Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2005 Ford Expedition

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 601 Ratings for the 2003 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

runs and drives great

By on Thursday, April 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "new top end on low mileage 5.4l engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"new timing chain heads and valves reworked new intake manifold 4x4 works great s/c blows cold everything works"

LOVE this vehicle for moving family & pets around.

By on Thursday, April 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,723

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Size; safety."

Cons: "Not enough gadgets--how about heated cup holders?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Spacious and roomy for all who ride, this is a great family vehicle--well advanced from station wagon days. Easy to install and move car seats within, it's just as easy to deal with getting the little ones strapped in for safety. In addition, there's plenty of room for the adults riding with the kids in car seats. Win-win!"

My only complaint is the spark plugs that break

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handling is very good for a big SUV. Comfortable."

Cons: "Expensive repairs and maintainance. MPG not good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"When the spark plugs break, and they will, they are very expensive and labor intensive to replace. Requiring special tools that most people do not have or can afford."

BEST CAR EVER

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned our Expedition 8 years. It had 60,000 miles on it when we bought it. This car has not been driven every day mostly for trips and being able to take my grandkids all together at a time. This car has never left me stranded and only selling because we purchased a 5th wheel and need a truck to pull the camper. Very clean, no dents or dings on outside. It has never been wrecked and serviced regularly. Hate to see it go but ready to do some traveling in RV."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best vehicle

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,333

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Expedition new. I have had it for 11 years and other than regular maintenance, I have not put any money into this car.. LOOKS awesome and runs awesome"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Wish I had two of them

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Everything there is."

Cons: "Limited trunk space with third row up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my wifes vehicle and it is absolutely amazing. I would buy it again in a heart beat. I have had no trouble with it other than the normal wear and tear. I can't say enough good things about this vehicle."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Is a Workhorse of a Car

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Space, easy to maintain, parts are cheap, reliable"

Cons: "It is gas guzzler but it is to be expected."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this rig brand new back in 2006 and, so far has been pretty reliable car until recently when I had to repair the AC and the water pump. I just put a third set of brand new tires and there is some body work that is being done with the intent of bringing some of the new feeling back. I am replacing the DVD player since the one that came with it would not turn off but, I got one cheap and brand new. I also reupholstered the bottom part of the seats up front since they were ripped due to too much use. The intent is to keep it for another 9 years or for as long as continues to be economical to maintain. This rig has been impeccably maintained. I have taken this monster on long trips even one to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico from Pasadena. No problems are all, very reliable would highly recommend. I do suggest not to let the small things that need repair accumulate. For the most part, if I need anything for it, there are plenty of parts to be had on ebay. I had to replace the driver side power window controls, the price $15.00 and a pair of pliers. I highly recommend this car and, when the time comes, I'll buy a new one in zinch."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Has been a great, reliable comfortable vehicle.

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort and size"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had a major negative issue with this car. It has been completely reliable and comfortable. I used it for traveling hundreds of miles for travel sports for my kids and thousands of miles on vacation trips."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle-Loaded

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable and dependable"

Cons: "No four wheel drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Also has heated seats, DVD player in back seat. Automatic 3rd seat rise & lower. All seats behind front lay down flat and second row removeable. Extra car chargers in front & back along with extra cup holders in back."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

!0 years of dependable driving.

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "plenty of room for grand kids and their stuff"

Cons: "Hard to keep plastic parts black & good looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought new and We have driven this rig every day around the county for the past 10 years. The only problems has been window lift motors. I've replaced 3 in the past 10 years. Has had good care, we are not abusive drivers and always get the rig serviced when it is due."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

an excellent vehicle to have

By on Monday, January 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have this truck since 2005, and when I bought it ,it only had 28,000. miles on it. which is fair to say that im the second owner. the only thing that I change on it was the battery and alternator. plus you know wear and tear tires oil changes ect.this truck is a MONSTER and very very reliable vehicle. have taken many trips to lake Charles in it , handle smooth on the road with cruise control. you can sit 8 people in it very comfortable."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very convent car, seat rows 2 & 3 fold flat.

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A very convient car to own. The 2 & 3 row seats of"

Cons: "13.8 MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, and after a decade everything still works and works well. I am the original owner and its always been garaged."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Ford cut corners

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "The paint has held up"

Cons: "too expensive to operate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Vehicle was priced like luxory SUV, but ford cut so many hidden corners that it is not until after the warranty you learn how often and how expensive each thing is. By example $450 to replace a mixing actuator, $3000 for struts, Indepedent rear suspension required it own alignment, oilfiter that is inaccessible for home mechanic, Continental tires that delaminate right at 30,000 miles - but Ford does nothing (on one tire, the tread flew off and the tire nevr went flat - when they claimed it was a road hazzard, I asked why the air pressure never went down - no answer), brakes that squeal 1000 miles after adjustment or replacement, seat belts that do not buckle in the rear seat. It goes on... vehicle is paid for, I have been able to learn auto mechanics and fix it myself so it does not makes sense to sell until the motor gives out - but why should I have to learn how to pull a dash board to replace a $40 plastic gear in the heater control - where the shop quotes $1100?"

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 328,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very functional family vehicle."

Cons: "None really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"328,000 miles and still rolling strong. No issues. Just put in oil and gas. At 328,000 miles and getting 17 mpg. Just keeps going."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

best family vehicle out there

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has been a great vehicle for me and my family"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great, but could be better!

By on Sunday, November 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, comfort, storage w/o 3rd row up, handling"

Cons: "Mileage, Storage with 3rd Row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have the 2004 Expedition XLT loaded, leather etc. Handles great for a large SUV, however there is not much weight in the rear when in bad conditions for traction. Auto 4x4 works great, Ford cut corners when making these though. Tailgate paint, quality of parts etc. Has a good amount of power, tows 6,500 with the 5.4 without any problems. I average between 10-13 MPG 15 max, to be expected. Bottom Line - Not enough storage when 3rd row is up, cant even fit a suitcase. Steering is tight, brakes great for a near 7,000 pound vehicle loaded. Reliable, never left me stranded. Take care of it and it will take care of you! Looking to upgrade to an Excursion"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I have ever owned

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,182

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything is great on this vehicle"

Cons: "There is not one thing I do not like on this vehic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had many different makes of SUV's and trucks but my Expedition is my favorite all around. I love the look but driving it is the one thing that I really love. The ease of all the controls , the sound of the stereo , the comfort of the interior and the overall way it makes me feel when I get behind the wheel is the best ever."

8 people out of 18 found this review helpful

I Love my truck!

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortabe for trips."

Cons: "The one and only, gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wish I didn't feel guilty about driving an 8 passenger vehicle all by myself! This SUV has been extremely reliable and contrary to any jokes about Fords and their transmissions mine is just fine. It's amazing what keeping it on the regular maintenance schedule will do for a vehicle! I would definitely buy one again."

7 people out of 17 found this review helpful

This is one nice vehicle. It's very reliable!!

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This vehicle seats 7 people. It's great 4 travel!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a well equipped vehicle and has been very reliable. It have never had any mechanical failures. Its a smooth cruising vehicle and the mileage is not bad either. The sound system is nice and the dual a/c units are a blessing for the area that I live in. I have enjoyed owning and driving this vehicle. Ford did a fantastic job with this vehicle !!!"

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

very comfortable and dependable

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Cons: "electronic parts that can be expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The car has for the most part been free of problems and hasd been a great driving machine..It has tons of room seats up to seven. I like the fact that the rear seats fold down to make a large cargo area The heated seats and air conditioning are very nice."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great used auto"

Cons: "Fully equipped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No problems except oil changes and tire"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of room comfortable ride"

Cons: "Ac rear temp control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great vehicle only problem is the air condition control in the back temp control keeps going out"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

twelve years great value,safety for my family.

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,650

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "always felt safe, rested on long drives."

Cons: "bumper paint started to peel, noticed others too."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Four people on a camping trip, golf get away we never had to worry about having enough room or power. Ive kept my last two vehicels for over 12 years. Ready for a sedan again, car pool days are over. Thanks Ford!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

reliable, comfortable, roomy, tows well, versatile

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is great, lots of room, leg room, head room, fold flat seats for lots of storage options (dressers,dogs,multiple strollers, 100s of dollars in groceries etc), split seats two ways in the back and three ways in the middle, quiet, comfortable, reliable, stable, tows great, easy to drive, adjustable pedals and seat, holds 8 or seven comfortably."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great for family, ski trips, fishing, hunting."

Cons: "sun roof is tempermental"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"completely satisfied with this car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Expedition near Honolulu. See local deals