Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2005 Ford Expedition

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 601 Ratings for the 2003 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next

runs and drives great

By on Thursday, April 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "new top end on low mileage 5.4l engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"new timing chain heads and valves reworked new intake manifold 4x4 works great s/c blows cold everything works"

LOVE this vehicle for moving family & pets around.

By on Thursday, April 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,723

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Size; safety."

Cons: "Not enough gadgets--how about heated cup holders?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Spacious and roomy for all who ride, this is a great family vehicle--well advanced from station wagon days. Easy to install and move car seats within, it's just as easy to deal with getting the little ones strapped in for safety. In addition, there's plenty of room for the adults riding with the kids in car seats. Win-win!"

My only complaint is the spark plugs that break

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handling is very good for a big SUV. Comfortable."

Cons: "Expensive repairs and maintainance. MPG not good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"When the spark plugs break, and they will, they are very expensive and labor intensive to replace. Requiring special tools that most people do not have or can afford."

BEST CAR EVER

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned our Expedition 8 years. It had 60,000 miles on it when we bought it. This car has not been driven every day mostly for trips and being able to take my grandkids all together at a time. This car has never left me stranded and only selling because we purchased a 5th wheel and need a truck to pull the camper. Very clean, no dents or dings on outside. It has never been wrecked and serviced regularly. Hate to see it go but ready to do some traveling in RV."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best vehicle

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,333

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Expedition new. I have had it for 11 years and other than regular maintenance, I have not put any money into this car.. LOOKS awesome and runs awesome"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Wish I had two of them

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Everything there is."

Cons: "Limited trunk space with third row up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my wifes vehicle and it is absolutely amazing. I would buy it again in a heart beat. I have had no trouble with it other than the normal wear and tear. I can't say enough good things about this vehicle."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Is a Workhorse of a Car

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Space, easy to maintain, parts are cheap, reliable"

Cons: "It is gas guzzler but it is to be expected."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this rig brand new back in 2006 and, so far has been pretty reliable car until recently when I had to repair the AC and the water pump. I just put a third set of brand new tires and there is some body work that is being done with the intent of bringing some of the new feeling back. I am replacing the DVD player since the one that came with it would not turn off but, I got one cheap and brand new. I also reupholstered the bottom part of the seats up front since they were ripped due to too much use. The intent is to keep it for another 9 years or for as long as continues to be economical to maintain. This rig has been impeccably maintained. I have taken this monster on long trips even one to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico from Pasadena. No problems are all, very reliable would highly recommend. I do suggest not to let the small things that need repair accumulate. For the most part, if I need anything for it, there are plenty of parts to be had on ebay. I had to replace the driver side power window controls, the price $15.00 and a pair of pliers. I highly recommend this car and, when the time comes, I'll buy a new one in zinch."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Has been a great, reliable comfortable vehicle.

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort and size"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had a major negative issue with this car. It has been completely reliable and comfortable. I used it for traveling hundreds of miles for travel sports for my kids and thousands of miles on vacation trips."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle-Loaded

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable and dependable"

Cons: "No four wheel drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Also has heated seats, DVD player in back seat. Automatic 3rd seat rise & lower. All seats behind front lay down flat and second row removeable. Extra car chargers in front & back along with extra cup holders in back."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

!0 years of dependable driving.

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "plenty of room for grand kids and their stuff"

Cons: "Hard to keep plastic parts black & good looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought new and We have driven this rig every day around the county for the past 10 years. The only problems has been window lift motors. I've replaced 3 in the past 10 years. Has had good care, we are not abusive drivers and always get the rig serviced when it is due."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Expedition near Honolulu. See local deals