Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2005 Ford Expedition

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 597 Ratings for the 2003 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 60 | Next

Wish I had two of them

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Everything there is."

Cons: "Limited trunk space with third row up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my wifes vehicle and it is absolutely amazing. I would buy it again in a heart beat. I have had no trouble with it other than the normal wear and tear. I can't say enough good things about this vehicle."

Is a Workhorse of a Car

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Space, easy to maintain, parts are cheap, reliable"

Cons: "It is gas guzzler but it is to be expected."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this rig brand new back in 2006 and, so far has been pretty reliable car until recently when I had to repair the AC and the water pump. I just put a third set of brand new tires and there is some body work that is being done with the intent of bringing some of the new feeling back. I am replacing the DVD player since the one that came with it would not turn off but, I got one cheap and brand new. I also reupholstered the bottom part of the seats up front since they were ripped due to too much use. The intent is to keep it for another 9 years or for as long as continues to be economical to maintain. This rig has been impeccably maintained. I have taken this monster on long trips even one to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico from Pasadena. No problems are all, very reliable would highly recommend. I do suggest not to let the small things that need repair accumulate. For the most part, if I need anything for it, there are plenty of parts to be had on ebay. I had to replace the driver side power window controls, the price $15.00 and a pair of pliers. I highly recommend this car and, when the time comes, I'll buy a new one in zinch."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car ever.

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Turns on a dime and easy to park. User friendly."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. It has performed above expectations in every way. It is a great city or highway car and has been driven in all terrains from mountains to city congestion. It hauls kids, furniture and old ladies. The electronic third seat makes it so easy to configure. Even older ladies can get into the back and have plenty of leg room. I will drive this car as long as I can. It has been well maintained and has had almost zero problems. It even delivered us to the front of my house before stopping when a servicer put in a defective transmission cap and it lost all of its fluid. I will buy another when the time comes."

Has been a great, reliable comfortable vehicle.

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort and size"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had a major negative issue with this car. It has been completely reliable and comfortable. I used it for traveling hundreds of miles for travel sports for my kids and thousands of miles on vacation trips."

Great Vehicle-Loaded

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable and dependable"

Cons: "No four wheel drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Also has heated seats, DVD player in back seat. Automatic 3rd seat rise & lower. All seats behind front lay down flat and second row removeable. Extra car chargers in front & back along with extra cup holders in back."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

!0 years of dependable driving.

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "plenty of room for grand kids and their stuff"

Cons: "Hard to keep plastic parts black & good looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought new and We have driven this rig every day around the county for the past 10 years. The only problems has been window lift motors. I've replaced 3 in the past 10 years. Has had good care, we are not abusive drivers and always get the rig serviced when it is due."

an excellent vehicle to have

By on Monday, January 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have this truck since 2005, and when I bought it ,it only had 28,000. miles on it. which is fair to say that im the second owner. the only thing that I change on it was the battery and alternator. plus you know wear and tear tires oil changes ect.this truck is a MONSTER and very very reliable vehicle. have taken many trips to lake Charles in it , handle smooth on the road with cruise control. you can sit 8 people in it very comfortable."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very convent car, seat rows 2 & 3 fold flat.

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A very convient car to own. The 2 & 3 row seats of"

Cons: "13.8 MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, and after a decade everything still works and works well. I am the original owner and its always been garaged."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Ford cut corners

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "The paint has held up"

Cons: "too expensive to operate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Vehicle was priced like luxory SUV, but ford cut so many hidden corners that it is not until after the warranty you learn how often and how expensive each thing is. By example $450 to replace a mixing actuator, $3000 for struts, Indepedent rear suspension required it own alignment, oilfiter that is inaccessible for home mechanic, Continental tires that delaminate right at 30,000 miles - but Ford does nothing (on one tire, the tread flew off and the tire nevr went flat - when they claimed it was a road hazzard, I asked why the air pressure never went down - no answer), brakes that squeal 1000 miles after adjustment or replacement, seat belts that do not buckle in the rear seat. It goes on... vehicle is paid for, I have been able to learn auto mechanics and fix it myself so it does not makes sense to sell until the motor gives out - but why should I have to learn how to pull a dash board to replace a $40 plastic gear in the heater control - where the shop quotes $1100?"

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 328,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very functional family vehicle."

Cons: "None really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"328,000 miles and still rolling strong. No issues. Just put in oil and gas. At 328,000 miles and getting 17 mpg. Just keeps going."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 60 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Expedition near Honolulu. See local deals