Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2006 Ford Expedition

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 566 Ratings for the 2003 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next

One of the best SUV's we ever owned.

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,775

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Stable handling, comfortable ride, grea car."

Cons: "MPG not the best."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased the vehicle as 2nd owners. We have never had a problem with the car. We keep it clean and serviced. Do the required mileage service and it runs like the day we got it. Never used any oil, never ran hot, just a new battery since we purchased it way back in the day. Would not be afraid to go anywhere in it. We love it. The space is amazing."

Best Vehicle I've Ever Owned....

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Confort, Power, stability, reliability"

Cons: "absolutely none!!!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had my Expedition since 2005. I have traveled from Nevada to Florida and Texas to Illinois in this vehicle. I trust it as much now as I did when it was new. Comfort, power, stability & reliability. I wish the 2014's could stand-up to my 2005."

best vehicle we have owned in 35 years

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable comfortable car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"N/A"

Comfortable Family Car

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great for a family"

Cons: "Not the best gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 9 years. I have never had a problem with the car. Third row seats make for plenty of passenger seating. I bought this car when my 3 kids were little and now they are out of the house. Sometimes I feel guilty for driving such a large car around just for myself but it is such a comfortable ride it is hard to give it up. Plus you can fold down the 2nd and 3rd row seats to hall stuff in. Best car I ever had!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent comfort, visability reliable performance

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great family vehicle"

Cons: "Gas 14MPG gets expensive if travelling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I feel very safe in this SUV. Very good visability, except when DVD player is lowered, but one gets used to it quickly. Very sound mechanically. Car dealer's daughter, so I have been disciplined with routine maintenance and it pays off at 130,000 and going strong. So far only one replacement of alternator, brakes, freon added once. Very versitile, easily change from carrying up to three rows of people to sports equipment, groceries from Costco, or combination of all. Factory installed GPS updates available, generally unreliable, but at the time was best available."

Best vehicle I ever had. Ever.

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It's a sure thing. And so, so comfortable!"

Cons: "Gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had the most rewarding experience with this vehicle. I have owned 2 Ford vans, 3 F150's and even a Mustang. Transmission issues with all (manageable if you pay attention) except the Mustang in ~15 years. Never a problem with the Expedition. I have praised, for years, the Expedition's reliability, warranty coverage, and overall performance. My 4 children are now grown, so the passenger space is no longer needed. I also now drive on the average of ~750 miles/wk for my new job. The weekly cost (keeping my vehicle @ current gas prices) has finally made me consider a more fuel efficient vehicle. That decision took 6 months. I will miss my Expedition."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good vehicle, been very dependable

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great room, dependable, drives good, comfortable"

Cons: "wish DVD player was in different position"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This has been a great vehicle for the family travel and hauling kids. Also has a nice towing package that has come in very handy."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Other than the gas mileage I like it alot real lot

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I think its a great car and fun to drive. Steering radius is unbelieveable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable, love this car

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Just a great vehicle. Eddie Bauer edition and the leather and interior have held up great. Super reliable and has performed well for a car to get kids to sports activities and all their gear. Son loves it for camping and carrying things for hunting. The only down side to this car is fuel cost...period. If Ford were somehow able to fix this or make it more fuel efficient it would be an awesome vehicle."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicles I have owned.

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle new and have owned it for eleven and one half years. The paint is like new. The body is solid and does not rattle. The engine, air conditioning and all the trim and accessories are excellent. This vehicle handles and rides very well. The size is very appropriate and the height of the vehicle allows for great visibility."

I couldn"t ask anymore from a vehicle!

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plenty of room"

Cons: "rear air"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Me and my wife really enjoyed this vehicle on long vacations, and everday use. Its just a great SUV!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very costly to repair. Never again!

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,327

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "stands up in a wreck"

Cons: "costly to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Would'nt buy another one, gas guzzlers, too costly for even changing spark plugs not to mention coils! Only good thing is they are so big when I was hit in the rear q-panel we were all safe. 11,000 damage. repaired with all new ford parts, but poor resale value."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I needed a large truck for my ST Bernard dog.

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fair price- recommend this too all who enjoy high"

Cons: "yes everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck off a car lot the same day it came in, it was very clean, no dents or scratches, great tires, just all around in excellent shape, Rumor had it Eddie bower was top of the line. I have a 2011 Maxima also- never really had a ford truck before. To say the truth!! I've never had a better ride- top quality vehicle like this. it has all the goodies, love the electric folding back seats, power everything. Runs as good as my maxima. I've had it one year now! change oil, It's so quiet,smooth. Just so impressed with it! Looked at new one's $ 44,000.00.... I can see why. Just going to keep this till the tires fall off- just love it"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

2003 Expedition

By on Monday, January 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, reliable, powerful when needed."

Cons: "noe that I can think of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle. It's never given me a lick of trouble. Regular scheduled maintenance,and it gets me from point A to B, every time, comfortably. The A/C is exceptional, and there is plenty of room. I've taken it across country, towing a bike trailer, a number of times, and never had a hiccup. It also is very solid in the snow."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

gas hog

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "solid suv"

Cons: "very poor gas mileage; very poor paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"drives good, but uses too much gas; paint peels off-poor job by ford. rides good if you have good tires."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best SUV I've ever owned.

By on Wednesday, December 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, price, reliability, options, size, etc"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable car. Great turning radius. Easy to drive/park. Love the power third row. This has been a fantastic SUV for our family. Great on road trips too."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Reliable, tough and dependable

By on Saturday, October 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This SUV make you feel like "King of the road""

Cons: "It's a little top heavy on tight curves"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My 2003 Expedition the toughest vehicle I have ever owned

"My Expedition has never failed me. It has plowed through snow and floods (water up to and at times over the hood) most astounding it never stalled in the water even with no fording system. This is a large vehicle and it with the maneuverability of a solid feeling of a fine car. This SUV is very easy to drive and even for my shorter people feel like they are "king of the road" in this SUV. The ONLY draw backs to this vehicle are the molding (it fades in the sunlight), and it's a little top heavy. The minor issues with this vehicle are the only reason I did not give it a 10/10. By the way it has never had any major mechanical issues."

14 people out of 15 found this review helpful

My 2003 Expedition the toughest vehicle I have ever owned

Great car

By on Sunday, October 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "power,towing,quality"

Cons: "airbag light is on, little rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"115000 miles, runs like i just got it. tiny bit of rust under the car, no problems with the car, love hearing the v8."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

This my second Expedition. It has been a wonderful

By on Monday, September 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Driven lightly and properly maintained. 4 new tires (matching of course. I am not driven to sell. Just have itch for a new car. If if works out...fine, buy if not....noththing lost"

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Saturday, September 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,050

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned four Expeditions over the past 10 years. We got our 04 brand new and have loved it everyday. I'm 17 and have been driving it for a few months, and have loved it. I now drive a 2012 King ranch El and love it. I have no complaints about either on. These trucks have lived up to there expectations."

3 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, September 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Roomy, safe, dependable"

Cons: "MPG avg 16"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have a 2004 XLT. Just turned 300,000 miles on my Expedition. I have been driving the truck for about 5 years. I have put personally 175,000 miles on this vehicle. Best vehicle I have ever owned. That includes my Cadillac and two Lincolns. I just drive it and change the oil. Comfortable, roomy and safe. Minimal maintenance issues. After all that time, I am just now having a major servicing done (all belts / hoses / tranny) etc... Rather do that than buy a new SUV. Was given the option of new vehicle, or spend a little bit on this one. I will keep it and get another 50,000 to 75,000 miles for the cost of 2-3 car payments."

20 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Great suv... drive very good. good paint no dents

By on Monday, September 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,657

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am disabled and need to use a power chair/scooter I need to have a pickup so I haul my chair and still pull my travel trailer"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Family Vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"great"

couldn't complain...

By on Tuesday, May 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Perfect for everything! Just the right size!"

Cons: "doors rattle, intake cracks, drive train whines"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it has it quirks I bought it used and now it's old. I like this so much better than the GMC Yukon XL I had. This uses less gas, easier to park, can make a uturn and just seems more user friendly. I have this all over the place and on the freeways everyday and can be several 100's of miles apart in one day. I do like the power and the speed of it for an SUV this size. Also the power folding 3rd row seats have come in very handy with the kids. I would have to say I'll drive this thing until the wheels fall off or until I trade it in for a newer Expedition. Next one I might just want a sunroof on it. All of the perks with it I can over look how the doors rattle, the wings in the rear get tempermental, and the rear hatch glass leaks when it rains real hard during monsoon season. Just and FYI if you consider buying one check the intake manifold out. they are prone to cracking on the right side where the thermostate goes and it's around $1,0000 to fix this issue!"

16 people out of 16 found this review helpful

love my car! for all it can do!

By on Sunday, April 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best bench seating & 3rd row legroom comfort"

Cons: "seat belts had to be replaced with use"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my car. I do not want to go look at another car. It has such a comfort for carrying all the people we ever have who visit us, who we travel to-and-with, and for fitting our now 72 pd dog. I sat in 11 cars that sat 7-8 passengers when I was 8 months pregnant and this car was THE one with the best 3rd row leg room, seat room and over all best build out interior. I am practical, but wanted comfort--its 3rd row automatic fold-up/down rocks. I'll be a fan of this car for a long, long time!! Go Ford :)"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Expedition near Honolulu. See local deals