is very appropriate and the height of the vehicle allows for great visibility."

I couldn"t ask anymore from a vehicle!

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plenty of room"

Cons: "rear air"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Me and my wife really enjoyed this vehicle on long vacations, and everday use. Its just a great SUV!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very costly to repair. Never again!

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,327

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "stands up in a wreck"

Cons: "costly to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Would'nt buy another one, gas guzzlers, too costly for even changing spark plugs not to mention coils! Only good thing is they are so big when I was hit in the rear q-panel we were all safe. 11,000 damage. repaired with all new ford parts, but poor resale value."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I needed a large truck for my ST Bernard dog.

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fair price- recommend this too all who enjoy high"

Cons: "yes everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck off a car lot the same day it came in, it was very clean, no dents or scratches, great tires, just all around in excellent shape, Rumor had it Eddie bower was top of the line. I have a 2011 Maxima also- never really had a ford truck before. To say the truth!! I've never had a better ride- top quality vehicle like this. it has all the goodies, love the electric folding back seats, power everything. Runs as good as my maxima. I've had it one year now! change oil, It's so quiet,smooth. Just so impressed with it! Looked at new one's $ 44,000.00.... I can see why. Just going to keep this till the tires fall off- just love it"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

2003 Expedition

By on Monday, January 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, reliable, powerful when needed."

Cons: "noe that I can think of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle. It's never given me a lick of trouble. Regular scheduled maintenance,and it gets me from point A to B, every time, comfortably. The A/C is exceptional, and there is plenty of room. I've taken it across country, towing a bike trailer, a number of times, and never had a hiccup. It also is very solid in the snow."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

gas hog

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "solid suv"

Cons: "very poor gas mileage; very poor paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"drives good, but uses too much gas; paint peels off-poor job by ford. rides good if you have good tires."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Expedition near Honolulu. See local deals