Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2005 Ford Expedition

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 589 Ratings for the 2003 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next

Ford cut corners

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "The paint has held up"

Cons: "too expensive to operate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Vehicle was priced like luxory SUV, but ford cut so many hidden corners that it is not until after the warranty you learn how often and how expensive each thing is. By example $450 to replace a mixing actuator, $3000 for struts, Indepedent rear suspension required it own alignment, oilfiter that is inaccessible for home mechanic, Continental tires that delaminate right at 30,000 miles - but Ford does nothing (on one tire, the tread flew off and the tire nevr went flat - when they claimed it was a road hazzard, I asked why the air pressure never went down - no answer), brakes that squeal 1000 miles after adjustment or replacement, seat belts that do not buckle in the rear seat. It goes on... vehicle is paid for, I have been able to learn auto mechanics and fix it myself so it does not makes sense to sell until the motor gives out - but why should I have to learn how to pull a dash board to replace a $40 plastic gear in the heater control - where the shop quotes $1100?"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 328,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very functional family vehicle."

Cons: "None really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"328,000 miles and still rolling strong. No issues. Just put in oil and gas. At 328,000 miles and getting 17 mpg. Just keeps going."

best family vehicle out there

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has been a great vehicle for me and my family"

Great, but could be better!

By on Sunday, November 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, comfort, storage w/o 3rd row up, handling"

Cons: "Mileage, Storage with 3rd Row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have the 2004 Expedition XLT loaded, leather etc. Handles great for a large SUV, however there is not much weight in the rear when in bad conditions for traction. Auto 4x4 works great, Ford cut corners when making these though. Tailgate paint, quality of parts etc. Has a good amount of power, tows 6,500 with the 5.4 without any problems. I average between 10-13 MPG 15 max, to be expected. Bottom Line - Not enough storage when 3rd row is up, cant even fit a suitcase. Steering is tight, brakes great for a near 7,000 pound vehicle loaded. Reliable, never left me stranded. Take care of it and it will take care of you! Looking to upgrade to an Excursion"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I have ever owned

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,182

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything is great on this vehicle"

Cons: "There is not one thing I do not like on this vehic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had many different makes of SUV's and trucks but my Expedition is my favorite all around. I love the look but driving it is the one thing that I really love. The ease of all the controls , the sound of the stereo , the comfort of the interior and the overall way it makes me feel when I get behind the wheel is the best ever."

5 people out of 14 found this review helpful

I Love my truck!

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortabe for trips."

Cons: "The one and only, gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wish I didn't feel guilty about driving an 8 passenger vehicle all by myself! This SUV has been extremely reliable and contrary to any jokes about Fords and their transmissions mine is just fine. It's amazing what keeping it on the regular maintenance schedule will do for a vehicle! I would definitely buy one again."

5 people out of 14 found this review helpful

This is one nice vehicle. It's very reliable!!

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This vehicle seats 7 people. It's great 4 travel!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a well equipped vehicle and has been very reliable. It have never had any mechanical failures. Its a smooth cruising vehicle and the mileage is not bad either. The sound system is nice and the dual a/c units are a blessing for the area that I live in. I have enjoyed owning and driving this vehicle. Ford did a fantastic job with this vehicle !!!"

9 people out of 18 found this review helpful

very comfortable and dependable

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Cons: "electronic parts that can be expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The car has for the most part been free of problems and hasd been a great driving machine..It has tons of room seats up to seven. I like the fact that the rear seats fold down to make a large cargo area The heated seats and air conditioning are very nice."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great used auto"

Cons: "Fully equipped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No problems except oil changes and tire"

Great vehicle

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of room comfortable ride"

Cons: "Ac rear temp control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great vehicle only problem is the air condition control in the back temp control keeps going out"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

twelve years great value,safety for my family.

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,650

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "always felt safe, rested on long drives."

Cons: "bumper paint started to peel, noticed others too."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Four people on a camping trip, golf get away we never had to worry about having enough room or power. Ive kept my last two vehicels for over 12 years. Ready for a sedan again, car pool days are over. Thanks Ford!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

reliable, comfortable, roomy, tows well, versatile

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is great, lots of room, leg room, head room, fold flat seats for lots of storage options (dressers,dogs,multiple strollers, 100s of dollars in groceries etc), split seats two ways in the back and three ways in the middle, quiet, comfortable, reliable, stable, tows great, easy to drive, adjustable pedals and seat, holds 8 or seven comfortably."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great for family, ski trips, fishing, hunting."

Cons: "sun roof is tempermental"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"completely satisfied with this car"

Solid car, runs good, body & paint good

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 228,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Runs good, paint / body good, driven daily, etc."

Cons: "Needs service, tires ok, interior needs detailing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Car is driven daily with no major issues. Will be due for service soon. No body damage, paint good. Leather seats showing wear, but not ripped, interior a bit dirty, needs detailing, will clean if it makes a difference, etc."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Cant stop driving my Expedition

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,546

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, confortable, reliable, safe,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is an 11yrs old vehicle and all I had to do to it is the regular oil change and tires, is still running awesome"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

great car

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort reliable"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love the look and the comfort. Purchased in 07...it's an 04...Gas mileage leaves something to be desired. Not good around towns but great on  highways. Air condition in back makes knocking sound. I have heard that in other expeditions too. Abs light on but still drives good. Minor fix. Had some sencors repaired and a battery put on since I've had it n it's still an excellent car after these fixes. Recently bought a smaller car because of gas issues.. and can't bring myself to patt with this spaceship because Of it's comfort n reliability. Love my hog! Lol"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It's good for work

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I bought my '03 Expedition right before the big economic collapse. it is a rattle trap an falling apart at 88K miles. its good for work, aka hauling stuff around you don't want in a nice car, and that's it. It suck gas and leaks oil and is hail damaged. The good thing is that i feel safe when some A-hole tailgates me in a tiny car (which most are compared to this giant)."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

very reliable car for us over the last 10 years.

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great value"

Cons: "big car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"has been on regular maintenance service for over 10years. great car for the price."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

love my EB Expedition

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "automatic 3rd row and DVD player"

Cons: "no pull down arm rest in 2nd row."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has made our life so much easier! We have two dogs and one five hear old boy. We go on vacations frequently and having the room is great, the DVD player is perfect for our boy. The DVD never skips if road is rough. The drive is so comfortable and very much reliable in the winter. As a nurse, I am out in all kinds of weather and I always feel safe."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives Smooth, Beautiful Interior, A lot of Power,"

Cons: "None, Low Gas mileage is to be expected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned a 2012 Ford Focus which I bought brand new and it was a very dependable car. Unfortunately, with having 3 teenagers they just couldnt fit comfortably anymore. I decided to trade it in and then purchased a 2006 Expedition. I absolutely love this SUV. My 3 teenagers have more than enough room even with my 14 year old son who is now 5'11". So fun and comfortable to drive not only with the comfort of the interior but the drivability as well. The AC is amazing. My ex-husband has had two expeditions as well. He was in an accident with the first one and decided to get another one exactly like it because of how much he enjoyed driving it. He currently owns a 2004 Expedition. He previously owned an Excursion but was more impressed with the Expedition. My current husband also owns one and loves it. He has a 2000 Expedition. I have gone through many vehicles and have never had one that I enjoyed to drive so much. I plan to drive this one until I cant drive it anymore. Even when I wont need as much room anymore when my kids grow up and move away I will still drive it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Extremely reliable. Has only needed one repair.

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, fun, fully loaded. Comfortable. Solid suv."

Cons: "Leather seats not ventilated."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Never looks dirty w/this color scheme.

"Air assist brake assembly needed replacement a couple years ago. But that's it, besides routine maintenance. Awesome vehicle."

Never looks dirty w/this color scheme.

a really good SUV and fun to drive

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "20mpg, comfortable ride, loves highway driving"

Cons: "14mpg in town"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Lots of comfort and smooth ride on the highway with 20 mpg. Only gets 14mpg in town driving, but is very dependable in all kinds of weather. The 5.4 liter engine has lots of power, and can get you up to speed relatively quickly. I've never had a better, more dependable vehicle and would highly recommend the Ford Expedition."

Great Vehicloe for active family

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for road trips with the family."

Cons: "13-14 mph"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this vehicle since new. Have 3 kids, all grown now and have 3 grandkids. This vehicle has been used for work, transporting materials to job site but mostly it has been the family vehicle used for frequent family trips all over the southwest. It has performed admirably both on and off road in all kinds of weather for camping, skiing, trips to the beach and has never left me stranded."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

One of the best SUV's we ever owned.

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,775

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Stable handling, comfortable ride, grea car."

Cons: "MPG not the best."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased the vehicle as 2nd owners. We have never had a problem with the car. We keep it clean and serviced. Do the required mileage service and it runs like the day we got it. Never used any oil, never ran hot, just a new battery since we purchased it way back in the day. Would not be afraid to go anywhere in it. We love it. The space is amazing."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've Ever Owned....

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Confort, Power, stability, reliability"

Cons: "absolutely none!!!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had my Expedition since 2005. I have traveled from Nevada to Florida and Texas to Illinois in this vehicle. I trust it as much now as I did when it was new. Comfort, power, stability & reliability. I wish the 2014's could stand-up to my 2005."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Expedition near Honolulu. See local deals